We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simple, Clean, and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple, Clean, and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Fosshotel is in a great location with an easy walk to downtown and the harbor. We stayed there our first night in Reykjavik and then again our last night in Iceland before heading home to the U.S. Both rooms were very clean and sparse. Our first room faced the front street so there was no real view, but for our last night we had a room on the back side of the hotel and had a beautiful view of the cathedral. By U.S. standards these rooms were very small, but that is how all the rooms we stayed in in Iceland were. The beds were comfortable with good pillows and linens. The hotel offers free WiFi, but the signal was somewhat weak. I had trouble getting on the first day before 6:00 am and then it was fine. Breakfast was included in the rate. It included just about everything and the food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel to have a nice view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go4theA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    348
    129
    22
    3
See reviews for
89
365
62
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really loved the Lind which seems to have been recently updated. Our room was not large, but it was well laid out and comfortable. It is off of the main tourist area which means it is quiet and yet easy to get to all of the nearby attractions. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, they helped us book a tour to the glaciers and waterfalls on the south-east coast, in addition they helped to locate our lost baggage while we spent a lovely afternoon touring Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissaPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group , the hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk to the main shopping street which has some lovely restaurants , pubs & shops . Our bedroom was located a few steps from the reception area it was warm & comfortable but a bit on the small side especially the bathroom & a little out of date. Breakfast was served in the basement & the food was very adequate with cereals , bread , fruit & eggs & tea/coffee machine . We didnt dine in the bar area but had a cocktail & drinks on the first night which were lovely. The hotel has one computer off the reception area that has internet for hotel guests very handy for checking weather reports for the northern lights. Overall a nice hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Castilla y Leon, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week, it was nice,clean and comfortable.Reception staff were very helpful and friendly, they gave me wonderful information on exploring the city, and helped me to make bookings for excursions. The location is good, not far frome the center, and breakfast was fine too.

The stay in Reykjavik was fantastic, I'll come back again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed a few nights with my girlfriend in this hotel, so lovely! The service from recepcionist people was great and memorable. The location is good and efficient to move around in the city.

The room was clean, good facilities and Amazing breakfast!
I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maizidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in this charming hotel near Laugavegur and were very happy. Everything very good and the staff so helpful and friendly. The waiter in the restaurant was very friendly and we had a wonderful meal of lamb one night. The receptionists were so friendly, gave us a lot of information and booked interesting trips for us. The breakfast was really fantastic. Thank you all in Lind! We surely will come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff here was so friendly and helpful. They would look up information for you, times attractions were open, and also referred me to some great local attractions. The rooms were clean, good view but small compared to USA standards. The breakfast included with your meal was UK standard - lunch meats, breads, sausages and beans. The breakfast had variety for food and drinks. They had "quilt like blankets" on the beds that kept you nice and cozy. There was one computer to use. I had a nice stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and choosing our hotel :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments regarding the hotel and our friendly staff.

Thank you for the nice photo´s :)

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#23 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
#39 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Klettur
#28 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#26 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing