We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand is Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
BC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Grand is Grand”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for 2 nights on our arival in Iceland and 2 nights on our last 2 nights.
I cant say enough about this Hotel. The staff where very friendly and Helpful. The room was very nice, clean and with a great view of the water and mountains.
You wont find a better breakfast in my opinion as they cater to all ethnic food types.
I would highly recommend staying at the Grand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    725
    270
    69
    29
See reviews for
283
698
85
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were originally booked into a different hotel but were 'upgraded' to this hotel due to overbooking. The hotel was a little further from downtown than we would have liked but the room was lovely and the hotel itself was very nice. We had a few issues getting the room key to work and when we were in, we found we had a twin room and not a double as booked, but reception were very helpful and sorted things out very quickly. The room was excellent, nice view, very spacious and a large bathroom with separate bath and huge shower.
Breakfast was basic but plentiful and the breakfast crew were very efficient - the coffee pots arrived almost invisibly!
It was a 30 minute walk to downtown and the harbour but the hotel do offer a shuttle bus a few times a day - one way only, but it does save the walk if you want to use it.
Happy hour in the lounge bar from 5-7 was a nice treat as we often came back around that time from our trips!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite for 5 days n Feb 2013. Excellent room, clean, huge bed, nice view, large bathroom with seperate shower and whirlpool corner bath. The breakfast was average, and the lunch we had was poor to average. The hotel is refurbishing the restaurant at this time so this may have affected the running of the kitchen. We did not have dinner at the hotel as we didn't think the other meals were that great. I do agree with other reviews that a lot of the staff could use a training course, I don't think that they were being slow on purpose - I think that they didn't know how to help or how to do thier jobs (lack of training). The reception staff were helpfull for booking tours and recommending restaurants. Nice spa and good massage - just wish the spa would inform guests on spa etiquette, there was 2 noisy groups of people in the spa area while were there. So noisy as to make it hard to relax during a massage. Nice gym.

Room Tip: ask for room in the tower and high up, if possible get a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam1hes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have visited many hotels and i am really well travelled and never before have I come across such gormless unhelpful staff than at this hotel!! After specifically asking them for a nice room with a mountain view of which they had agreed to over email a week previously, they put us in a room which was noisy and right next to a motorway. This was a special occasion (my husbands 40th) and on asking them to be moved they told us they were fully booked and were unhelpful...fully booked is not my problem! They didnt apologise but simply looked at us with blank faces as if to say what is your problem (when we asked to be moved the following morning after no sleep). Be warned there is no double glazing on the hotel windows and the motorway side is very noisy! Rooms were not made until after 2pm (i find that slack and there is no urgency) and the bar staff didn't have a drinks menu unless you specifically asked. They didn't sell wine by that glass thinking that visitors were stupid enough to buy their expensive overpriced wine prices and the staff have an attitude problem. When we hired a car we told them we wanted the paperwork dealt with at the hotel and instead we had to be driven to the car hire to sort it there wasting our valuable time on the rental day. The attitude is nonchelent, couldn't care a less style...lacking in experience rude and a general demeanour of 'whatever' with no concern.. I wouldn't return purely for that reason. It's a shame because the breakfast buffet is nice, the rooms are clean and nicely finished but the staff absolutely let this hotel down. Just remember Grand Hotel Reykevik the customer is important infact they are your life blood and if you don't treat them as your competitors do you will loose. No return visit for me and no recommendations on this hotel purely because of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller012345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

clean and nice hotel, but the location is not good. I think they have a shuttle to 101, but we did not use it because we had a car. The hotel is nice and clean, rooms are big and breakfast is great, but the location.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on level 9, and the view outside was lovely. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Plenty of hot/cold choices at breakfast. We didn't try the restaurant as the menu wasn't very extensive and seemed quite pricey. The room service menu, although less fancy, was really very good. I would recommend it, especially if you didn't fancy the trek into town for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syh104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stressing like others how helpful the staff are with many good recommendations for restaurants, trips etc.. Our room in the tower on the 9th floor had a good view over the bay and of the city, was well equiped and had a big bathroom. Restarant and breakfast good. And for those that the city is too far, there are several eating places just passed the Hilton abt 300 mtrs away.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyueber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,600 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,733 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,031 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Property: Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing