We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Reykjavik
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveler rating
515
183
18
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
515
183
18
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national gallery great location small kitchen milk in the fridge apartment was clean self catering the bus city hall bathroom floor street parking short walk underfloor heating quiet location great apartment living area grocery store bonus supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were two couples and we stayed here in two apartments for three days at the beginning of January - we were really pleased with the location of the apartments as they are really close to the main centre of Reykjavik and also close to the BSI terminal - only two stops on the local bus. All the trips pick up close to the apartment as well - from Bus stop 2 at the Pond. We were also delighted to find that the apartments were really warm and cosy as the temperature outside was very, very cold! There is everything there you need for a short stay - there is a separate bathroom and also a room with a double bed, a comfy settee, a small dining table with two chairs, cooking facilities including a microwave and a toaster, a kettle, a fridge and even a small dishwasher! There is also underfloor heating which was a delight after the freezing temperatures outside. Everything was very clean and towels were replaced when you wanted. Milk was provided which was a nice touch. The only thing I would have liked would have been more storage space but it was fine for such a short stay - it might have been a problem if you were there longer but I suppose the space is limited.
Definitely recommend these apartments as they were perfect for the length of our stay and the price we paid was very reasonable.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GlobeTrotting274083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

Perfect for our stop off in Reykjavík. Nice, big room with a mini kitchen and bathroom. Easy to find (behind the church) with plenty of parking spots nearby. It’s a short walk into downtown Reykjavík where we went for some Icelandic street food, great!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank X8681EWemilyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

We were staying in a ground floor apartment and found it very comfortable - warm and homely. Loved the piping hot water and the powerful shower.
Kitchenette was adequate for our needs (appreciated the mini dishwasher!) and on street parking was fine - we did not need to pay as we were back late every evening and away before 9am also.
We did not do much downtown apart from go out to pick up food as we were mainly seeing natural sights in the countryside although were we to return when the temperature is warmer and we had more time, we would definitely walk around the city more.
Beds comfortable. Would have been nice to have a view from the window (facing inwards towards other apartments) but for a short break in autumn/winter this was not a deal-breaker.
The only reason I have given this apt 4/5 instead of 5/5 was because the shower head did not fit the bracket which meant to wash hair/shower you had to constantly hold the showerhead in your hand. Were you to leave it in the bracket, poorly fitting, it turned vertical pouring water over the showerscreen, soaking absolutely everything and even running out of the bathroom onto the bedroom floor. This soaked me from head to toe whilst fully clothed also as I did not expect it to do this, I was merely turning the shower on to get the temperature right on my first night, to find out this happened. I did not report it as the daily cleaner/room service would have been well aware of this, so assumed the owners knew and at the end of the day, although it was annoying to have to hold the showerhead, it wasn't a massive deal. Be good to fix it though by purchasing matching shower bracket and shower head,.
I would really like to return to this accomodation though. Owner communication was superb and when we couldnt get one radiator to come on, someone came to help us within 20 minutes. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sofargoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngibergurT, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry about the shower head. We did not actually know about that problem. Although housekeeping clean the bathrooms they would not turn on the water when the head was mounted. They would get soaking wet !

So, thanks for letting us know in this review. This has now been fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019

The heated bathroom floor was great. The apartment had everything we needed except good light in the bathroom. One of the fixtures didn’t work. One morning, we were late getting out and missed out on room service. The room service is only available for a couple of hours in the morning so we missed out that day. The stove top was difficult to turn on and off. On the last night, we unplugged the unit as we couldn’t get it to turn off. Very clean, neat. Great location near restaurants, shops, bus stops.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amygandyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngibergurT, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have of course fixed the fixture and should have done so while you were there should you have informed us.

When people leave the Do Not Disturb sign on we do not enter but instead leave a bag of fresh towels outside your door. Sorry about the stove top malfunction which has now been replaced.

Future guests: Do not hesitate to contact us via the provided free telephone in case anything
needs attention. We respond quickly to any problem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

The feeling that this hotel gives you is that of home. The way the furniture is arranged and the small details in the room give you the impression that you just got an apartment in Reykjavik. The hotel is very close to the city center, only 5 minutes walk. But to have a pleasant stay you have to take an apartment upstairs, because the hotel is very poorly isolated. In the last night we started packing our bags because we had to leave early in the morning. In a very short time the neighbor from below came to us to ask us to make no more noise because he cannot sleep. We didn't talk loudly, we didn't listen to music, we just packed our luggage, and it was only 9.30 in the evening. In a very short time the owner of the hotel also called to ask us the same thing, which, to be honest, disturbed us quite a bit. I think it would have been more normal to come to see in person what this is about. But apart from that it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngibergurT, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Some people are very sensitive to sound. This was the case with your neighbour. Besides knocking on your door he also phoned us. Not knowing the nature of the disturbance I called you to make sure all was OK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews