We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Park Hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabin(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Island(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
22 Hill Hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Klettur(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,839)
Filter reviews
1,839 results
Traveler rating
611
820
301
73
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
820
301
73
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centremiso souplovely hotelfree shuttleshuttle servicebusiness hotelminute walklobby bartaxi ridehappy hourbreakfast buffetlarge hotelexecutive roomnorthern lightsthe hotel offersreception staffblue lagoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,313 - 1,318 of 1,839 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a 4 night stop here whilst taking part in the midnight sunrun and hiking trip. Arrived early, our room was ready so could go straight in. Room a good size for 3 adults, extra bed put in and very clean, excellent bathroom. The hotel was slightly further out of downtown Reykavic than expected. Plenty of free parking. It does overlook a busy road so some traffic noise when in the facing rooms. Breakfast very good, but would advise arriving no later than 9..15 as they seem to stop refilling and you may be left with the remnents. Staff very helpful, Reception area spacious and bright with wi fi, bar and cafe. We didnt eat in the restaurant.
We didnt manage to source a brilliant rate, but overall very goos

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

After booking and paying for this in January we had two nights booked after spending the 1st night of our trip on floor 2 and with the noise of the Atrium when checking out i asked for our last night at the end of our trip away from this as our daughter 13 was with us. Arrived on the 27th to be booked into Floor 1 next to the Atrium, arrived no extra bed, went to reception and was greeted with rudeness from a blond guy with a beard who spoke to me like i was totally stupid to even ask. As we were leaving at 3.30 a.m we wanted to go to bed early. SIX yes SIX hours later after two calls to reception and now 8.30 a guy arrived with a COT i told him the child is 13 - already confirmed with reception TWICE, he went away and then wheeled in a bed and left. My husband and i moved their furniture to fit the Bed in and then we spent the next 5 hours under pillows trying to get the noise level down. Totally ruined our last day/night as we had an 18 hour trip home the next day - this is the WORST hotel i have ever stayed in and if you have kids AVOID as well as floor 1 and 2 - we had stayed in 2** 3*** and this alledged 4*** FORGET IT! Disgraceful treatment and at the price - we were so angry but the incredibly rude guy on reception was the limit...

Room Tip: Avoid anywhere near the atrium
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Arriving early at 9am we were upgraded to a junior suite, even though we had booked through an online site which doesn't normally allow upgrades. The atrium with Ragnarok artwork and a little waterfall is beautiful. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable and booked any tours we requested easily.
Location is ideal. About 20 minutes walk to downtown along the main shopping street or 30 along the seawall. 10 minutes walk to Kringlan which is a big indoor mall. Within 5 minutes walk are a 24 hour store, a pharmacy and 7-8 restaurants if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
Also within 5 min walk is a big park with a petting zoo, skating arena, and the biggest geothermal pool. One of us did a 5k run there.
The thing about the Grand is its environmental policy. Multiple measures are in place.
It was under construction in the restaurant area but they were nice about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drncc1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear drncc1701,

Thank you so much for your feedback at Grand Hotel Reykjavík. When I shared your comments with the reception staff they glowed with delight. We are glad to see you took the time to familiarize with the Ragnarok Artwork. Our Restaurant has officially finish renovation, but our conference lobby its being completely refurbished. We are very happy to see that you took note of our environmental policy and that you enjoyed the surrounding facilities.

We do hope you will return someday, and thank you for your thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had booked our room in January and PAID for it...then when we arrived the Family room was not available....staff was rude and not helpful....after much complaining, we finally got a room with 3 beds...it was very unfortunate and started our stay on a very unhappy note...the hotel was average...we didn't eat there except for our breakfasts...lots of bus tours, and if you didn't go early, there was a number of empty plates....which were not refilled. The hotel was clean, the lobby was lovely...I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: After we were unable to get the room we paid for..they told us there were no other rooms available...however, they did find us one...on the 4th floor with a view of the parking lot....
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maiden1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Maiden1953,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing your stay with us at Grand Hotel Reykjavik. We value all the opinions of our guests and we take them very seriously. We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate start. We are in constant improvement of our services and we thank you for your feedback.
We have few types of family rooms and We of course try to accommodate our guests in those rooms that we think they will feel more comfortable. The room we had originally allocated for you, was especially chosen with the duration of your stay in mind. Seeing as you were staying for so many nights we chose a room with a kitchenette. I am happy to hear though that your complaint was resolved and I was informed that we were able to come up with 3 different options for you and we sent up a bottle of wine for all the inconvenience that you may have endured
If you would have the time to elaborate on how the reception staff failed you, please send me an email, unfortunately I can’t put my email here, but do contact us . That information is very valuable to us to identify the problem and address it.

We are sorry to hear that your experience in the breakfast was not how it should be. Our policy demands that a new plate should be ready when a plate is half. During our busiest time of the year we do have many buses leaving on tours at the same time which creates pressure on our breakfast buffet. I have talked to restaurant management about this situation, and have been assured that all measures are taken to improve the service. We now have open 2 more rooms during peak hours to guarantee an excellent service

I am glad to hear that you were happy with the cleanliness of our rooms and the architecture of the lobby. We hope someday you will give us another chance to have the experience we mean to provide to our guests.

Best regards,

Maria Aleman
maru@grand.is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lovely hotel in a beautiful city. The lobby was beautiful and a lovely place to relax. Rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Drinks and meals in the restaurant were expensive and we found better places to eat elsewhere, although breakfast was worth having and very good. Nice walk into the main part of the city but could be a little far for some. Iceland was amazing and the tour buses pick up and drop off at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolablunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Nicolablunt,
Thank you so much for reviewing our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a good time in Iceland and that you found the size of the rooms to be good and comfortable. We are indeed about 3 km away from downtown Reykjavík, but only 5 minutes walk to the biggest recreational area in Reykjavik which includes the Botanical Gardens, family zoo, the Biggest outdoor swimming pool of Reykjavík as well as Iceland´s national stadium.We also offer a free shuttle to downtown Reykjavík 3 times a day as well as renting out Bikes to those who enjoy a greener mode of transport.
It’s good to hear that you liked our breakfast, but sorry to hear our restaurant prices were too high. We try to keep our prices competitive with other 4 star hotels in the area, but we will certainly note your concerns. I do hope you took advantage of our Happy hour in the Reception that starts from 17:00-19:00 every day.
Again, thank you for your feedback and hope we will see you soon in Reykjavík again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews