We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and communal facilities, rooms not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great service and communal facilities, rooms not so much”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Came here as part of a large group trip.

Welcome at reception was excellent - the area looked spacious and modern, the bar facilities open plan and cosy, and rooms were quickly assigned.

I had a room to myself, and when I entered the room I was a little taken by surprise - SINGLE glazing (in Iceland! no wonder the heating was on full blast) and a really tiny room and bathroom.

The beds were very narrow (I had 2 singles) and were not even full size single beds. The bathroom light was half broken (flickering, which really should've been fixed during cleaning) and bathroom cleanliness was not quite what a 4 star should be. Plugs in the wall were hanging out (luckily no kids in the room), main bed light was also half falling out of the wall and general impression was of "this probably used to look nice, but is a fair few years beyond what it should be".

Breakfast - good and wide variety of options, good service, friendly. Couldn't fault it. Bar was also reasonably priced.

All in all while an OK hotel, the rooms really let it down and were by no means a 4 star unfortunately.

However, I did get a fantastic example of Icelandic service from Osk, in reception. I had misplaced a personal item on my flight in and she did *everything* she could to contact the airport, airline, etc etc to try and locate my item for me in the local language. Kept me posted of progress and actually genuinely seemed to care, very friendly and service was top notch, she really was great, and went well above and beyond what I would expect!

So while the service and bar/breakfast were great, the rooms let it down, but the service was amazing and if I could give her 6 stars, I would!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babelfish84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and we do take them very seriously.
I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    771
    547
    180
    75
See reviews for
344
877
100
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had our wedding reception there last year. The hotel arranged everything for us and was exceptionally helpful with all the planning and arrangement. The location for the wedding at the hotel was picture perfect. The food was exquisite and the staff was outstanding. Also the cost was very fair. After the reception we stayed at the presidential suit and it was a very enjoyable stay with lots of complementary items.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armannfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

We are so happy that we helped to make your special day perfect.

Congratulation and we wish you all the best

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Big room with enough space for all of us family of five, got the Lazytown room the kids loved it.
Great breakfast and only 10 min walk to downtown. Great outdoor heated swimming pool only five minutes away, kids loved the slide. The Lazytown room had coffee machine for us the parents and dvd and toys for the kids. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

We are happy to see a comment about our Lazytown room, it has been very popular and the size is great for familes, glad you and family had a great time.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in Saga Hotel while visiting Reykjavik on business. It was a very enjoyable stay, with staff that is helpful and servceminded. The room I had was very comfortable, excellent wi-fi for free and best of all a iron and ironboard. The breakfast was very nice and specially the Skyr.
Can definativly recommend this to everyone visiting Reykjavik.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunniva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My stay at Hotel Saga for a few days back in June was perfect. The rooms are spacious and well kept and the bed/mattresses are of great quality. Check-in and check-out is fast and professional. Breakfast is very nice and the bar on the ground floor is very nice. One the top floor I found one of the best restaurants in Reykjavik - Grillid. Walking to midtown is about 10-15 minutes and in less than 10 minutes I could get to one of the great outdoor swimming pools. The staff at the hotel is very helpful, knowledgable and courteous. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okbistroservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last October I had the good fortune to try out Hotel Saga in Reykjavik, I had heard good things so I was eager to see if it would live up to it´s reputation. I was there for 2 nights along with my husband and our 8 year old son. We got a lovely big room with a proper third bed for our son, which is not always the case when traveling with a child. Room had a tasteful decor, clean and plenty of towels for all. The staff was extreemley friendly and helpfull, check in/out was quick and smooth. Excellent breakfast with the possiblility of ordering good quality coffee, which to me is very important. Over all a great stay and I hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veiw !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vigdis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write review after your recent stay with us and so happy we met your expectations.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location was quite central, near the national museum and a short walk from the harbour/restaurant area. The hotel was a typical Raddison I guess. The rooms were pleasant enough (and had wonderful snuggly duvets) but the bathrooms were looking tired. Annoyingly, the towel rack was placed over the toilet, so falling towels fell on toilet, but what irritated me most was the poor quality unabsorbent toilet paper, Completely unacceptable in a modern city hotel. We were hoping to try the 8th floor restaurant which had good reviews, but it was closed on the Monday we were planning on going.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_Saga, General Manager at Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Hotel Saga and taking the time to write review.

I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and I hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations like we wish to do on every occasion.

Best regards
Ingibjörg Ólafsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,294 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Hagatorg, Reykjavik 107, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik welcomes guests to the beauty of Iceland. An architectural landmark, the hotel sits in a peaceful neighborhood just 10 minutes from the lively city center. Explore the city's museums, galleries and nightlife as well as the surrounding natural wonders. Comfortable amenities and beautiful views of the city, ocean, glaciers and mountains grace the 236 rooms and suites of this Reykjavik hotel. Guests can take advantage of buffet and gourmet on-site dining as well as on-site banking, shopping, hair care and excursion assistance. Guests also receive complimentary access to the spa and gym at the on-site Spa and Health Center. The hotel's event space features 8 meeting rooms, many with plasma screens and videoconferencing, for polished conferences and personal events. For over 50 years, the Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik has provided memorable visits and events with impeccable service. Please note our spa is temporarily closed for renovation and has been delayed. Notification will be provided when we have an opening date for the spa. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing