We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 11, 2013

To determine how good a hotel is I have two main indicators that is the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the bathroom. On both these counts my expectations were exceeded.
Overall the whole experience was very good and my room was clean and spacious.

Room Tip: The eighth floor was good for me and I was not near a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Grand is a bit pricey therefore draws a business traveller as well as tours, expect it to be crowded and busy. The rooms are fine, clean and comfortable, nothing special

The room doors buzz if not closed properly no one tells you this though - its a nuisance. Lovely breakfast , but not within walking distance it's a bit out of the centre and as I usually end up in these places alone - I d prefer a more central hotel

I found the staff helpful

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank MandyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel offers a wide choise for breakfast, there is everything you are searching for. the rooms are large enough, clean and comfortable. You can use the curtains to get the room dark-you will need this because it does not get dark in the evening :) You have to pay extra for wellness....On the other hand I would recommend not to stay in the capital, but somewhere else in the "wild" of Iceland because the attractions can be found out of town!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneekkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a lovely stay in Grand Hotel - lovely breakfast and the SPA was fantastic. Situated in walking distance to town (45 minutes in a nice area). Taxi costs ISL kr 2.000.
Large room with excellent beds, quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariljoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Grand Hotel is a clean, high-end hotel with an expansive breakfast buffet and a staff whose devotion to customer service is a mixed bag. Some of the clerks were quite attentive and helpful; one was snooty and downright dismissive. It's *expensive*, and it seemed as though many of the customers were there on business, so if your company is paying for you to go, this would be an excellent choice. But our room was $500/night, and this was a vacation, so while I can't say we were ripped off, I will say that the final bill was unpleasantly high. We got a lot of exercise walking to and from the downtown, so its location was good in that regard. But if you want to be in the heart of the city, this isn't your best bet.

Overall, this was a good but pricey choice.

Room Tip: Reserve your room as early as possible! We waited too long and had to pick a rather expensive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonVivant710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is not in the "new downtown walking distance from historical centre". It is far away, at least half an hour walk in an uninteresting area. Rooms are standard, Ramada style pretending to be "scandinavian".
It is beside a freeway so expect noise until late.
Service is poor and reception-concierge gets tired easily of your questions.
Expect crowds everywhere.
We were rudely treated in the restaurant, made a complaint and nobody called to give an explanation.
If somebody still insists on staying in this area, try the Hilton Nordica across the street. It seems to be a better managed hotel.

Room Tip: Take care because the noise of the road is constant in the Main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlupo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want to explore Iceland then don't base yourself soley in Reykjavic. By all means visit it for 2/3 days for the Golden Circle tour & Blue Lagoon but we felt a little confined to the Southwest. The hotel was OK, not 4star. Fridge didn't work (despite us asking to fix it - would have been handy for storing our pack lunches etc for the trips). Room was stuffy even with all the heating turned off and if we opened the window the traffic was very noisy so none of us slept too well. About 20 min walk into the town centre, or they have a shuttle bus 3 times a day but prob wouldn't fit in with your schedule. Staff were friendly enough but we kept having to remind them of little things that were forgotton. Would stay in B&B's next time and traveller round much more. The Icelanders seemed very pleasant people and even the most basic of cafes served deliciously fresh food so no need for the big hotels.

Room Tip: The front rooms are very noisy and stuffy but have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iCarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,927 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $193 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing