We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, functional hotel. Excellent staff”
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Room was a little on the small size but was clean and functional with comfortable beds. Perfectly positioned being close to the centre of town and easily walkable but sufficiently far removed so as to be quiet. Breakfast was consistent over the course of our three night stay with a reasonable choice of food, all well prepared. The staff were excellent and very friendly/approachable, in particular Estanis, who, although not Icelandic had a very good knowlege of the country and was more than willing to share his tips. Would happily stay again on a future visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Fosshotel Lind
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 942 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel Is a good standard 3 star hotel that is very adequate for staying in Reykjavik. Very good range of food for breakfast which is served from 7-10, giving plenty of scope for early flights or lie ins. Car park available and we found it a very good way to tour the sights without having to pay £100 each for free visits ( use the coach tour guides to plan your trips). Lonely planet maps not quite good enough - had to buy a road map for 1900ISK.

Staff at hotel always very friendly and helpful.

Free WiFi in hotel ( although didn't always reach our room at the end of the corridor.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank 1hugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Recently refurbished, clean, simple but comfortable. Good location, easy to walk to restaurants and shops. Kettles provided, cardboard cups in rooms are not nice to use and plastic stirrers melted in drink. Bathroom very small but works. Beds very comfortable but bed linen is not great, bobbly and aged.
Hotel provided an excellent breakfast at 4.30am, very unexpected but appreciated their effort on our departure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffycjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights last week. Great hotel. Clean rooms, beds comfortable, safe in the room and the shower was great. Remember the hot water will smell of sulphur, you soon get used to it. Utilised the hotel bar for happy hour, and spent all night talking to the lovely Katrin.
Breakfast is great. Relaxed, help yourself attitude is always welcome. Wifi throughout the hotel was free so is easy to keep in touch if needed. Great location. 5 minute walk and you're in the middle of everything. Supermarket round the corner and a pizza shop over the road for late night snacks.
All the staff were helpful and kind. Thanks for a great holiday!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ginga4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely clean basic hotel (rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels and replenished tea and coffee facilities) with very helpful staff and a great fresh, well balanced, all you can eat breakfast, which perfect for stocking up for long all day tours!

The room we stayed in for the majority of our trip was okay sized, fairly small, but cosy.
However we stayed in another room on the final day of our stay which was much larger, so it's definitely worth asking for an upgrade if you can. (We checked out of the hotel for a whole day and night and then checked back in again the following night after a long two day tour, to save money on paying for a hotel room unnecessarily, whilst leaving our luggage in a secure room at the hotel- which a HUGE help when on a busy tour bus!)

Both rooms we stayed in were quiet, warm, and the beds were very comfortable. The shower took a little while to heat up in the morning and smelt a little sulphury, (but then that's to be expected in Iceland I suppose!)

The evening before we left we had mentioned that our flight was so early that we'd miss breakfast, and they were able to put together a little sandwich together for us to take with us, a lovely gesture! They also organised a cheap transfer from the hotel to the airport for us, which turned out to be quite a bit cheaper than a few other places.

The only thing worth mentioning is the 'restaurant' was never open in the whole week we stayed in October. Which was a shame as it looked lovely. It certainly gives the name 'Confusion restaurant' some meaning ... They do great cocktails though!

By the way if you're looking for any tours we would absolutely recommend the 'South Coast and Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon (Extreme Iceland tour)' which was fantastic value for money and mind blowingly BEAUTIFUL- you see so much of the landscape and the golden circle too, with no pressure of driving, loads of stops, plenty of time for photos, great tour guide and easily the best money we've ever spent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We got there early in the morning and we could check in since our room was ready, that was a big plus. We got very good advise from the receptonist and they arrange several tours for us. Golden circle is a must, such a great country Iceland. The rooms are ok, not to big, but you don't spend much time there. Breakfats was good and plentiful. Thanks for a nice stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank gregMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great room, adjoining rooms to host a family, wonderful staff, good breakfast and a bargain rate found online. Not a bad location, bit of a walk into town, but free parking and easy to reach ring road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingofgeography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,120 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,680 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,234 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing