We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of praise for the staff.”
Review of Fosshotel Lind

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Lind
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have just returned from a week in the Fosshotel Lind and am full of praise for the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, arranging trips, even transfers in the middle of the night. Everyone was friendly and very kind, and seemed to have endless patience for all of the guests demands!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fosshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Fosshotel Lind, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear BarbsTravelling,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experice at Fosshotel Lind. We greatly appreciate each and every single review.

We are very glad to hear that our receptionists were able to assist you planning your tours & excursions.

Warm regards,
Fosshotel Lind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Located near Reykjavik main street, Laugavegur, and thus a great location to explore the down town area from. Generally quiet at night, although some locals on the street, heading home from the bars, woke us up at 04 am sunday morning. Just a confirmation that Icelanders can party hard.
Very helpful staff! Served us breakfast at 04:30 am when we had an early flight home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel had a good location. Slightly outside the city center and about 3 blocks from the water. Small market nearby. The room was a good size. We traveled with our two children (10 &12) We had a queen sized bed and the shared a pull oiut sofa. It must have been comfortable because we didn't hear any complaints. The room was very clean and thick curtains did a good job at keeping out the night time light. Also included a European breakfast with a nice selection of fresh fruits, meats and breads. When we checked out (at 4:30am) they even packed us sandwiches since we were leaving before breakfast was sserved.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ampc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This visit was part-business; the organization booked the hotel for us. But we were pleased with it. While it is a 15-20 minute walk from the center of downtown, we enjoyed the exercise and the sight-seeing. Yes, rooms are small and plain, and the shower enclosure is tight, but we enjoyed our second-floor room (we used the stairs and not the lift) with a view of Hallgrimskirkja. Amenities included the large breakfast; heated towel racks in the rooms; and super-helpful front desk staff, who not only checked us in early and offered us breakfast on the first day but also helped arrange trips and reservations. There is a good lunch place 1 block down the street that was very inexpensive. As for internet and Wi-Fi . . . you're on vacation! Get away from the computers!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bassyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed here with my husband in June 2011 for 3 nights. We had stayed previously in the heart of Reykjavik right opposite the Tourist Information Centre.
If you are someone that goes to your room more than at the end of the day Id suggest staying somewhere else. It was a 15-20 min walk to the centre of town. Its a nice walk down a street lines with shops and resturants but I much preferred staying central. We were on a tight budget which is the only reason we stayed here - everywhere else was booked up with a soccer game that was on that week.

The bathroom is small and poorly designed but adequate. The room was comfortable and a good size with a desk and a terrible tv.

This may be the only place in Iceland that doesnt provide free WIFI. at 1500 ISK a day is too expensive. There is one free computer in the lobby which always had someone on it and doesnt have a time limit so you just have to be lucky to grab a spot. it is not open 24 hours though.

The breakfast starts at 7am and was a decent spread of cheese, sliced meats, biscuits, small baked goods, cereal, toast, eggs, tomato etc and what looked to be a pancake maker in the corner.

The younger girls on reception were lovely and very accomodating. Different experiences with the others.

I would probably not stay here again although the place is decent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,123,410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great value for money with ample breakfast and within easy walking distance of all the sights in Reykjavik. Very helpful staff. Hotel provided us with sandwiches and coffee for our early departure as breakfast does not start until 7am. Nice quiet location too. Only down side is no refreshment making facilities in the room, although drinks and snacks are available for purchase at reception. UK equivalent standard would be Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The staff is very friendly and willing to help in ANYway they can! I had seen pics and expected the worst. The hotel is very clean, close to town, and offers a good daily breakfast buffet. The staff was amazing! Sooo patient and helpful. The only thing that negative that I would say, it that the showers are about the same size as ones you would find on an RV. But really who cares..You are in "Niceland"! You'll love this country. If my family wasn't in the USofA..I'd move there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1976ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,180 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,809 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,927 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#33 of 55 in Reykjavik
981 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Lind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Lind

Address: Raudararstigur 18, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $160 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Lind 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Lind is a centrally located official 3 star Comfort Tourist Class hotel, near to museums, shops, restaurants and nightlife. At Fosshotel Lind following room categories are available: 78 standard rooms with shower/wc, wireless internet, flat screen TV with an inbuilt DVD player, radio and phone. Security boxes are located either in the rooms or in the reception. Junior Suite which is very spacious with a comfortable sofa, balcony and a bathtub in the bathroom, perfect to relax in after a day out. This room is ideal for honeymooners or those that prefer a little bit more luxury at a reasonable price. Other hotel facilities include TV lounge, laundry, tour desk, free internet in the reception area, elevator & free parking. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available, suitable for small and medium sized conferences. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Lind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Lind Reykjavík
Fosshotel Lind Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing