We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and most enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and most enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I with my sister and her husband booked The Grand Hotel in Reykjavik and what a pleasant surprise to have a friendly face on reception to greet us on arrival. The rooms were spotless and well fitted. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of food. Perhaps the plates for hot food could be warm though ! Evenings were spent in the large bar which served an excellent choice of hot or cold meals. Not to be missed is the happy hour as drinks in Iceland are not cheap. Special thanks to the staff at the reception and bar area and in particular Natascha who made our stay most enjoyable with her pleasant and business like attitude. She will go far in her hotel career.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    735
    273
    69
    30
See reviews for
290
702
85
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent hotel, with great breakfast. Rooms are clean and bright, try to get a high floor with views! Staff is incredibly nice and helpful. Gym is very good and not many hotels in Iceland have them. Only negative is its a 20 minute walk into town or a cab ride away.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed twice on our trip around Iceland, one night at the beginning and two at the end of our trip
Both times our room was very comfortable with every thing you would expect in a four star hotel. Breakfast was very good except for the last morning when we had an early start and had trouble finding a table with the early morning rush. The foyer of the hotel has a great ambience with both a waterfall and a fire! We enjoyed half price drinks at the bar in the foyer followed by a meal in the bistro. Food was great for the price and the staff wonderful. Could not fault the staff of the hotel, very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is the doonas - why when the room is insulated and it is summer? Also, it is a long walk to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the lower floors fronting the hotel as you will be woken early with the tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 976 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a shame - so much money invested. 1) It is too far away from the town centre 2) It is a minimalist - menus are the bare minimum, service is just under the minimum, the internet is a joke even if you waste money buying time, the towels are bare and small, the rooms are basic..... 3) It is a tour coach style hotel for those who only come to Iceland once and don't really want to be part of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RetiredWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I just returned from a trip to Iceland. We spent 8 out of 10 days at The Grand Hotel Reykjavik. We are so happy we decided to stay at this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with really nice amenities. Our accommodations were comfortable and very clean. The staff was very nice, polite and always willing to help with tours, transportation and dinner reservations. We had breakfast there each day as it was included in the price. Breakfast was terrific. It was a large buffet with lots of variety. Most tour companies will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel and taxis are easily available so there is no need to rent a car. The Grand Hotel Reykjavik was a great place to stay.It was easy, efficient, comfortable and stress-free; a real vacation! Kudos to Maru and Thor for their extra effort in making our stay special. I would highly recommend Thee Grand Hotel Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If your travel group is 5 or more, consider staying in the three bedroom apartment. It is a nice si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barblz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Barblz,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Reykjavik and writing such a nice review. We are so happy and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our hotel to be beautiful, comfortable and clean. Our staff was delighted to hear your lovely comments. We always strive to offer great service and accommodation to all our guests and we are glad that we have succeeded with your family. I want to thank you for pointing out that you found our 3 bedroom appartment confortable for your family and that our hotel was stress-free, efficient and easy.
If you are ever back in Reykjavik, we would like to welcome you and your family to stay with us again.
I want to personally thank you for your lovely comment and I will make sure to tell Thor when he returns from his holiday . It has been our pleasure to assist you and make your stay a very special one.

Yours sincerely,

Maru Alemán
maru@grand.is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Iceland was unexpectedly cold and rainy in July. The hotel itself was nice and modern. The family room was big and roomy enough for four or five people. It also had eating space and a place to cook. The bathroom was recently updated. My only complaint is that the ceiling has lots of water damage which I'm sure is unavoidable in the climate; the walls were scratched and the heating worked off of steam with an old school dial to control the temperature.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 6 nights and had a very nice stay. The personnel in the reception was very service minded and assisted us very well to make our bookings of day trips and car rental. Location was super for us that enjoy walking to and from town. Lobby is nice and friendly. Breakfast is good, could be a bit crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esvaStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,648 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,746 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,045 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing