We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel (Executive Wing)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel (Executive Wing)”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very nice and clean. The lobby bar was expensive. We'd stayed on the new wing but since we were on the 3rd floor, there wasn't much of a view. The bathroom has a glass shower door that swing back and forth (a design that I've never seen before). Also, it has a water heated rack for drying laundry and towel (Iceland has abundance of natural hot water). It is situated in a quiet neighborhood and about a 25 minute leisure walk to the restaurant area. We had visited in late May and the sun was still up at 10 pm when we walked back to the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leosja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    735
    273
    69
    30
See reviews for
290
702
85
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed there the first night of our tour of Iceland. Fantastic hotel. Very clean, good gym, great breakfast, super-friendly staff. We have one more night there on the way out and I'm looking forward to it (although not to the end of our Iceland trip - this country is amazing).

One star detracted because my room faced the lobby which meant that I could hear the staff chatting late at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnocchi4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were recently at this hotel for in total 4 nights - we were travelling as a couple. It is a very popular hotel for tour groups and there were at least 3 bus loads every night. This led to problems - the breakfast buffet in the morning is a zoo - they all need to leave a certain time and if you need to also to pick up a rental car or catch a flight you are there at the same time. We ended up asking people at large tables if two chairs were free for us to sit and eat as the tour groups took up all the small tables of 2 and 4 and talked to people at other tables. At other hotels they had assigned areas for the tour groups to sit - so we could get a small table for the two of us - not at this hotel. Also getting coffee and even water were issues as the we watched the tour groups filling their thermoses and water bottles with the ones on the buffet.

The hotel is about a 20 minute to 30 minute easy walk to the center of town. Our room was comfy and clean - it overlooked the lobby - and was quiet except for one night when one of the tour groups was in the bar under our room. Although I liked the location and the hotel itself I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Western70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A pretty good hotel on the edge of the city. Rooms are plain, but functional, and conference facilities are excellent. Front desk staff really helpful. Probably a better hotel for business than for tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This really is a hotel to recommend. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the reception area comfortable and spacious. There was a bistro and a bar close to the reception, so you could choose between dining there or in the elegant restaurant.
There were quiet spots around on the different floors, where we could sit and chat before retiring to our rooms. The rooms we had were quite nice, though I've seen better.
The location is a bit outside Reykjavik, but with a free transport, there was no problem getting to the center.
We got around to see all the sights, and buses or vans picked us up right outside the hotel door, which was really convenient.

Room Tip: I heard the view is excellent from rooms on higher level. Mine, on 3rd floor, was no more than okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLH190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in April 2013. The staff were very nice but the head waiter for dinner was just so good. We are travelling a lot and this is one of the various hotels we have stayed in the just worked and nothing was outstanding other than the staff. The only disappointment really we they said we could have breakfast with our early start for the airport but there was nothing there! Including staff. It is sold as a central location but it is out of the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadbysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for four days in May and it was amazing!

Check-in was really fast and staff super nice. Our room was one the 11th floor, so we had amazing views. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathroom also very spacious and has a seperate shower and bathtub. We visited the spa on the first day and it is not big, but really calming and relaxing, great sauna, steamroom and jacuzzis!

Breakfast is from 6 to 10 and really extensive with different types of bread, cereal, juices etc. they even have an organic breakfast.

Reception is helpful and can book the tours for you.

We rented the bikes for one day and went to the city centre. Reception can also call you a cab, but that is quite expensive or you can walk (15 min).

I would certainly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the highest levels, great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkehb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,646 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,746 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,045 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing