We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the edge of town but still give it a go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Llanfair Caereinion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“On the edge of town but still give it a go”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is about 3 kilometers to the centre of downtown Reykjavik but there is a free shuttle service during the day ( but book it at reception) although it only goes INTO town and not back. Taxis back are about 2000Kr but hey ho, the bus was free.

The room was great and we didn't mind the lobby view as it did give us a WiFi connection from the lobby which is free - inside the room you pay a premium.

The breakfast was great - enough choice for most with cereal, scrambled egg, boiled egg, bacon, small sausages, cheeses, ham, pastrami, breads and fruit.

Reception staff were great too and helped out whenever asked. The lobby bar has a happy hour from 5pm till 7pm. This is good, as most alcohol in Iceland is dead expensive so any chance of getting it at half price is worth it.

We did note on Hotels.com that it had a sauna but this was quite expensive if you decided to use it.

We'll probably stay closer to town next time, but it was good to have a sea front walk from town to the hotel and to see all the scenery and art works along the route - something we'd have missed if we were staying in town.

Room Tip: Don't be bothered about a sea view or not, you'll see the scenery whenever you leave the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denerobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    722
    269
    70
    29
See reviews for
278
696
85
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The name of the hotel is grander than actually the hotel is. Although the rooms are nicely designed they are in no way special. There not even some moisturizer (just on the wall soap). I particularly disliked not to be able to open the window - in the end I found a switch to open at least a small top window. Internet was a little shaky and re-connecting a mess. I missed part of an important online meeting thanks to that. The hotel is located near absolutely nothing, so either you have a car or you like to walk a lot along not so nice streets. Breakfast was ok - nice organic stuff. In a nutshell, if you have no good reason to stay there, look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved this hotel! We took the chance to stay in Iceland for a few days on the way to somewhere else and we are so glad we did. The hotel staff was friendly - full of suggestions for dinner and things to do and even made reservations for us. The complimentary breakfast was nice (however, we didn't know where it was or what time it ended on the first morning we were there and just missed it when we came downstairs). The location was pretty perfect for us - a bit far from the downtown city, but that was okay with us. We could walk to a number of places. We were there over Easter and when we came back to our room, housekeeping had left a chocolate Easter display in our room - really was a nice surprise to come back to our room. This was very thoughtful of the hotel. The bed was AMAZING! We slept great. The bathtub was deep (perfect) and the view was great. Overall, this hotel was awesome! You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binkers441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

First impression on entering the large foyer / reception area is very positive. Airy and spacious. Comfortable sofas make it a friendly area. Casual dining in one area and efficient friendly reception ahead. Good colour and light.
However, on entering our room on the 8th floor of the tower we were a tad disappointed. The windows were really dirty as we looked into the sunset. We appreciate the difficulty of keeping the glass clean in inclement weather but it's disappointing for the visitor to see this view. The street noise was exaggerated by the Winter studs in the tyres.
The room itself was very basic lacking any colour and so felt austere. The bed was comfortable and the room well cleaned.The wet room/bathroom is never our choice.
We stayed as part of an escorted group and therefore the distance into the centre wasn't a problem. We enjoyed the walk along the prom to the Fishing Harbour. Less able bodies might find the location too far from town.

Room Tip: Room on high floor in tower facing outwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Iceland and will definitely be returning in the not too distant future. I chose this hotel from the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The room and facilities were great as were the meals (we tried breakfast, lunch and dinner and all excellent). The staff were extremely helpful (and taught me one phrase in Icelandic).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil28811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Located 20 minutes walk from town centre - nevertheless still convenient for a number of local attractions including fantastic outdoor pool complex.

Room clean, good sized and well appointed.

Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything went right in Iceland. Spectacular Aurora night, six whales the next day, splendid food all through. And the family all in one place! We stayed in Grand Hotel and, barring a few niggles, were generally happy with our stay. We took two superior outer-facing rooms in what I take is the newer wing. Our rooms were all in light wood, excellent rain shower (though the floor did get a bit wet), comfortable beds. The staff were uniformly helpful and pro-active in answering our many questions and finding solutions for us. They booked some of the tours, called taxis, changed money -- all with a smile. We bought the 10euro for 24 hours package for room wi-fi and it worked very well when we were in (which was infrequently!)
If there was one aspect of the hotel which disappointed it was the food. Wish we had known that the restaurant and kitchens were being renovated. Breakfast was served but probably outsourced, becaused the hot cooked dishes were dry and tasteless, and felt as if they had been made hours and hours ago. Every day, the location changed -- exciting if you're on a treasure hunt, not so good if you're rushing to catch a tour or your flight! Good selection of breads and cereals. Limited fresh fruits, limited cheeses. And the same menu for all the five days we were there. The one night when we dined in, the menu was really limited, they were not expecting hotel guests -- apart from the tour groups -- so service was poor. But dinner was freshly cooked despite being made in a makeshift kitchen behind the reception!
We all felt our stay was value for money (got a good rate on otel.com), given the size of our rooms, the good bathrooms, comfortable beds, ample storage space. An important point: all tour buses and the airport shuttle have Grand Hotel as a major stop, they don't always stop at every hotel and you may have to make your own way from certain central points. Helps when you are booking local tours as senior citizens or if you take airport shuttle with luggage. It is a little away from the central part of town, an easy walk of about 25 minutes at medium pace and for four of us a taxi was economical, we always paid between 2000 and 2500 ISK. The hotel shuttle drops one only where the town starts near the Harpa concert hall. If I do go back to Iceland, which I very much want to, I probably would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors facing the atrium lobby are a bit freaky as visitors can look directly into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manjusriKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,558 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,726 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,010 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing