We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely public spaces, rooms a little cramped and short of storage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely public spaces, rooms a little cramped and short of storage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The public areas are excellent, very modern, clean and well looked after.
All of the staff (especially the reception team) were very capable and incredibly helpful even calling the local pizza house for us when we arrived late on the 1st night.
Rooms are very dark and difficult to get to right temperature and can become stuffy, beds were ok but not great.
Like others have said though the big downfall is the storage space, we had a family room for 3 and really struggled to store stuff especially as there are no drawers in the room other than a small bedside unit which just about stores the usual magazines you find in a tourist hotel.
I think even with 2 people the storage would be a problem, if the hotel can fix that then it would make a huge difference to guests staying for multiple nights.
The location is around 20 minutes direct walk to town and around 40 minutes for a brisk but breathtaking view walk along the coastal route.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18SCFC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    678
    260
    69
    27
See reviews for
261
662
79
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Despite booking months in advance, having prepaid and got confirmation etc. we arrived at Hotel Klettur only to be told that they were over booked (we weren't the only ones as we discovered). My husband had specifically chosen the Klettur because it was central and we didn't want to fork out on expensive taxi fares in an already expensive city. We were told that the Grand Hotel was the only viable alternative. I suspect that we (and several others were in the same boat) had been bumped in favour of a larger tour group.

To say we were hacked off was an understatement especially as this trip was a a special birthday treat.

However, I have to say that the Grand hotel, despite being further away was a nice hotel. We had a spacious tower room (although we had to move once more because of the door mechanism not working - not their fault the bad holiday elves must have had it in for us). The breakfast was ample and excellent and the front of desk staff very helpful when rebooking tours (because we were now in a different hotel) and recommending a restaurant that served vegetarian meals (Gol - v good). Just wished the hotel had been a bit closer down town.

Overbooking of hotels in the Reykjavik area seems to be common judging from reviews on Tripadvisor so check before flying.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room as soon rooms don't have exterior windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceri-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for a work meeting and everything was excellent! The staff was attentive, friendly, food was great. Meeting rooms were excellent. I absolutely recommend this hotel!!!! I had breakfast & lunch at the hotel, dinners were off-site but everything was top-notch!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Good hotel,rooms are good,if a bit small,not much wardrobe space and very limited drawer space if you are staying for longer than 3 days. We stayed 5nights and found the hotel to be warm and inviting,good public spaces,prices were not as bad as we expected,but Iceland is not a cheap destination. Breakfast is very good with lots of choices including an organic section. A full English breakfast is available,plus the usual fruit,yoghurt and cereal and a range of teas and coffees. The staff are courteous and helpful. The hotel is 15-20 min walk into town, if you want to take the ocean route it's more like 40 mins but a great walk. We arrived in the afternoon and decided to go from the airport straight to the Blue Lagoon,this was a great idea the combined price of the coach to the blue lagoon ,entrance to the lagoon and coach to our hotel worked out to £47 per person a good deal. We hired towels which were 400isk each. It will cost you 500isk to store each case ,if you have a small case or rucksack this will fit in the locker where you keep you clothes,so don't need to pay for storage. There are lots of places to visit whilst in Reykjavik ,we used ice limo luxury travel for our visit to golden circle plus south volcanoes ,fantastic and worth the extra we paid. We also did a quad bike experience with Safari quads called twin peaks,safety was paramount ,helmets,gloves and all in one suite included. Would definatley recommend the hotel and the trips we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Excellent, impressive hotel. Staff are very helpful and professional. The breakfasts are incredible, buffet style, 7.00 to 10.00. Selection of juices, coffees, teas, cereals, breads, waffles, rolls, dried fruits, fresh fruits, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, sausage, eggs, bacon, beans, tomatoes, porridge, soup, noodles as well as a selection of organic dishes.
The restaurant we did not try, 4 starters, 3 Mains and 4 desserts and the menu did not change in the 7 days we were there which I think is poor for this standard of hotel.
We had a "Superior" room with bath, over bath shower, toilet, double bed, dressing table, Fridge and (empty) mini bar, 2 chairs, 2 bedside tables with a drawer each, safe, FST TV, kettle and wardrobe. Very clean and functional.
BUT these rooms are NOT designed for a couple and their luggage staying 7 nights, NO WAY.
The drawer in the bedside tables are the ONLY drawers, the wardrobe can best be described as a single. Our underware filled the 2 drawers, trousers, jackets etc had to be doubled up on hangers or hung on backs of the chairs. Cameras and all the other paraphernalia went in the mini bar, everything else stayed in the suitcase.
The hotel itself is a gentle 20 minute stroll to the city centre, or 40 minutes if you go round the bay, a very pretty walk. There is a free shuttle at 9.00, 12.30 and 17.30 - one way only. A taxi is 2200 ISK about £13.
Can most definitely recommend this hotel for a 1 or 2 night stopover but think twice before booking for any longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFBATLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 nights here celebrating my wife's birthday and hopefully her most prized present would be seeing the Northern Lights.
This is a really nice hotel with very friendly and most helpful staff. The reception team on duty during our stay we're Zi Liu, Ellen and Neda and they were great, always ready to help guests especially with our frequent questions about our Northern Lights trip.
Our room was fantastic, clean, a great view, warm. Breakfast was good, plenty to eat, plentiful fresh coffee; set us both up for the day.
Every evening we went down for happy hour at 5pm (drinks half price pint and a wine and soda 1,000 Isks) bar staff very good.
There is a free bus into the City 3 times a day but we love walking and it took around 40 mins to walk down by the sea front to the harbour and around 25 to 30 when you took the more direct route into the City Centre.
Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel.
Oh and yes! We saw the Northern Lights at our second attempt! Magic!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Spent the weekend here with friends, rooms clean and spacious, about 15/20mins into the centre of Reykjavik. Reception first class, very informative and helpful. Book the trips from the reception
All prices are the same, and take in some of the trips, may seem expensive, but hey you are in Iceland ....everything is!!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms look onto the reception area, but that's not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendastark4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing