We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our hotel choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Herts,UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Happy with our hotel choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Here for a 3 night short break on 10th Jan. Arrived airport 1030 in the morning. Arrivals duty free (in the baggage pick-up area, not the ones you may walk past en-route), good value for drinks. Pre-booked Bustravel for airport pick-up, took us to Blue Lagoon and then afterwards onto our hotel. Blue Lagoon fabulous, a must experience. May need help to understand locker locking system, check to make sure your locker is locked ! Plastic bags available on roller to put your wet things into after. BL is very well organised, we stayed around 2 hours. A quick, problem-free hotel check-in. Our room overlooked the hotel front & road, no problem with noise. Hotel quiet, not full. Room had enough space for the two of us, compact bathroom but OK. Everything clean, nice and warm. kettle provided and hot drink supplies. For more choice, there was also an automatic Coffee machine in hotel corridor (coins needed). Beds really comfortable, had good nights sleep. Cold tap water drinkable (nice taste). Hot water smelt of sulpher but was OK. Switch on wall outside Bathroom enabled the Hot water (discovered this fairly quickly when turned on cold shower). Fair Breakfast selection available of usual items (up to 10am). Hot food was beans, scrambled egg & mini sausages. Nice surprise was the Pancake/Waffle making machine, make your own, tasty! Happy with what was on offer for Breakfast. As hotel was not busy there was usually only one or two other couples in the Breakfast room. We did not use the Hotel dining room, just off reception, with a small bar. Happy hour was 4-7pm. Helpful reception - free map of Reykjavik available. Take a free 'Visitor's Guide' mini-book from the small table in Reception. Free to use PC just off Reception. The hotel is in a great location, near the main street Laugavegur. Across the road from the hotel and on the right is 3 restaurants nearby (we had a good 3-course meal in the Madonna restaurant). Turn left outside of the hotel to head for Laugavegur and it's many restaurants. Did some walking around Reykjavik. Had a hot dog near the harbour, tasted great! Took a bus ride, fixed price 350Kr, exact change needed for driver. Pre-booked a Golden CIrcle day tour by a mini-bus with Iceland Guided Tours- very enjoyable & memorable. Weather was a mixture - rain, overcast, snow but not too cold. Did not see Northern Lights so will have to come back again. Booked and paid for our hotel to airport bus, using Reception the night before departure. Reception gave us an Airport Express/Grayline voucher. We were picked up from the hotel and taken to a transfer area. We then had to change our voucher for a bus ticket and transfer our luggage from the small bus to a large bus for the trip to the airport. Could have done with a longer stay as plenty to see and do, also would improve your chance of seeing the NL.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments.

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    423
    172
    34
    7
See reviews for
116
464
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself. Great location, very friendly reception staff. Receoptionists are very helpful. There was a guy who even spoke Russian which was nice:-)
Rooms are ok. They even have a teapot and a selection of green and black tea.Breakfast is very good.
Two things which could be improved: cleaning services (one day they did not clean my room at all and did not take away used towels Well, I've stayed there for New Year holidays, so maybe hotel was fully booked and that was the reason. but still...) and hotel's restaurant. I had only one dinner there but I wish I went to the town instead. Don't be lazy - nice eating places are just 5-10 mins walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yershova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear that you would recommend our hotel and that you liked our location.
We are also glad to hear that the reception staff was friendly and the breakfast very good.

I’m sorry to hear that you room did not get cleaned for one of the days that you stayed with us as we do have cleaning service every day.

For other reviewers, if you need extra towels or if there is some problems during your stay with us please don´t hesitate contacting the reception which is open 24 hour and we will try our very best to solve the problem. We are always happy to help and want you to have the best experience possible at our hotel.

Thank you so much for you kind comments.
I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Young Couple, 5 Nights over New Year 2012-13

Would really recommend this hotel and would defietely stay there again. The location was brilliant, really close to the main street and the harbour was only a ten minute walk. The staff were very helpful!! Especially Eilen on reception, she booked all our transfers, trips and resteraunt reservations for us, went out of her way to reorganise one of our trips when it got called off due to bad weather (making sure it didn't clash with any other actvities). Her tips on where to go to eat were also great.

The room is small but comfortable, beds extremely comfortable, bathroom small but clean. Shower sulphur (eggy) smell is something to get used to but made my hair feel thick and lovely! Must be something in the water. We had a double room, which was two twin beds pushed together, which worked for us being selfish duvet stealing sleepers, once they saw we were a couple they offered us a proper double so specify your preference beforehand.

For New Years Eve I would really recommend going to the big church on the hill in the city- It looks very impressive on its own but the fireworks and atmosphere were amazing. If your scared of fireworks, bangs ect though.. everyone brings them and sets them off all around you from the street so health and safety nuts maybe leave this one out but we thought it was brilliant!

Room Tip: We got a double room but it was two twins pushed together- although this worked for us as we are bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments.

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here back in June 2012, and I was just looking for a decent but reasonably-priced hotel near the historic part of Reykjavik. The hotel exceeded my expectations. I flew to Iceland from the U.S., so I arrived at the hotel fairly early in the morning, but the staff got me into my room right away and encouraged me to enjoy the breakfast buffet, which was far and away better than breakfast buffets at comparable U.S. hotels. The room was small, but I wasn't there except to sleep. The staff was very helpful in setting up my bus trip back to the airport too. The main inconvenience was not having wi-fi available in the rooms, but otherwise I thought I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments and that the hotel exceeded your expectations.

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let's face it, you're probably going to stay here because you are on a bit of a budget and don't really expect a 5-, or even 4-, star hotel. Fosshotel Lind is a spartan hotel which will provide you with an adequate base to explore Reykjavik from, no more and no less. The hotel is only 4 floors tall, so it's not particularly busy, and when I was here a week and a half ago, there were only several other guests staying there (it was winter). The double room was small by even NYC hotel standards, and you may have a tough time finding space to place your luggage if you are sharing the room and have more than 2 carry-on sized bags each.

Technically the hotel is in the city center, but is about a 10 min walk to where the actual action is. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is quite quiet with not much going on, though there is a grocery store around the corner should you need any supplies.

The hotel provided free breakfast buffet, which was on the robust side after learning of other free breakfasts offered at other hotels. I wouldn't get too excited about this feature because after days of having the same food, you will probably be more keen on going out for some breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This and other Foss hotels, we stayed in, do not pretend to be more than 2 or 3 * hotels. They are simple and straight forward and ok for one night. Friendly staff, no problems. Foss hotels can be useful when touring through Iceland. Do not expect your suitcases to be delivered to your room. Lind is well located in the centre, Although we had a room at the street, we had no traffic noise as there was little traffic. Restaurants and shopping are one block away.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay , the location and our friendly staff.

To other reviewers, if you would prefer to have a room facing from the street the reception is happy to help you with your room choice when you book.

Thank you so much for you kind comments.
I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent value for money.Clean bedrooms and communal areas. Very comfortable beds. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice bars and restaurants close by (go to Harrys for fish and chips). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaveandtheFeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing