We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand designs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Grand is self acclaimed to be the largest hotel in Iceland determined by the number of bedrooms. Yes very clean and spacious but a bit clinical and impersonal. The rooms are best described as functional, not keen on the semi- wet room set up in the bathroom and it was pointless paying for a 'mountain view' with minimal daylight hours.
The Grand is about a £12 taxi ride into the centre of town but all tours have hotel pick up and drop offs included.
Service could have been better and I felt the hotel was a bit under staffed.

Room Tip: Take shampoo and shower gel as the wall mounted hotel soap dispensers are not good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is very nice and of a high standard though it is a little out the centre. If you have many arranged trips then this is not a problem but if you wish to be in Reykjavik every night then you would be better in the centre. Overall fantastic trip.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BillyM232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The reception staff could not have more helpful.As the ISK was not available to get in advance I emailed Thor at the Hotel who said euros would be okay to pay with. Not only did we pay with them we were able to use up our remaining ISK's, euros and sterling.Looking for somewhere to eat on Christmas Day again the staff were great. Only 1 flaw , the catering staff could find a personality! the only person with any conversation was the Chef on the passe, the others looked as tho they were made to be there on Christmas Day.
The Wifi was great and room was fabulous, the trips arranged by the staff exceptional.
The taxi to and from the airport was spot on also, arranged by Thor.

Room Tip: If you can stomach the heights ask for a room with a sea view and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACQUELINE199757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 19-22nd of December, the hotel is a little bit out of the city centre about 20-30min walk the hotel does run a bus three times a day to take you in to the city,you need to ask at reception for times.
the staff are very friendly and helpful, and are able to arrange any trips you need.
we had a room on the 6th floor the rooms are very spacious and modern with everything you could need.
the restaurant in the hotel does a very nice buffet lunch it's a bit pricey but then this is Iceland, they have all sorts of hot and cold foods and it is help yourself, the breakfast has a fantastic range of things and is also a buffet style they have something for every one you will not go hungry.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors as you get a better veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBMounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed in the Grand for three nights and had a very nice time. I received a complementary upgrade and could check-in early. My room was spacious, pleasant and very clean, with a fine view across the town. The location is a pleasant 15min walk along the waterfront from Harpa / downtown Reykjavik and close to my favourite pool. The hotel offers free WiFi in all rooms and reception lent me an adapter as I left mine at home. Very nice breakfast with lots of choices including organic options and even Soya milk (a first for me in a hotel!). Very helpful staff; thanks again to Joanna for making me a cup of tea and a sandwich when my pick-up to the airport was before breakfast time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights while we explored Reykjavik. The hotel is slightly out of the town centre but is about a 20 minute walk to a big shopping centre so we didn't mind. Our room was on the 5th floor and was big and modern, with a free safe which I thought was very helpful. The view from the room was great and overlooked the sea. Breakfast was good not an awful lot of choice but it set you up for the day. The staff at the hotel we vey helpful and could not do enough for us in organising our trips and checkin if eveything was up and running. We ate at the hotel on one night and had the evening buffet - I wouldn't do this as it was very expensive, you are better going out to eat.
All in all if I ever went back I would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyboo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

LOCATION
I wanted to stay in a spa hotel so booked this one as it was slightly more affordable and the rooms looked nicer. I was a bit worried after looking more closely at a map of Reykjavik that it was too far out, but while I was there I did walk into the city centre along the coast - lovely walk that took about half an hour but not much fun I'm strong wind and snow!

One great thing about the location is its proximity to Laugardalslaug swimming pool with the fantastic 40 degree hot tubs, perfect on a cold snowy day!

FOOD
Breakfast was excellent, a very small selection but very tasty and a good coffee machine to make cappuccino. Given the distance into the city centre I ended up eating at the hotel restaurant in the evenings, which if you look at the website you'll see isn't cheap. However, the food is excellent and the chef brings you an amuse-bouche, which was different each day. I strongly recommend the lamb and the cheese board.

ROOM
I had booked a room with a lobby view and was going to ask for a free upgrade but didn't bother when I arrived. However, after checking in and going to my room I must have been upgraded to an executive room with a good view over the city - you so get some traffic noise though from road sweepers.

The room was a decent size and very modern. Great bathroom with a rain shower, however I had to use the smaller shower in the room to get piping hot water. I was worried I'd be having cold showers but here's a tip: leave the shower running for a few minutes and bring the shower head down as low as is comfortable to get maximum heat. Although the room looked modern the wall paper was very tired and I didn't like the fact that the sheets didn't fit the bed properly so bare mattress was exposed - unhygienic. The floor could have done with better sweeping too.

FACILITIES
I didn't end up using the spa but it looked lovely and there was a very large size gym with good choice of equipment free for quests to use.

I would stay here again for the facilities and good quality room, however I think next time I go, especially if in winter, I'd prefer to be slightly more central - a taxi from the centre to the hotel is about 20,000KR minimum, so not cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London2Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,743 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,781 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,452 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $191 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing