We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel a little bit out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Many good points about this hotel, but a number no so good.

On the upside, the staff were always very helpful and attentive. The public areas (reception, restaurants and bar) were good and welcoming. Mimisbar was a particularly pleasant place to spend an evening, with a good selection of drinks and bar food menu. Happy hour was especially good value.

We ate in the restaurant only once for dinner, but found the food to be delicious. It was good to meet and speak to the chef, who was both enthusiastic and very informative about his food. Not a cheap meal but good value for the quality.

The basement gym was well equipped but a little cramped. The jacuzzi was also very relaxing if you've got some spare time - a adequately sized complimentary towel would be nice though!

On the downside, the room was a little tired and grubby. It was an adequate sized room, but we felt if really did need a deep clean or renovation.

Breakfast was generally good, with a decent variety/choice of hot and cold food. Service was chaotic at times, when the hotel was busy, resulting in long queues to get a table and often running out of some foods.

Overall not bad, but not the best.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmarchbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Saga, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for the nice comments and feedback. We will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,627 - 1,633 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 8th Nov-11th Nov. The hotel is quite old and the rooms were average.
I was not impressed by the beds and the room anywhere. Room service was alright and food was ok. In terms of the location, it is quite near to the city center. Not more than 5-10 mins taxi drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

We appreciate the feedback and we do take them very seriously.

Happy holiday

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is a but outside the center an not so convinent for a quick stroll in the city or near restaurant, but some fresh air dont kill anyone.

The hotel as i understand have rooms that is modernized, but not the ones i stayed in. The room was old looking, some of the interia was broken and was not positive to the overall impression. Curtains and shower was defect (i did'nt bother to mention this to the reception, i actually didnt spend time enough in my room to bother)
The service was ok and nothing special to say to this.
Overall the hotel gave you the impression, that they where just surviving and thats it.
I will proberly not stay here Again, but if the Price is low then i might :)

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aab163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here on the nights of August 20, 21 & 22. We arrived very late at night...around midnight, and were glad that someone was at reception to check us in. (The cab ride from Keflavik is around $100.00 US....very expensive.) Our room was the tiniest we have ever encountered in more than 45 years of traveling the globe; and to say we were shocked is an understatement! It resembled a cruise cabin, except that the bed (actually two twins pushed together) was jammed up against one wall, so you had to crawl across the bed to get into it. Not great for two people in their upper 60's! The shower was exactly like those in a small cruise cabin...jammed into the corner, with a rounded sliding plastci door. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was chaos, as there were many groups booked into the hotel. Just trying to get a clean table was a challenge; and if you didn't arrive by 8:00AM, they were running out of certain items.

The plus side...it was only about a 10-minute walk into town, or a 5-minute taxi cab ride. Watch OUT for the taxi drivers here...we accidently overpaid by about $100.00, between being jet-lagged and confused by the Icelandic currency; and the DISHONEST taxi driver said nothing and kept it. We didn't realize it under after the fact. Should have reported him, but neglected to do so. Overall, if I were to travel to Reykjavik again, I would pick another hotel in the city centre, to avoid the hassle of getting a taxi, plus easier access to everthing.

Room Tip: If you go, know what type and size room you are getting. We never thought to question the dimension...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0undTheWorldGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and do take them very seriously. I am also sorry to hear about your experience regarding the taxi. It should cost about $100 but at night it´s more expensive then it cost about $122. However the flybus is $20 per person one way.

I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is in a great location walking distance to city center.
Rooms are perfect size and very comfortable. Bathrooms are very clean and well equipped.
The hotel has a amazing restaurant Grillið at the rooftop

The entire staff was helpful, and available at all times,
so highly recommended on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O_H_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Came here as part of a large group trip.

Welcome at reception was excellent - the area looked spacious and modern, the bar facilities open plan and cosy, and rooms were quickly assigned.

I had a room to myself, and when I entered the room I was a little taken by surprise - SINGLE glazing (in Iceland! no wonder the heating was on full blast) and a really tiny room and bathroom.

The beds were very narrow (I had 2 singles) and were not even full size single beds. The bathroom light was half broken (flickering, which really should've been fixed during cleaning) and bathroom cleanliness was not quite what a 4 star should be. Plugs in the wall were hanging out (luckily no kids in the room), main bed light was also half falling out of the wall and general impression was of "this probably used to look nice, but is a fair few years beyond what it should be".

Breakfast - good and wide variety of options, good service, friendly. Couldn't fault it. Bar was also reasonably priced.

All in all while an OK hotel, the rooms really let it down and were by no means a 4 star unfortunately.

However, I did get a fantastic example of Icelandic service from Osk, in reception. I had misplaced a personal item on my flight in and she did *everything* she could to contact the airport, airline, etc etc to try and locate my item for me in the local language. Kept me posted of progress and actually genuinely seemed to care, very friendly and service was top notch, she really was great, and went well above and beyond what I would expect!

So while the service and bar/breakfast were great, the rooms let it down, but the service was amazing and if I could give her 6 stars, I would!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babelfish84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and we do take them very seriously.
I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had our wedding reception there last year. The hotel arranged everything for us and was exceptionally helpful with all the planning and arrangement. The location for the wedding at the hotel was picture perfect. The food was exquisite and the staff was outstanding. Also the cost was very fair. After the reception we stayed at the presidential suit and it was a very enjoyable stay with lots of complementary items.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Armannfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

We are so happy that we helped to make your special day perfect.

Congratulation and we wish you all the best

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,927 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,017 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel

Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#22 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $183 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing