We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable for a short break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acceptable for a short break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

On a short break to Reykjavik we weren't looking for luxury in a hotel but were hoping for something less tired when booking a hotel with the Radisson Blu name.
The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and the communal areas were great. The food we had was also good.
The staff in the travel office were knowledgeable and helpful - great to have on hand at the hotel.
However, once in the room it was a disappointment. The room was big enough but just very tired and in need of a serious refurb. We were happy not to complain as we didn't plan to spend much time in the room but it was not a 4* room.
The location is OK but a bit out of town and were I to return to Reykiavik (which I would love to do) I would choose to stay more centrally - downtown or near the harbour.
Radisson Blu - get refurbishing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad4shoes_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

I am glad you had a great time in Iceland, thank you for taking the time to write and nice comment about our service.

Hope to see you again at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    737
    516
    167
    71
See reviews for
317
840
96
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden of England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived after midnight from Heathrow...flight tiring - too late by the time you get settled into your room 2 am.

Staff are very efficient and helpful especially Osk and Ryan on the front desk who sorted out our problems with missing vouchers from tour operators both helpful and knowledgable as was other staff.

The hotel is clean and efficiently run. The rooms are adequate for a weekend away, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and nice size TV. Spa facilities was enjoyable. Breakfast was good and enough to set you up for the day - continental meats, pastries and hot food with choice of teas, juices etc. very good. Large car parking facilities and walk into town 10 -15 mins.

However, we were so very disappointed we were not previously informed that the restaurant on 8th floor was closed; having read such good reviews this was going to be a highlight.

We settled for a meal in Saqkur (ground floor) which was disappointing. Buffet is not for everyone and for 5,900 krs each (equivalent to £30) I would have preferred waitress service with meals cooked to order and being able to savior the experience. Buffet and heated food is certainly not appealing to my husband and in our opinion not value for money, but we acknowledge Iceland is expensive. We paid slightly more in the town for waiter service and gourmet food cooked to order, with great personal service. Having said this, our meal was included with our holiday deal so we did not have to pay for it.

Would recommend and would go back just not for an evening meal downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeSpyaFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write and thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga.
I am sorry you did not have the change to visit our roof top resturant and yes It should be on your website, I deeply apologize for your inconvenience .
We are doing major renovation at the roof top restaurant and will not open again until February 8th.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards´
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was mixed. Whilst the staff were generally helpful and polite there was not much they could do about the tired state of the rooms. On arrival we were disappointed by the standard room and upgraded to a suite. As we were staying for only a few days we decided to make ourselves more comfortable. It could have been better, generally you would expect the curtains to be properly fixed and close.
On the plus side we found plenty of attractions locally within easy walking distance. It is about 10 min to the City centre, 5 min to the coast and 5 min to the nearest outdoor pool, Vesturbaer, 5 min to the National museum etc. If we went again we would do more homework and find somewhere more comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was fine and ticked all the major boxes. Very helpful staff, plus a small but very useful travel/tour centre to organise excursions from. The room was a decent size and cleaned daily. Good buffet breakfast, and the hotel was easy walking distance into Reykjavik. Decent bar area downstairs with reasonably priced food.

Small niggles which were not huge but cumulatively undermined the positives. Scratched, tired bedroom furniture; bubbling/flaking paint on the walls (possible damp coming through from the bath); very soft mattresses; intermittent TV signal; limited food options in the bar (burgers/sandwiches and chips!). All this said, there seemed to be some works going on as they were making refurbishments which may address some of these minor issues with decor, etc.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but would probably only consider revisiting if there was an offer on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

I am happy to hear you had a great stay in Iceland. Thank you for staying and taking the time write.
We started the new year with some renovations, starting with new elevators in the south wing and also major renovation at our roof top restaurant Grillid.

I hope to welcome you again soon

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
594 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I only stayed here one night. The room was comfortable but, as others have said, refurbishment is overdue. I would give it 3 stars for accommodation but four for food. Our tour party had a special dinner and the food, particularly the lobster and the lamb, were excellent. I'd probably stay here again. It's convenient for the city centre and in quite a quiet spot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga an taking the time to write.

I am glad to hear you had great stay and liked our good lobster and lamb.

I hope to see you again soon

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We selected this Hotel because it looked more modern than the Radisson in the city centre of Reykjavik and the walk into town is manageable (about 10,15 mins). Don't be fooled. While the restaurant and the lobby area make a good impression the rooms are seriously, seriously worn out. There are scratches on the door, walls, furniture, spills on the carpet, and the beds (we had a room with two single beds) are about as comfortable as bunk beds in a youth hostel. The bath rooms must have been recently refurbished as they were ok.

Make no mistake, this claims to be a 4 star hotel with the price tag to match it. The restaurant and the breakfast broadly live up to this standard (though I'd describe the staff as a tad grumpy) but the rooms are quite a joke. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyrensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write.

I deeply aplogize for your experience here at the hotel and thank you for the feedback.

We started the year with some renovations and do wish that on your next visit we can meet your expectations.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Chalais, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found the hotel warm and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly. The beds were large and we slept extremely well. The only downside was the food.Breakfast we couldn't fault - lots of choice and plenty of it. Bar snacks were good but no-one wants to eat burgers and sandwiches every night. The buffet in the restaurant was unimaginative, and waiting 5 minutes for a refill of sauce led to cold food for one of our party. Not good for a €39 menu.
On the plus side, the attractions of Iceland tend to make up for anything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing