We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #2 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Apartment 20 the end of February. The girls that clean up the apartments fo a fantastic job. It was spotless when we arrived! From our balcony we could see City Hall as well as the frozen pond. The variety of cable TV channels was sparse for Americans with the only news being BBC. The kitchen was fully equipped even with a colander for pasta. One thing I did not like was that the curtains were sheer. I believe there were offices where our bedroom was and someone could look straight through the apartment to the pond. Checkout was 11 AM and we had a 5 PM flight, but we were able to have our luggage stored until we left for the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

The curtains let in all the light, making the apartments bright, but you cannot see into the apartments from outside. There are also roll down blackout curtains to make sleeping easy during the summer, when there is daylight almost 24 hours.

I hope to see you soon again in Reykjavik :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Castle House Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 654 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked the Castle House Luxury Apartments for our weeks stay in Reykjavik. Location was perfect, downtown Reykjavik/centre was only a few minutes walk away with lots of places to eat, drink, supermarket, shops etc. Location of the apartment couldn't be any better. Staff were excellent, daily maid service and they even washed any dishes that had been left out - brilliant service that they provide. We stayed in apartment 40 which had everything you needed. I would definitely recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this on the strength of other reviews and are really glad we did. It was a perfectly equipped studio with everything we needed for a self catering trip. Beware. Iceland is expensive, especially for food, so bringing our own staples and self-catering was a great money saver and meant. We could do more when we were there,

The room was a good size with plenty of storage space, international tv channels including uk main channels, a lovely hot shower and a good sized bed. Some reviewers of places in Iceland comment in the sulphur smell of the hot water, and this occurs everywhere but it really is not so bad,

Great apartment in a good location right next to the frozen lake and only a short walk (5 mins max) into the centre of town. What's not to love?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location of the place is great - a short walk to the downtown Reykjyavik and right on the lake. The room is very comfortable - nice bed, shower, kitchenette. It is also impeccably clean. The service was punctual and courteous. I do have a gripe about our last night at the place though. The manager woke us up at around 7 AM when she saw that our friend who stayed at another room was leaving earlier left. The manager somehow thought we needed to know that, so she knocked on the door, and since were asleep and could not hear, she walked into the apartment! That was quite uncomfortable. We also stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our trip. The first time we stayed on the first floor and the room was quiet. The second time we stayed in a basement apartment, and the noise was pretty bad - from above, from the street...kept us awake for a lot of time at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your review. Travelling extensively and submitting reviews over a month later can be problematic. Your description of our property is not correct.

We are in a cul de sac with a church and an Art Gallery. There is never any noise from the street. The ground floor/basement apartment is the quietest one, having a thick concrete ceiling and we never get complaints about noise „from above“ where there is only another apartment.

The apartments are self service apartments and although cleaning and maintenance are impeccable and our 24/7 phone service prompt, your comment about „punctual and courteous service“ does not seem to apply.

The manager is off site and never arrives before 9 am. Night staff never enters apartments unless called for assistance. The incident you describe did not happen. Not at Castle House Luxury Apartments.

We are close to the lake and the apartments are impeccably clean, but that is the only thing you got right.

We are a small hotel or 8 apartments. Thereof 2 apartments on the 1st floor and 2 on the ground floor/basement where you say you stayed. In January only one American stayed in these apartments, a gentleman from Texas who stayed with us one night.


Please notify TripAdvisor of your error

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We selected Castle House Luxury Apartments for our stay in Reykjavik and the surrounding area. The early check in, allowed because the apartment was not occupied the night before, allowed our family to get an early morning nap after our red-eye flight from New York - extraordinarily helpful in adjusting to Reykjavik time. The apartment was clean and well stocked, perfectly sized for our family of four. The location was great - right next to Tjornin, but not so close to the noisy areas as to be disturbed by the famous night life in the city. Only about a half kilometer walk to the main shopping streets, the "old city," and many restaurants. I would recommend Castle House to anyone staying in Reykjavik.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Imagine having your own 1 bedroom apartment right in the heart of Reykjavik. You can get some groceries, cook in your own kitchen ... but when you leave and come back, the dishes have been washed! This was the best of both worlds, your own place but still maintained like a hotel. The location was amazing. Recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IcelanderReykjavik, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

The curtains let in all the light, making the apartments bright, but you cannot see into the apartments from outside. There are also roll down blackout curtains to make sleeping easy during the summer, when there is daylight almost 24 hours.

I hope to see you soon again in Reykjavik :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in Embassy Luxury apartments in Feb 2014. We had a one bedroom Suite ( 90) with a huge double bed and a sofa bed for the kids ( age 7 and 12). Apartment is lovely, clean, and serviced every day. Dishes are washed! It is in a great location, 300 m from city centre, very walkable to restuarants and marina. It is a great location to explore Reykyavik.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank ashwini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $144 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing