We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights last week. Great hotel. Clean rooms, beds comfortable, safe in the room and the shower was great. Remember the hot water will smell of sulphur, you soon get used to it. Utilised the hotel bar for happy hour, and spent all night talking to the lovely Katrin.
Breakfast is great. Relaxed, help yourself attitude is always welcome. Wifi throughout the hotel was free so is easy to keep in touch if needed. Great location. 5 minute walk and you're in the middle of everything. Supermarket round the corner and a pizza shop over the road for late night snacks.
All the staff were helpful and kind. Thanks for a great holiday!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ginga4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    416
    165
    33
    6
See reviews for
112
454
72
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely clean basic hotel (rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels and replenished tea and coffee facilities) with very helpful staff and a great fresh, well balanced, all you can eat breakfast, which perfect for stocking up for long all day tours!

The room we stayed in for the majority of our trip was okay sized, fairly small, but cosy.
However we stayed in another room on the final day of our stay which was much larger, so it's definitely worth asking for an upgrade if you can. (We checked out of the hotel for a whole day and night and then checked back in again the following night after a long two day tour, to save money on paying for a hotel room unnecessarily, whilst leaving our luggage in a secure room at the hotel- which a HUGE help when on a busy tour bus!)

Both rooms we stayed in were quiet, warm, and the beds were very comfortable. The shower took a little while to heat up in the morning and smelt a little sulphury, (but then that's to be expected in Iceland I suppose!)

The evening before we left we had mentioned that our flight was so early that we'd miss breakfast, and they were able to put together a little sandwich together for us to take with us, a lovely gesture! They also organised a cheap transfer from the hotel to the airport for us, which turned out to be quite a bit cheaper than a few other places.

The only thing worth mentioning is the 'restaurant' was never open in the whole week we stayed in October. Which was a shame as it looked lovely. It certainly gives the name 'Confusion restaurant' some meaning ... They do great cocktails though!

By the way if you're looking for any tours we would absolutely recommend the 'South Coast and Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon (Extreme Iceland tour)' which was fantastic value for money and mind blowingly BEAUTIFUL- you see so much of the landscape and the golden circle too, with no pressure of driving, loads of stops, plenty of time for photos, great tour guide and easily the best money we've ever spent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We got there early in the morning and we could check in since our room was ready, that was a big plus. We got very good advise from the receptonist and they arrange several tours for us. Golden circle is a must, such a great country Iceland. The rooms are ok, not to big, but you don't spend much time there. Breakfats was good and plentiful. Thanks for a nice stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gregMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great room, adjoining rooms to host a family, wonderful staff, good breakfast and a bargain rate found online. Not a bad location, bit of a walk into town, but free parking and easy to reach ring road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingofgeography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Location of the Fosshotel Lind couldn't be more perfect. Cozy, comfy, clean rooms. Helpful, super kind, lovely staff. Delicious, balanced breafast. Im sure, if I ever go bac to Iceland, Fosshotel Lind will be place to saty in Reyjavik!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takajaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel in the dark and the first impression of this hotel were very disappointing as when we arrived the entrance hall floor and lift were quite dirty.. Our room was very small and the en-suite was tiny. I did ask for an up grade but was told all the rooms were the same size apart from two which had already been taken. The next day we noticed that there was major alterations getting done and this is why the floors were so dirty.. The breakfast was ok it was buffet style and a good choice of continental items not so much cooked. Elin the receptionist was amazing and was very helpful in organising our trips.. Hopefully the alterations will make a difference to the rooms as they could really do with just being a little bigger. It was good value for money..,

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and choosing our hotel :)

We are so happy to hear your kind comments regarding our breakfast and our friendly staff.

We are so sorry to hear about your first impression as we are renovating a part of the hotel. The positive news is that the renovations are over soon and the rooms will be completely renovated.

We hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland and had a great experience!

Thank you and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind

Best wishes

Erna Dís Ingólfsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Basic 3* hotel with clean comfortable rooms. Breakfast buffet, hot & cold as much as you want, very good selection. Staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Location very convenient for Reykjavik sightseeing. Restaurants very close, would recommend Harry's and Madonna, both excellent. Free parking in hotel grounds. We would return here again when we come back to Iceland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look over the Hallgrimskirkja church. Free wi-fi seems to be available in some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_SteveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and choosing our hotel :)

We are so happy to hear your kind comments regarding our hotel and our friendly staff.

We hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland and had a great experience!

Thank you and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind

Best wishes

Erna Dís Ingólfsdóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing