We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable hotel but nothing to shout about”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel but nothing to shout about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Foss hotel Lind is reasonably well located near the main bus terminal so is good for the walk in to town.
Breakfast had a great selection to choose from as far as a continental goes, with a choice of croissant, pain au chocolate, cold meats, breads, self made waffles, toast, mini sausuages, beans, omelete. There was also a choice of cereals and fresh fruit along with plenty of choice for drinks.

The rooms were comfortable although a little on the compact side for myself as I dont travel light :) having said that though there was enough room and the beds were comfy too.
We had to ask for extra pillows however this was not a problem and they were brought straight up to us within half an hour of asking.

The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much bother to them. We had a light out in the bedroom but only noticed a few days in and chose not to report it,but im sure had we told them it would have been fixed asap (as they did with the safe)

Overall was a good stay. My only complaint was the shower cubicle was small and it was very easy to burn yourself on the water tap. This wont be an issue to everyone though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxxy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    422
    172
    34
    6
See reviews for
115
463
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Chain of reasonable hotels and this is a good example. There is a restaurant attached which is excellent. Two meal for 2 with wine cost us approx £60 and was probably the best roast lamb I have ever tasted. Had been unable to get in to any of the better known restaurants in Reykjavik as we had not booked and it was Saturday night. We were not disappointed though. This was good. It was full of locals on our evening.
Surrounding buildings are mainly offices so it is quiet in the evening.

Room Tip: all seemed good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Initially, we were only going to stay one night here, but we came back another two times. Out of all the hotels which offered complimentary breakfast, we thought that this hotel had the best one. Continental breakfast, plus some hot stuff (eggs, baked beans and mini sausages). On average, each of our stays cost about 72 euros. The location is good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. One hotel staff (forgot his name but he was Spanish) offered us some really useful tips as we were heading down to the south of Iceland for a few days. We were also allowed to store one suitcase at the hotel while we went south. The rooms are basic, but you're not in Iceland to stay at the hotel. So I think this place is great for value. I'm pretty sure that the internet offer said free wifi, and we got this on the first night, but for the next two stays, we were asked to pay for the wifi, although after explaining that it should be included, they offered it to us for free. This hotel is also great location for the bus terminal and the domestic airport, although you would still need to pay for a cab. If we were coming back to Reykjavik, we would definitely stay here again, just for the staff and the breakfast. (Note we also stayed at Hilton so feel free to check out the review).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor as these are the ones that just got renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano Air Base, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Fosshotel Lind! The location is perfect, the rooms are clean, the beds are SO comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. They also arranged our hotel transfer and had sandwiches made for the trip at 0430. The real deal though is the included breakfast. They had something for everyone: make your own waffles, cereal for the kids, eggs and sausages for Americans, baked beans for the Brits, croissants for the French, yogurt for health nuts, etc. :) I even noticed marinated herring! This is the best hotel breakfast, BY FAR, that I have encountered during my many travels in Europe. You'll need it for all the outdoor adventures Iceland has to offer. You should not be disappointed with a stay at Fosshotel Lind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value your feedback.
We are very thankful for your nice compliments about our hotel, breakfast and staff. We are glad you liked your stay with us and hope you had a wonderful time in Iceland
We hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind

Best wishes

Erna Dís
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here in October. The pictures of reception provided by management are different from what is their.
The hotel is located in a quiet part of the city across from a great Italian restaurant.
The room was basic enough, bed was very comfy.
TV had only one english channel sky news

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2203312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review :)

We are happy that you enjoyed our quiet location and our very comfy beds.
We are sorry to hear that the Television was not working properly as we do have few channels in English.

Regarding the pictures of the hotel provided by the management.
We did renovate the hotel in November and added a new restaurant to our hotel so the pictures are after the renovations :)
It seems like you stayed with us just before we started these renovations.

We wish you a wonderful day and hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind

Best wishes

Erna Dís
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Neat, clean (though small) rooms place you just a short walk from City Center and most of Reykjavic's attractions, and just a block from main bus station. Amole breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoresmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erna D, Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value your feedback.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, our rooms and the breakfast.
We greatly appreciate each and every single review and hope you had a wonderful time in Iceland.

We hope to see you again in Fosshótel Lind

Best wishes

Erna Dís
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

just got back from this hotel , staff were very helpful , nothing was too much trouble, rooms were super, small and cosy sums them up , free use of a pc , wireless was chargable and a bit expensive so use free offered pc,food was magic, breckfast was plentyful, very local for main town , we had rooms at back of the hotel so nice and quiet, recomended to other travelers for sure, bar and breckfast resturant areas were being upgraded when we were there but no hassle ....super hotel use it without fear an pop accross the road to Harrys for a nice cheep meal

Room Tip: pick a rear room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigs5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Property: Fosshotel Lind
Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing