We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #2 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were so thrilled with our stay in the apartments. We are used to staying in self catering but didn't have the budget to do so in Reykjavik. The apartments, due to this, were perfect for us - private yet help and advice was easily avaliable if we needed.

We stayed in apartment 10. It was just right and loved the luxury of having separate kitchen lounge and bedroom. My only advice would be if you are easily bothered by noise maybe stay on the top floor as we could hear the guests above walking around on occasion.

The location is great, you can see a lovely pond from the lounge and the centre of town and harbour is on your doorstep. So close to everything including Icelandic Excursions which came in handy - they were also great.

The apartment was so clean and comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised that our washing up was even done for us. We had clean towels and a freshly made bed every day which was brilliant.

Thank you for a brilliant stay - we hope we can come back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 664 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Luxury apts is really stretching things but I would say the apt is comfortable. We spent a couple nights there last week. The places was spotless and everythig worked. Even though there is no management onsite everything worked like clockwork. We arrived late, the buzzer was answered promptly, the key was available in an envelope in the foyer. The mgr called us within 20 minutes of arrival to make sure all was ok.

Would we stay here again. Yes
Would we recommend this to others Yes

The location is within a few minute walk of city center

Safe traveling

Chuck

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

On our recent trip to Iceland, we spent three nights in apartment 20 at Castle House Apartments and were very pleased with the experience. The apartment is very centrally located in Reykjavik and offers views over Lake Tjörnin. It is directly by the National Art Gallery which is with a visit. The location is excellent in that it offers wonderful access to restaurants and attractions without the noise of some locations. The rooms in the apartment were small, but not cramped, well furnished and clean. The kitchen was small, but well equipped. We used the airport pickup service and the breakfast supply service and were pleased with both. I would happily recommend this apartment to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Patty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you get tired of staying in hotels this place is for you. Sometimes you get tired of
eating out and want to make your own meals.
The lady, I think Seran is her name, not sure of spelling was awesome. Very friendly
and helpful. We made a mistake and thought we were staying an extra nite and when
we got back from sightseeing a note on the door said they had to pack up all our things
because someone else had the room reservation. but she stayed over her shift
and tried to find us another accomadation, turns out we were supposed to be somewhere else.
If your a runner there is lovely path right across the street that goes round the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marygrace58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

we stayed in room #30 we have everything we needed including our balcony which was
very nice. I have to say the staff do their best to make you feel very comfortable; one lady in particular her name is edith she was very nice to us carried our suit cases for us
anytime we would call whether it was for the TV or the Electricity she was there with no problem we felt very comfortable with her even though it was our first time in Iceland. You could really walk to City hall, National Museum , and one musuem is right next door to us , and also the bus stop is right there, and a lot of restuarant within walking distance
I would definitely stay with them next time; and highly recommended.

Room Tip: well if you want the balcony with your # 20 or 30 it was quiet. 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikki786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I love this place. I rented studio #62 for a week and could not be happier with it. My cozy apartment was tucked behind the main building, making it quiet and private. The room featured a double bed, sofa, small table and chairs, flat-screen TV and a kitchenette with stove-top, fridge, sink and microwave. All necessary kitchenware is included. There was a small wardrobe and the small bathroom was perfectly adequate. I was traveling solo, but the space could also accommodate a couple without being too cramped.

The place was very clean and service impeccable. Some have complained that there is not on-site staff, but they are very nearby and available by phone when you need them.

The location, next to the national art museum and a half-block off the Tjornin (small lake) means easy access to all points of the city. It's also convenient for bus and domestic plane service, and the IE bus service from Keflavik drops off at the door.

Room Tip: Go online and see the photos of the various room types. I prefer the efficiencies separate from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

these are self contained apts. central to the the sites. they are quiet and clean but no bargin. service was by buzzer only-there seemed to be no human being on site. the entryway was surrounded by small flies. there is a kitchen and food shopping nearby.
its a bit hard to find--on a small side street next door to the main art gallery of iceland.
there is free street parking on weekends.

Room Tip: always bring eyeshades to iceland in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Unusual review. The small flies hatch in the lake in front of the hotel early May and are only around for a couple of weeks. This was explained in a earlier reply. Also we are there 24/7 and meet most of our guests on arrival. The door phone is only needed when we are tending to other apartments and is used to ensure immediate check in for all guests. We also have 24/7 information service by phone. We have great ratings on TripAdvisor because of our service.
Sorry this guest saw us in such a different light

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $128 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing