We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Clean functional hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, friendly staff, clean rooms. Ask for a room not facing the lobby. Check your bill though, it was badly wrong when we checked out which was disappointing. We booked tours through reception which made life easy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    721
    269
    70
    29
See reviews for
278
696
85
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice hotel, convenient for town. Rooms spacious, very clean and very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful to a point, not very forthcoming, don't know if that's just the icelandic way ??? Our shower wasn't working nor the shower over the bath, we had to get the chambermaid to have a go at getting it to work and then call reception to have them fixed. I'm sorry but I think the chambermaid would have known what was working and what wasn't last time it was cleaned. For neither to work was a bit much. The fridge in my parents room didn't work either, we were told they had moved the mini bar to the lobby but they were still advertising fridges in rooms when we booked.
We had breakfast and there was lots of choice, need to work on the scrambled eggs. We ate in the bar area twice and really not up to speed, nice fresh bread but chicken in the sandwich so overcooked as to be almost inedible, just not very inspiring for the money. I know Iceland is expensive but it wasn't what I expected for a hotel of this calibre.
It would be my take on Iceland in general, you know it's expensive but while the ambience is great, the staff friendly and out to please the food just doesn't come up to speed for the price so no matter how they try to make a nice experience the basic part i.e. the food lets them and you down. Shame, it's an interesting place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is located about a 10minute walk form the main shopping street in Reykjavik. The lobby is spacious with plenty of comfy couches and nice design features. The staff on reception were fantastic during our stay helping us with last minute requests to book sight seeing trips, or the complementary taxi the hotel offers into the town friendly and efficient. Easily the best feature this hotel has to offer. Our room when we checked in was more than big enough with a great view for a 3rd floor room. The room like the rest of the hotel was clean but just a little shabby around the edges. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range on offer. Over all this is a great hotel with just a little work on the finer details in the rooms needed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronEMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Its a good time to go to Iceland and if you do the Grand Hotel is a great place to stay. It is a short walk to the center of Reykjavik ware there are good clubs restaurants and bars. If you go the other way and walk round the back of the hotel there is a very big sports center with indoor and an outdoor pool please please go to the outdoor pool especially if it is cold or snowing . The pool is hot and is surrounded by small pools at varying temperatures. We went when there was about 2 feet of snow and it was so much fun going down a cold tube into a hot pool. Take your own towel and it will cost just a couple pounds . There is a very good Chinese café near the hotel , Nings its has no MSG and is inexpensive . This time of year you even see the Northern Lights but if you go in the summer go whale watching. Have fun, we have several times

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duncan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I agree with the reviewer who would have liked more toiletries in the bathroom or at least I would have liked to be forewarned to bring my own. But everything else was fine. The city is so compact that the location is not a problem. The rooms are clean and the beds are much more comfortable and less squishy than they appear at first glance. Breakfast was good and well organized for the high numbers. Staff are friendly

Room Tip: Floor 9 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand hotel during our vacation in August, which was included as part of an Icelandair travel package. I enjoyed it so much I decided to stay here again when I visited Iceland again a second time in October (lucky me!). Here are the reasons why I like this hotel:
1). The hotel is not small so there are several staff that man the front desk throughout the day. However, they are friendly and provide good service. The lobby is great (bright and open with loads of comfy seating)!
2). The rooms are clean! I have no complaints there - the bathroom was pretty big (it had a tub) and no sulphur smells in the water, which is not uncommon throughout Iceland. (The water is drinkable and clean, just use only the cold water tap if filling your water botles).
3). Location. I was concerned after reading several reviews about the location being far away from the main shopping area on Laugavegur. Yes, it is an ~25 minute walk but we did not mind it plus it was not the only way to get downtown. The hotel offers a shuttle three times a day and if you miss that there are the city buses. For the latter, I recommend using the bus stop near the Laugavegur and Kringlumyrarbraut intersection instead of the one opposite the hotel (there is a fence in the median that makes this inconvenient to get to plus there are several more buses that pass along Laugavegur all of which will take you downtown). The hotel is also a ten minute walking distance to Laugardalslaug for swimming. Lastly, the hotel is a main stop for the tour buses with no fuss pickups and congested streets to worry about (easy in, easy out).
4). The hotel has a very good breakfast buffet as they offer many additional items above the standard breakfasts that are found at many hotels. I'd think twice again about the dinner buffet as there are better values that can be had elsewhere.
5). The hotel is on the pricey side so keep an eye out on promotions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kreuz_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tourist trip for a 3 night stay - had a room overlooking the lobby - a bit strange but definitely quiet. Took me a while to work out how to get the shower to work - can't understand why there isn't a standard way to get these things to work. Breakfast I thought was good and the dinner menu was fair - plus they have a 2 for 1 happy hour in the early evening.
Does everything to a reasonable standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myalterego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,292 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,006 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing