We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new year 2012-2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“new year 2012-2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself. Great location, very friendly reception staff. Receoptionists are very helpful. There was a guy who even spoke Russian which was nice:-)
Rooms are ok. They even have a teapot and a selection of green and black tea.Breakfast is very good.
Two things which could be improved: cleaning services (one day they did not clean my room at all and did not take away used towels Well, I've stayed there for New Year holidays, so maybe hotel was fully booked and that was the reason. but still...) and hotel's restaurant. I had only one dinner there but I wish I went to the town instead. Don't be lazy - nice eating places are just 5-10 mins walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yershova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear that you would recommend our hotel and that you liked our location.
We are also glad to hear that the reception staff was friendly and the breakfast very good.

I’m sorry to hear that you room did not get cleaned for one of the days that you stayed with us as we do have cleaning service every day.

For other reviewers, if you need extra towels or if there is some problems during your stay with us please don´t hesitate contacting the reception which is open 24 hour and we will try our very best to solve the problem. We are always happy to help and want you to have the best experience possible at our hotel.

Thank you so much for you kind comments.
I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    423
    172
    34
    7
See reviews for
116
464
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Young Couple, 5 Nights over New Year 2012-13

Would really recommend this hotel and would defietely stay there again. The location was brilliant, really close to the main street and the harbour was only a ten minute walk. The staff were very helpful!! Especially Eilen on reception, she booked all our transfers, trips and resteraunt reservations for us, went out of her way to reorganise one of our trips when it got called off due to bad weather (making sure it didn't clash with any other actvities). Her tips on where to go to eat were also great.

The room is small but comfortable, beds extremely comfortable, bathroom small but clean. Shower sulphur (eggy) smell is something to get used to but made my hair feel thick and lovely! Must be something in the water. We had a double room, which was two twin beds pushed together, which worked for us being selfish duvet stealing sleepers, once they saw we were a couple they offered us a proper double so specify your preference beforehand.

For New Years Eve I would really recommend going to the big church on the hill in the city- It looks very impressive on its own but the fireworks and atmosphere were amazing. If your scared of fireworks, bangs ect though.. everyone brings them and sets them off all around you from the street so health and safety nuts maybe leave this one out but we thought it was brilliant!

Room Tip: We got a double room but it was two twins pushed together- although this worked for us as we are bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments.

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here back in June 2012, and I was just looking for a decent but reasonably-priced hotel near the historic part of Reykjavik. The hotel exceeded my expectations. I flew to Iceland from the U.S., so I arrived at the hotel fairly early in the morning, but the staff got me into my room right away and encouraged me to enjoy the breakfast buffet, which was far and away better than breakfast buffets at comparable U.S. hotels. The room was small, but I wasn't there except to sleep. The staff was very helpful in setting up my bus trip back to the airport too. The main inconvenience was not having wi-fi available in the rooms, but otherwise I thought I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear your kind comments and that the hotel exceeded your expectations.

I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let's face it, you're probably going to stay here because you are on a bit of a budget and don't really expect a 5-, or even 4-, star hotel. Fosshotel Lind is a spartan hotel which will provide you with an adequate base to explore Reykjavik from, no more and no less. The hotel is only 4 floors tall, so it's not particularly busy, and when I was here a week and a half ago, there were only several other guests staying there (it was winter). The double room was small by even NYC hotel standards, and you may have a tough time finding space to place your luggage if you are sharing the room and have more than 2 carry-on sized bags each.

Technically the hotel is in the city center, but is about a 10 min walk to where the actual action is. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is quite quiet with not much going on, though there is a grocery store around the corner should you need any supplies.

The hotel provided free breakfast buffet, which was on the robust side after learning of other free breakfasts offered at other hotels. I wouldn't get too excited about this feature because after days of having the same food, you will probably be more keen on going out for some breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This and other Foss hotels, we stayed in, do not pretend to be more than 2 or 3 * hotels. They are simple and straight forward and ok for one night. Friendly staff, no problems. Foss hotels can be useful when touring through Iceland. Do not expect your suitcases to be delivered to your room. Lind is well located in the centre, Although we had a room at the street, we had no traffic noise as there was little traffic. Restaurants and shopping are one block away.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay , the location and our friendly staff.

To other reviewers, if you would prefer to have a room facing from the street the reception is happy to help you with your room choice when you book.

Thank you so much for you kind comments.
I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent value for money.Clean bedrooms and communal areas. Very comfortable beds. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice bars and restaurants close by (go to Harrys for fish and chips). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaveandtheFeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in November 2012 having found it online. Two days after the non-refundable immediate payment reservation was made, and one day after payment was taken from my credit card, I received an email from the hotel telling me that they could not accept my credit card and I needed to provide another one.
I had a very similar issue in the Fosshotel Dalvik in Northern Iceland in 2011.
Fosshotel Lind did email me again later in the day to say 'the payment had now gone through', but the payment had actually been taken around 24 hours before the first email, so rather odd that they wanted further card details (in 2011 I was told the Dalvik branch of the chain had LOST my credit card details and i needed to provide them again, but I had forgotten this until I had issues again this time).
The hotel was clean and nice and very quiet although really close to the city centre. There is a public swimming pool close by and the reception staff were helpful in telling me how to reach it (although they did not know the opening times) and equally helpful when leaving luggage on the day we left.
The breakfast staff were less helpful - no coffee (as well as no bacon, no sausages and a few other things) at 09:15 when breakfast is served until 10:00 and no member of staff in sight. Everybody was drinking hot chocolate so we knocked on an unmarked door to discover 3 members of staff in a back room - two of whom immediately ran off. Not really the service one expects.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anglaisenautriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel and that our reception staff were helpful.
I´m also glad to hear that the rooms were nice and clean.
I´m sorry to hear that there was a problem with the transaction of your prepaid booking. We do charge the credit cards for the prepaid offers as soon as the bookings arrive, if the credit card does not work for some reason we do contact our guest to see if they want us to proceed with the booking. I do assure other reviewers that we have a very good work ethics regarding online payments.
Thank you so much for you kind comments and we assure you that we will look into your points regarding the payment and the breakfast.
I hope you enjoyed your stay Iceland!

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing