We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, beautiful apartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #3 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful apartment!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you are visiting Reykjavik the place to stay are these apartments. Comfortable, clean and well stocked these apartments are in the perfect location to walk in every direction. A 7 minute walk from downtown, it is easily accessible by foot, and you will never be far from attractions, restaurants, museums and pubs. I would only suggest to the owners that the check-in time be more flexible. Only being able to access your room after 3pm is a challenge to a jet lagged, early morning arrival such as myself. However the pluses far outweigh this minor glitch, it is still the place to go when in Iceland.

Room Tip: Call ahead and try to get early check-in if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Our Check-out time is 11 and then we need to clean the apartments and get them ready for arriving guests. As you say the apartments are spotlessly clean and it takes a while to make them so.

If the apartment happens to have been free the day before you arrive, you can check
in early for free. And of course there is the option of booking an extra night to ensure
you can check in whenever you like.

We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    156
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
86
388
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This apartment/hotel is an excellent set up! After an overnight flight we were able to check in early and enjoy the comfort and roominess of the apartment. There is good documentation about the apartments and area, and more advice is just a phone call away. The apartment was extremely clean and all amenities were present. PLUS the location is perfect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank sally00802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suomi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

First time in Reykjavik and needed to place to spent my nights,propably could't choose Better one than Castle house.I made my reservation by Hotels.com and after few hours of that the hotel send me an e-mail witch contained lots of information concerning my reservation and travel trips in Reykjavik area,how cool is that.Location,centre of Reykjavik downtown,is perfect.All the little shops and tens of restaurants,The Harpa and the harbour area are nearby,by walking distance.Hotel only has 6 suites,perfect for 2-3 people.There is't reception but they opens the front door to you by phone and envelop with you room keys and informations about your room are in the lobbydesk.They will make soon after your "check in"a phonecall and make sure that everything is allright. Apartment comes with 2 rooms and the kitchen, by the way,staff will wash your dishes,where you get that kind service?If You have anykind of problem you can call 24/7 to the staff by room phone.And checkout,easy,just leave the keys on to table.This will be my place in Reykjavik when i go back for holiday there...and if you come by car,there is lot of parking space.

Helpful?
2 Thank DukeWSuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

These apartments are ideally located near the city pond and is a short 5 minute walk to the centre, 15 minute walk to the harbor and a 20 min walk to the bus station where you can catch the airport and blue lagoon buses. All are easy walks due to the land being flat and all routes are easy to navigate. It is a safe location to walk around and is easily accessible.

The one bed studio apartment had plenty of space and facilities for two people.
The double bed is very comfy and that factored with low noise at night makes for a great nights sleep. In fact the only sounds you hear will be from the swans and birds on the pond!
The kitchen is very well equipped to cook in with everything from fridge, cooker, kettle, plates, bottle opener...the list goes on. We only stayed 2 nights so ate out, however if you're in Reykajvik for longer it is worth while having a few home cooked meals in the apartment as eating out can be quite expensive!
The room also came with a table and chairs, sofa, TV and phone.
The bathroom was of a modern design with a large shower, toilet and sink, with towels and complementary shower gel and soap. There's also a hairdryer and plenty of space to put your toiletries away.
The hot water comes straight from the hot springs and the cold water is very safe and clean to drink.

Th apartment was very clean and well appointed. The only thing to keep in mind is that they leave their windows slightly open in Reykajvik to air the rooms, so don't be surprised if you come back to your room to find the window left slightly open. Those of us from big cities find this weird, however seems perfectly normal and safe here.

On Reykajvik in general, the nothern lights are a must try see, we actually saw them over Reykajvik itself one night (which is rare).
Trips can be quite expensive however all are worth it. The blue lagoon is a MUST, Northern lights tours will take you out to the national parks at night to get the best chance of seeing them, and other tours such as the Golden Circle take you to some amazing scenery.
There is an information point in town with all tour information and they can book the tours for you.
The centre is split into two, the more tourist area where the tourist info is, then over the main road their is the shopping, pub and club precinct where you'll find all the locals.

Credit/debit card payments are the norm over there, so paying is never a problem. It is quite an expensive city, so bare that in mind when planning trips.

I would happily come back to Reykajvik and stay in Castle apartments again, a perfect visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stef933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a great 8 nights staying here. Our apartment was small but was all we needed. Spotlessly clean, and we particularly liked the heated floors in the bathroom. 5 mins walk from the centre. Also the cleaners were great, came in every day and even did the washing up. Good value, highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesharpe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived mid-afternoon and took advantage of the private car service offered by Castle House, our driver was Arne and he made us feel welcome immediately.

The apartment, number 30, was very spacious, four rooms, very clean and well equipped. The kitchen, whilst compact, had everything you could ask for including microwave, dish washer, fridge and excellent coffee maker.

The apartment would have been cleaned and tidied every day, but on Sunday we stayed in until lunchtime as we had two very long coach trips ahead. Even so, the team at Castle House left clean towels by our door, if we needed them.

The apartments are very convenient to the city, with grocery shops and the government run liqueur/wine store also within 10mins walking alongside the city lake, known as 'The Pond'. There are so many restaurants to choose from who needs a hotel with its own restaurant.

I am actually writing this review sitting on the comfortable sofa in the lounge/diner using the free wifi. There is a large flat-screen TV with satellite channels which suited us very well for the few times we used them.

Thank you to everyone involved for making our stay so much more comfortable than any hotel we might have chosen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roys6484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Apartment 62 is a double bedded studio apartment with kitchen area, dining table, sofa and wet room. Close to the City Pond, it's central location makes it an ideal base for walking around Reykavik, visiting its tourist attractions and numerous restaurants, cafés etc.

The apartment was very clean, well appointed, comfortable and quiet. It was serviced daily. Probably like most Icelandic accommodation it was warm with unlimited hot (sulphurous) water.

We'd be delighted to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing