We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #2 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Easy check-in. Location was excellent. It was a short walk to the main square. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The services was very good as well. This is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Travelguru4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 670 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2007

Thank You TripAdvisors! Booked Kastallin (Castle House) having read the reviews. What a great find - quiet, comfortable, clean, superbly equipped, it was just the right place for us to stay. They let us have the unit early in the morning when we arrived after a night flight from the US. Super bakery 5 minutes walk away, supermarket 8 minutes, everything else is a close walk, in this fascinating city. Good small tv with satellite channels in several languages, twin beds pushed together, couch and armchair, table and chairs. Rooms are small, kitchen is tiny but has everything you need and then some, bathroom is small but works fine.

No-one else seems to have mentioned that it is below the landing flight path of the Reykjavik (Not Keflavik) airport. However, there are not many planes, and landing they only make about as much noise as a loud motorcycle. Since it is such a quiet place to stay, you might hear them occasionally - in a busier city they would be drowned out by all the other racket! They did not bother us at all.

Couple of hints - tell taxis and tours you are staying at Kastallin, behind the Free Church, they know that, not necessarily Castle House.

Who needs a hotel when you can stay here?

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank TravellerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

I found the castle house apartments on TripAdvisor, while searching for somewhere reasonably priced to stay in Iceland. The accomodation lived up to all the reviews. At about 70 pounds per night we had a bathroom, living-room ,fully equipped kitchen and bedroom. There was free internet access and the added bonus of a CD/DVD player. It really was a home from home and I would definitely return and stay in the apartments again. We were 2 mins from Lake Tjorn and about 5-10mins from the main shopping street. Iceland was still incredibly expensive - we managed to spend 20 pounds at the local supermarket just on bread, eggs and bacon for breakfast. Even so, it was perfect for a Valentine's weekend away. The Blue Lagoon is unmissable and if you're feeling more adventurous then I definitely recommend a horse-riding trip through the lava fields.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank isis109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

This was a good clean apartment with friendly helpful staff. the cooking facilities certainly helped to keep costs of eating out down. Good location being 3 mins walk from the main street but not noisy from the late night partying that the iclandic people excell at! Overall excellent apartments.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank tigger019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Castle House apartments are definitely THE place to stay during a visit to stunning Reykjavik. Affordable accommodation in an expensive city whilst set in an ideal location nr the city centre.

Overlooking the stunning lake Tjornin, it is conveniently located for all popular Reykjavik desitinations and within walking distance to very heart of the city. These luxury apartments are outrageously comfortable with a large living room (leather sofa, breakfast table etc.), fully equipped kitchen and spacious bedroom. They also come with virtually every personal gadget you could need (coffee, personal safe, satellite TV) whilst away from home for a while.

If you are looking to stay in Reykjavik centre, I truly can't recommend Castle House highly enough. Situated literally yards from the shops and restaurants but buffered from hustle bustle of the city. Anyone on a first or return visit to Iceland will adore these apartments. Staff are super-friendly and on-hand to assist your needs where possible. Go on, give yourself a treat and visit a wonderful city and live it up in style. Very highly recommended to all... Stevie

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank 1ledzep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

My friends and I stayed at Castle House recently. Good location and having a kitchen in expensive Reykjavik was definitely a plus (even though groceries from the nearby 1011 store were expensive by UK/US standards).
Rooms are a little cramped past triple sharing - didn't like the idea of having to enter the bedroom to get to the bathroom. The sofa bed mattress in our room (which I volunteered to sleep on) was kinda weird - had a strange sponginess which left me pondering whether it was like a Tempurpedic mattress or whether my spine would take a beating.
Good satellite TV, though - tons of English channels (albeit mostly news), but we weren't in the room very much to channel surf.
If you are driving in Iceland, this place has some decent parking close by, and getting to the main motorways for trips out of Reykjavik or to Keflavik airport is a breeze.
All in all, I can't give the place top marks, but it does merit the high rankings given by other travellers if you want a quiet, reasonably priced (expect still about 50-60 Euros per person per night) and clean place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Taquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We were v happy with our stay at Castle Apartments. The rooms were nice, kitchen excellent, the roses were a nice touch. The location, and view from the loungeroom were fantastic. Most of all I wanted to commend the staff, who were extremely friendly and generous, and I really appreciated their kindness.
We have recommended your apartments to others, and plan to come again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank bunnyatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,107 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#12 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,936 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $155 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing