We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, flaexible and cheaper than a hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #3 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect, flaexible and cheaper than a hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Just returned from a 3 day break to Reykjavik staying at the Castle House Aparts. Perfect place to stay and alot cheaper than the hotels which is a bonus in Iceland!!!! Fantastic location by the pond and a 5 min walk into the main areas. Aparts have everything you need and very comfy bed!!!! We arrived at 1 am and it was easy to find and get your keys etc without actually meeting anyone. When you arrive get the Fylbus to Hotel Borg and walk from there (5 mins). On the way home if you don't have too much luggage you can walk to the bus station from the aparts no problem. For food there is so much choice but as a treat go to The Fishmarket (not The Seafood Cellar) and have the chilli crabclaws - unbelievable!!! Only disappointment was didn't get to see the Northern Lights as too overcast - oh well, next time!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    156
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
85
386
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

I have just recently returned to Halifax after staying at the Castle House for 6 nights. My stay at the Castle House was a very enjoyable part of my experience of Iceland. The apartments are nicely situated in the heart of Reykjavik. There was a never ending supply of hot showers. The room was clean and most comfortable.
There was alot of thought put into what travellers might need during their stay. The bed was most inviting after a full day of touring.
Whenever we needed the proprietors for anything they were there in a very short time.
The outside surroundings of the apartments were clean and well kept as well. Whenever we approached the building in the evening we said, "We have the best accomodations in the whole city" The daily service was awesome. Will return to this place when I return to Iceland (which will be as soon as I can).

  • Liked — location, cleanliness and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newIcelandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

We have just recently returned from Castle Luxury apartments. Arrived at 1.00am in morning and no hassle in obtaining keys. The apartment was warm, comfy and very well equiped with everything you could possible need for self catering. Plenty of hot water, comfortably bed and extremely easy access to centre of town, in fact only 2mins walk. Supermarket only 5 mins walk from apartment and Tourist info centre very close. Superb location close to city lake and park. plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. You could not find a better location than this. Would highly recomend these apartments if your on a tight budget. Restaurants in Reyjkavik can be expensive, so self catering is the answer. We enjoyed our stay at this apartment so much, we have already booked up for the new year.
Steve Reeve (Travel Photographer)

  • Liked — Quiet location, warm and comfortable
  • Disliked — Water from shower had a sulpher smell, guess this is normal in Iceland
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

The apartment was comfortable, clean, well-equipped and centrally located just off Frikirkjuvegur (where the lake is) in Reykjavik. This allowed easy access to the geothermal pools, museums, galleries and main shopping and tourist areas but without any noise or hassle.

The minor points - changing the bed arrangement and replacing a light bulb - were dealt with efficiently. Daily cleaning, including washing up, was done unobtrusively at a time to suit us

As we arrived late (after midnight) and left on a late afternoon flight,
having an arrangement where there was no delay in getting into the apartment and
being able to leave our luggage beyond the standard checkout time was very much
appreciated.

Very happy to recommend both the apartments and service.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

My daughter and I had a fantastic four days in Reykjavik staying in Castle House Apartments. We had a small studio flat that had everything you could possibly need. It was also warm and cosy to come home to each day from the cold and rain. We ate out a couple of times, but were able mostly to cook at home saving money. The flat was spotlessly clean and modern, and everything worked perfectly. The owners are friendly and helpful and you get lots of tips by e-mail when you book.

The best thing of all was that we were right in the middle of the city, but set back from the main road, so no traffic noise. The main art gallery was nextdoor, and the city lake was visible from the front door. We were a five minute walk from a tourist information office which sorted out all our adventures to the Blue Lagoon, the Gullfoss Waterfall and national park, and the geysers.

  • Liked — the central position
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennyfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Right in the middle of the older part of the city. You have to pass the front door of the national art gallery to get from the street. Quiet location but very close to everything comfortable room (stayed in apartment 64). Only thing that could be faulted was the room could have been bigger not much room for suitecases

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mshtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

Everything was great. It was actually nice to finally be in a room with a real double bed. We had been booking rooms with doubles all week, and would come in a find two twins pushed together, but that made us need to sleep separately, which isn't our preferred way to sleep.
Also, we booked two different rooms on consecutive nights because ours was booked up for the second evening, but they arranged for us to stay in our room! That was awesome! Not a single complaint to report!

  • Liked — Right next to a museum and a real double bed!! Also, real sheets and thinner blankets! I didn't sweat all night like a lot of other places!!
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank relocatednyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing