We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly hotel located outside of the city centre of Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is located a bit outside of the city centre of Reykjavik, which cause the need of a taxi for transportation back and forth to the city centre/restaurants. The staff is on the average level with regard to service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gylfi G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Nicolai M,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback. I am surprised you found our team to be average as they are the key-factor in the success of the hotel. We are very proud of our employees and the hard work they do every single day.

I would appreciate further information on where you feel we are lacking in order for me to address the issue.

Please note that our hotel is conveniently located in a quiet area within 20 minute walk to the city centre. I do not think we advertise ourselves as a city centre hotel anywhere.

Kind Regards,

Gylfi Freyr
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Located just about 20 minutes from the port area of Reykjavik, this hotel was a good place to stay for a short break. The food in the restaurant was above average hotel food. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you are considering a trip to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel when windows open, the noise from the road was bad. I'd suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Booked a last minute trip to Iceland for Easter and stayed in the Grand Hotel. Reception staff were efficient and pleasant, and our room was ready early which is always a bonus. Bedrooms are a good size with plenty of storage space. Minor issue with getting the temperature right but I think that was down to us not figuring out the AC! Great wet room style bathroom - lovely to sink into a hot bath after a day sightseeing! Didn't try the spa however the gym has all you need.

Standard hotel breakfast (fruits, breads, cold meats and cheeses, bacon, eggs, pastries etc) - all very tasty. We had dinner in the bar one evening - not a huge selection, but the food is good. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the city centre - or you can take the slightly more scenic route which takes about 40 minutes - both are an easy, relatively flat walk (taxi costs about £10).

Iceland is expensive - but definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Located about 20 min walk from the port area of Reykjvik with fine views across the city this hotel is ideal for a short break. The hotel is very clean, good rooms and helpful staff.
There was no external or internal noise in the bedroom area which was really nice.

The breakfast was included in our stay, everything was well presented and while I could not fault what was on offer it was not as exciting as I would have expected from a 4* hotel. But the coffey was very acceptable by hotel standards.

We did not have dinner in the hotel as it was very expensive even by Iceland standards.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view, I could not fault our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very easy to find when travelling in from Keflavik Airport, just follow the Route 41 and onto the Route 40 and you can't miss it. Ample parking either at or below ground level. The reception is large and welcoming and the staff are friendly and speak excellent English (better than some English people!). The rooms are a good size, without being too large nor too small, we opted for the Executive Rooms as there is a decent view. There are the expected items (hairdryer, soaps, etc.) and the room has a fridge (which in a previous life was the mini-bar) which proved handy for the odd beer and cold water. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is a comprehensive buffet layout. There is something to suit all tastes and the selection includes both hot and cold food. The only problem in busy moments is the toaster, it's sited at the beginning and causes a fair queue of people waiting to get to the rest of the buffet. The food is good and plentiful, and the staff in the restaurant are really "on the ball" in keeping tables clear of used crockery and cutlery.
We tried the restaurant in the evening, and whilst some may say it is a little expensive, it was in our opinion, fine dining and the food was of excellent quality, both in presentation and taste.
The lobby can get busy during weekdays as like most hotels, it hosts seminars and the like, so delegates tend to all meet up for a few drinks. Bar prices are typical as most hotels, and the draught beer was for me a little disappointing.
Sleep quality was excellent thanks to the peace and quiet of being 12 floors up. Would we stay here again, most definitely yes.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in an executive room, we found it worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Reykjavik for two nights in March 2014. This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful country and it really does cross t's and dot i's.

The room was immaculate and contained some lovely design ideas: hardwood floors, stylish bathroom with large, moveable curved shower screens and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was lavish, varied and excellent.

A really nice touch was having a selection of snacks, sandwiches and drinks available to buy in the foyer. This made preparing for a light lunch while touring very easy and it's something I noticed in a few hotels while touring northern Europe.

The staff were all very helpful, if a little "stiff" and unsmiling by Australian standards, and spoke excellent English.

The "almost" in my title refers to the hotel's location. Being part of tour group I didn't have my own transport and I had wished I was closer to the centre of the the city. This hotel is a bit of a hike (about half an hour on foot) from the downtown area.

That reservation apart, I loved this hotel in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is a bit high end, located at the very end of laugarvegur, a mere 20 minutes walk from the very centre. Rooms spacious and nice, shower smells sulphur as expected, breakfast and lunch is excellent ! Basement gym so so but usable for the traveller who needs a morning run.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,786 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,461 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $166 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing