We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Hotel is located about 25 minutes on ffot from the city center, across the street from the Hilton. Parking is free.
The hote boasts a more business-like atmosphere, but is suitable for everyone. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Breakfast is delicious with plenty to choose from.

Great Choice!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter123452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

Attending a conference and stayed for three nights at this hotel. Excellent service and very good quality hotel. Location is just outside thhe city centre but within a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride. The room was large , comfortable and quiet with excellent views of the city and the glaciers over the harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valentine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Just back from another visit to this great hotel in Iceland. It is in a great location for all attractions approx 20 mins walk into the clubbing area and hotel pick ups for tours is no hassle. Rooms are very nice from the standard to the executive.A little road noise in the standard room but it did not stop a good nights sleep. Breakfast is very good.Great selection to choose from eg cold meats, cooked bacon/sausage, fruit . This could cost you about £20 in some hotels but is included in the price at the Grand.The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to do what is needed.When we arrived at the hotel we had been booked into a standard room instead of an executive room by the travel agent,The hotel staff upgraded us at no extra charge to us with no hassle even though they had not been paid for the executive room.They will book tours for you at reception that can be added to your room account.The hotel restaurant has very nice food but if you just fancy a sandwich there is a Subway just a couple of mins walk from the hotel at the petrol station.Free wifi is provided in the reception area plus desk tops and printer for your use.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

In August 2010, I actually booked a room at another hotel (a budget, 3-star hotel). But that hotel overbooked their rooms, and after paying them their budget price, paid for me to spend the night here, at the Grand Hotel Reykjavik. So I didn't pay whatever the Grand Hotel's rates were, but boy, this is a nice hotel. Rooms are really nice, all the comforts you might need, staff very friendly and accomodating... breakfast is really good, there are 3 internet terminals in the lobby for people to use... the hotel advertises that they've cut down on elctomagnetic signals in the rooms... no complaints at all. I don't know how much these rooms typically go for, but if you get a decent price, just know that this is a really fine hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I was staying in this hotel on Aug 1 and Aug 9-13. I booked this hotel through Expedia because it offered a special rate at CAD$160(= 130 euro) per night. We checked in at 7:30am. One of our rooms was ready but the other was not. The front desk person quickly located another room for us so we could rest after our red-eye flight from North America. We were also invited to use their breakfast buffet even though it was technically included only for the next morning. On Aug 1, we got room 652 and 749 in the new tower. 749 got the street view but we could hear the noise from the traffic even though all windows were closed. The bathroom was quite large with a bath tub and separate shower area. On Aug 9-13, we got room 332 and 334 in the old low-rise building. Rooms in the new building and the old building have different decor. The bathrooms in the old building are bit smaller and the shower and tub share the same space. It seems that the rooms in the old building were recently renovated as the outside of the building has some noticeable tear and wear. Free WIFI is available in the lobby. However, we were able to access the free WIFI in the elevator lobby on the 3rd floor in the old building. This allowed me to sit outside the elevator lobby on the 3rd floor to use my laptop without going all the way down to the sitting area in the lobby. Also, the elevator lobby also provides a very good view of the atrium of the hotel lobby. There are also 3 computers for guests to use and many times they were occupied. Breakfast is standard with some hot items (wienners, quiche, scrambled egg, bacon, beans with tomato sauce), cold cuts, smoke salmon, fruits, crossiants, breads, cereals, yogurt, milk, coffee/tea and juice. However, it offered the same items every day during our stay and we started to get bored by them. Staffs are very friendly and offered to lend me an adaptor so I could charge my laptop. The hotel is about 15-30 min walk to the Centre and a taxi ride is about 15000-19000 ISK depending on the traffic. It is about 20 min walk to the Kringland shopping mall where you can shop, eat at the food court and get items from the supermarket. To walk to the Pearl, it takes around 30 min. A very large geothermal swimming pool with water slides are located behind the hotel about 15 min walk. I think admission for adult was 300 ISK. My recommendation is to bring your own towel to avoid the rental charge on towels. A convenience store is located at the N1 service station north-west of the hotel about 10-min walk. The cruise ship harbour is also close to the hotel and it is a nice walk along the harbour in the evening. FlyBus also drops off and picks up at Grand but you need to inform the front desk if you require pick up by FlyBus. Overall, it was a nice stay at Grand given the price we paid. If you want to get easy access to the shops, restaurants and nightlife in the Centre, this may not the best choice for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bimmer_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Average hotel and understandably, nothing stood out from service to rooms to food. It was a indiscriminate, last minute booking on our part. It is a bit of a walk (15-20 min) to city center and an even shorter taxi ride. The best part was proximity to the Hilton and therefore, the 5-star VOX restaurant- a gastronomic delight. Breakfast which was included at Grand was dismal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Great hotel about 15 minutes walk from centre of city. Good quality modern hotel with excellent public areas. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Hotel is very close to public baths and hot pool only 2 Euro entry. Hotel bike hire is a great way to get around the city. Avoid the hotel gymn as charge for single use is £20 per person.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandgrounderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,797 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,809 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,501 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $157 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing