We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable & Convenient Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle House Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Salem,Tamilnadu
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Convenient Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our family group from India, had a very comfortable stay at the Castle House Apartments this week. We had chosen this property based on its rating on TripAdvisor.

After having stayed in Hotels, we found the apartments to be refreshingly different. It was very convenient staying in a great location on the lake, at the centre of the town and with the tour booking offices, shopping and restaurants just a stone's throw away.

Check in was easy and quick. The rooms were adequate and very clean. Well heated with all amenities in the kitchen made us feel at home.

Freyja who was our contact was very prompt in her replies to our queries and helped us a lot in our bookings. Evelyn the manager was always available over phone and helpful.

We certainly recommend this place to all travellers to Iceland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    148
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
76
360
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a change from staying in hotels then I'd recommend these apartments. They're in a good location in Reykjavik just a few minutes walk from the main shopping street. They're well equipped and the milk, orange juice, cofffee and chocolate that's provided on arrival was very welcome. Apartments have wifi and satellite tv all with uk channels! The pre arrival information emailed after the booking is confirmed is very useful and covers everything you could need to know. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed apartment 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south windsor, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived at the Castle House around 3:30 PM and were disappointed that there was no one on site to welcome us. It took four phone calls before someone picked up the phone. We requested that we meet with a " real person" and the request was ignored. Fortunately someone was leaving the main entrance and we were able to retrieve our key. The person who called our room was very put out that we asked questions and told us to read the prepared literature in the room. Room was clean but not very quiet...slamming doors and noisy people outside our room. We stayed here two different nights and both rooms were quite hot with very little fresh air.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemillie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. I did miss your call and apologize for keeping you waiting for check in for 6 minutes. That should not have happened (and almost never does). Usually check in is available immediately.

We then called you at the apartment to offer you any assistance or information. You asked for and received directions for restaurants. We then made you aware of available printed maps and information in the apartment and of our 24/7 phone service.

I am sorry you did not feel sufficiently welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in suite 30 of Castle House for 2 nights in May. We really enjoyed the place, which was compact-but-not-too-compact. Everything was clean and new-looking, and there was plenty of room for the two of us. Along with the kitchen/bathroom/living room, we had a cute little balcony to look out on the city. We were a short walk from the town center.

We quickly found the Kornid Bakery down the main street, which became our breakfast stop the 3 mornings we were there. Good coffee, pastries and fresh sandwiches.

We would stay at Castle House again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjalberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Can't speak highly enough about these apartments. We had 3 separate apartments and stayed for 3 nights - good value compared to local hotels. Great location 5 minutes walk from all of the bars/restaurants but nice and quiet. Spotlessly clean and all the facilities you are likely to need - watched the England match on the flat screen TV. Very efficient booking process and good communication. Iceland is a beautiful country. Would recommend a visit and stay at the Castle House

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed one night here after completing the Ring Road. We loved this charming place and for the price, it was an amazing find. We were in room 61 which was on street level and it was furnished with a couch, bed, small kitchen (no stove), TV, small bathroom. Very clean, comfortable place. We loved the location which was in a residential area near a lovely city park and a quick 10 minute walk to the central part of the city. After booking the hotel about two months ago, as the time neared, I started receiving helpful emails about things to do, places to eat, etc. I never met the owner-manager but she had covered all the bases. I would recommend this place highly and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cashaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Me and my wife just came back from a trip to Iceland and while there we stayed at Castle House Luxury Apartments. We stayed in Apt. 50 which is perfect for two people during the week we were there. The apartment had a tv, bed, couch, small kitchen, dining room, and though the bathroom in the photo looks small its a perfect size. Freyja was my contact person from the time I booked the reservation on line and was very highly informative about what to expect in Iceland. At the end on our stay we were allowed to keep our luggage in the room between our check out time and the next guest check in time, so that we may walk around town a bit more before our departure back home. I have no complaints about the stay at this hotel and would only stay here on any return visits.

Room Tip: All apartments at Skalholtsstigur 2a are far from any clubs or bars, so its very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 60 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing