We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good value alternative to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #2 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had no problem finding the apartments, getting parked or checking in. The check-in instructions are very clear and easy to understand and can be followed easily without a problem to get access to the apartment.

Once inside we found the apartment warm and cosy (it was still cold and a bit snowy when we visited at Easter) and well appointed with everything we needed for a few nights stay. Reykjavik's hot water supply is of course almost unlimited and slightly sulphuric to smell, but to me that is one of the interesting points of visiting and I'm sure it did my skin some good! The city centre is compact and we could easily walk to whatever we wanted to see, and equally easily use the car to get out of town.

We found the apartments a pleasant change from a hotel with the extra space of a lounge to relax, and as eating out in Iceland is an expensive business, having the ability to self cater in the apartment kitchen offers significant value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 667 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at the apartments. After a week of sharing a single room with our young son, it was lovely to have a living room again separate from the bedroom where we could enjoy some time together. We also used the kitchen, once to cook, and other times just for storing cold drinks and yogurts. There are many places to buy groceries in the vicinity. The apartment was well-located for visiting Reykjavik's highlights - including the National Museum, the Settlement Exhibition, Hallgrimskirkja, and the big shopping streets and tourist center of town. We also found it easy to get out and never faced any of the Reykjavik traffic.

I loved the heated floors in the bathroom. I couldn't figure out how not to flood the bathroom with water from the shower, but the heated floors dried it up quickly. The hotel was very cozy when it was stormy and cold outside.

It was very clean and all your needs were thought of, like a luggage rack, drying rack (important for swimsuits).

The only downside was the internet connection, which was no more than two bars most of the time, and dropped out frequently. I was unable to do any work remotely, unfortunately my boss asked me to do something while we were staying there and I was unable to make the connection strong enough to complete my work. Oh well - I was supposed to be on vacation anyway.

It's a bit confusing on how to get into your apartment. Another couple and I both got confused. You are supposed to buzz into the entry hallway, and pick up your keys there. However, you might not notice that your keys are there because they are in an envelope with your name. As our envelopes were not in front, we didn't see our name and didn't realize that was our keys. On a windy day such as it was, we had trouble hearing the person through the intercom. This is not a negative but just to let people know when they come

Room Tip: We found Apartment 60 to be an excellent room for the three of us. Our small son slept in the bed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShannonSomervilleMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We offer very fast and powerful internet. There are 4 routers / wireless access points in various locations in the building and if you choose the strongest one for where you are you should get a perfect connection.

We also have a 24/7 phone service for information and assistance and appreciate if guests contact us for any problems so we can immediately attend.

I look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our family group from India, had a very comfortable stay at the Castle House Apartments this week. We had chosen this property based on its rating on TripAdvisor.

After having stayed in Hotels, we found the apartments to be refreshingly different. It was very convenient staying in a great location on the lake, at the centre of the town and with the tour booking offices, shopping and restaurants just a stone's throw away.

Check in was easy and quick. The rooms were adequate and very clean. Well heated with all amenities in the kitchen made us feel at home.

Freyja who was our contact was very prompt in her replies to our queries and helped us a lot in our bookings. Evelyn the manager was always available over phone and helpful.

We certainly recommend this place to all travellers to Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a change from staying in hotels then I'd recommend these apartments. They're in a good location in Reykjavik just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street. They're well equipped and the milk, orange juice, cofffee and chocolate that's provided on arrival was very welcome. Apartments have wifi and satellite tv all with uk channels! The pre arrival information emailed after the booking is confirmed is very useful and covers everything you could need to know. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed apartment 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived at the Castle House around 3:30 PM and were disappointed that there was no one on site to welcome us. It took four phone calls before someone picked up the phone. We requested that we meet with a " real person" and the request was ignored. Fortunately someone was leaving the main entrance and we were able to retrieve our key. The person who called our room was very put out that we asked questions and told us to read the prepared literature in the room. Room was clean but not very quiet...slamming doors and noisy people outside our room. We stayed here two different nights and both rooms were quite hot with very little fresh air.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemillie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. I did miss your call and apologize for keeping you waiting for check in for 6 minutes. That should not have happened (and almost never does). Usually check in is available immediately.

We then called you at the apartment to offer you any assistance or information. You asked for and received directions for restaurants. We then made you aware of available printed maps and information in the apartment and of our 24/7 phone service.

I am sorry you did not feel sufficiently welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in suite 30 of Castle House for 2 nights in May. We really enjoyed the place, which was compact-but-not-too-compact. Everything was clean and new-looking, and there was plenty of room for the two of us. Along with the kitchen/bathroom/living room, we had a cute little balcony to look out on the city. We were a short walk from the town center.

We quickly found the Kornid Bakery down the main street, which became our breakfast stop the 3 mornings we were there. Good coffee, pastries and fresh sandwiches.

We would stay at Castle House again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjalberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Can't speak highly enough about these apartments. We had 3 separate apartments and stayed for 3 nights - good value compared to local hotels. Great location 5 minutes walk from all of the bars/restaurants but nice and quiet. Spotlessly clean and all the facilities you are likely to need - watched the England match on the flat screen TV. Very efficient booking process and good communication. Iceland is a beautiful country. Would recommend a visit and stay at the Castle House

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
489 reviews
Blue House
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $119 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing