We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With small things fixed this could be wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is situated a short taxi ride from the shopping streets of Reykjavik ( or You can walk ). Hotel has renovated most of its rooms but they still have some that have not gone through that process. Some rooms are faxing the lobby area and others are facing the streets. I was staying 3 nights at the hotel and had some problems from the start but most of them were fixed after i reported them to reception. My room was on the third floor facing the lobby. In the evening i noticed that the noise from the lobby gots to the room more than i would have thought. Same thing was heard from my friends who had a room to the streets. Hotel has a revolving door but the door is not that bog so when people are pulling their suitcases the doors gets stuck very easy. I used the normal doors on the side and had no problems. Lobby had some big red leathersofas and chairs, a bar and a shop opposite the reception desk. Lots of brochures are available in the lobby so it was very easy to get all possible information of tours and shopping in iceland and the reykjavik area. Hotel also has a small spa which is small but very relaxing. The checkin was was ok, went quite quick. The rooms have 5 different categories and some have bathtub, some showers and some both. Most of the rooms have been renovated and have wooden floors (old ones have carpets but they look very dirty and worn so i do not advise anyone to use those rooms). Rooms have a safety deposit box and a well stocked minibar, desk, reading light, one or two beds ( or family room 3 beds) depending of the room. I would like to remind You that You can drink tapwater in iceland and it is really cold and delicious. Here is a short list of my problems: 1.the previous client had locked the safe so i had to ask maintenance to open it. 2. bathroom light was broken, 3. there was no toiletroll holder in the bathroom, 4. someone had taken the plug from the tub so i could only take showers before this was fixed. Then also i would expect that a 4 star hotel would have hairconditioner and other amenities but they only had a bog container in the wall that had bodywash/ shampoo. The hotel staff was very helpful and all the other problems got fixed but not the toiletroll holder ( the rolls got wet because of this problem. Breakfast was ok, breads, cheeses, fruits, vegetables,coldcuts, cereal, good variation of juices and excellent coffee. Also omelet, bacon, beans, tomatoes etc. I could stay at this hotel again but will propably try something else next time trying to find a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask a room as high as possible, that way less noise and better views from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We arrived early after a transatlantic flight, and had not booked a room for the night just finishing. We had done this on a previous trip and they had found a room within 10 minutes. This time, there was a Christmas party the night before and the hotel was packed. They let us stay in the lobby (3 sleeping children), eat breakfast in the buffet, gave us passes to the spa, and made sure that our room would be cleaned first. They kept us updated as to how things were progressing.
The room was lovely, breakfast plentiful and tasty, spa beautiful, staff kind, friendly helpful.

Room Tip: One of the few hotels where we could have all 3 children in the room with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just had a really good weekend staying at this hotel as the base and couldn't fault it. We found all the staff really pleasant and helpful. The room was was and had everything you need, like someone else said sometimes the water does take a while to get hot but that's about it. It is a little way out of the centre, we were on lots of excursions so it didn't make too much difference and the hotel does run a shuttle bus into the centre through the day. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and it was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giveup52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at The Grand and has a throughly pleasant stay.

When we arrived, there was a bit of chaos with some of our trips which we had booked before leaving the UK had to be changed due to very bad weather that Iceland were had just had, hence rough seas etc. The reception staff were only too happy to help and contact Grayline for us and change all our bookings.

Bar staff and waiters were very friendly, even got to know us and had a joke with us.

I would say the only downfall to this hotel is being so far from the centre, approx a 20 minute walk, because the weather was changing so often, it was very hard to know what to wear if you walked into the centre, you could leave the hotel in glorious sunshine and it could be heavy rain by the time we got into the centre. Huge dilemma for a woman!!!!!

We found that the walk along the coast road into the centre was fair more enjoyable than the walk down the main road. The views out over the mountains were fabulous.

Our room was on the 6th floor, with views out over the mountains, was fairly spacious, we had an executive room so was larger than others, flat screen TV, minibar, tea/coffee and a electronic safe too.

Literally round the corner from the hotel is Laugardalur which is the reactional centre for Reykjavik, with the Country's Olympic training centre, football stadium and more importantly an outdoor thermal pool, which is far far far better than the Blue Lagoon, and locals use it too.

All in all, we had a fab stay at the Grand, and if we return to Iceland, then we would defintely return to the Grand.

PS we went in the Hilton and I can assure, it's nowhere near and nice or as friendly as the Grand!!!

Room Tip: Take a walk round to Laugardalur for a more authentic Icelandic Thermal pool, far better than the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandyLadyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Revenue Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear CandyLadyManchester,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Grand Hotel Reykjavik. I am delighted to read that our reception staff was too happy to help and contact Grayline for your tours and that the bar and restaurant team were very friendly.
I will make sure to share your review with the entire hotel, restaurant and bar staff.The Icelandic weather, is indeed very unpredictable and this makes it very unique; we always advise to bring layers of clothing just to be prepared.
If you ever travel again to Reykjavik, we will be happy to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Maru Aleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were unexpectedly upgraded to the Grand by our tour operator as the guesthouse we were due to stay in was closed over Christmas. Our room was on the sixth floor and was immaculate, probably refurbished quite recently. There was a flatscreen TV, minibar, a safe and a good sized bathroom. The hot water sometimes took a while to come through, possibly because we were right at the end of the corridor. The breakfasts were fine - buffet style with a good selection of hot & cold food. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. There is free wi-fi in the lobby & restaurant, in room wi-fi is not free. The hotel is located about 25 minutes walk to the centre of the city - there are also bus stops nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemmingjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Looks great but that's it. Without doubt the worst service I have ever received in a hotel anywhere in the World.

Every Icelandic person I met was very polite and helpful until you walk into the hotel. I assume the management send the staff on a special course to make them rude and unhelpful.

Our room was falling apart, food from room service and bar was cold, if you we're lucky enough to even get any food. Reception rarely answered the phone and when they did they seemed to always give false information.

Think Falwty Towrs on a much bigger and more expensive scale!!

Room Tip: The best tip of all. Stay in the Hilton around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Steven J,

I am extremely disappointed that we failed to deliver the service we set up to do. We take pride in our service as well as our hotel and we constantly aim at improving ourselves.

I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly and provide me with further details with regards to your stay with us. I cannot stress how important it is for us to hear about when we are not meeting the high standards we set for ourselves as well as when our guests are happy with us.

Should you ever decide to visit Iceland again I would appreciate if you would consider to give us an opportunity to display our true qualities.

Kind Regards,

Gylfi Freyr Guðmundsson
Deputy General Manager
gylfi@grand.is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The unique architecture and excellent management of this hotel are unbeatable. The four story lobby solarium captures light while offering cozy areas to drink and dine. The management assisted me greatly with an unexpected problem as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedbirdSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hotel_R, Revenue Manager at Grand Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear SpeedbirdSantaFe,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. We are very happy that you had a good experience and that the management assisted you when you had an unexpected problem. We strive to provide immediate help and the best service to all our guests. Wish you a happy 2013.
Best Regards,
Maru Alemán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,740 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,781 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,455 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Reykjavik

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Top CityLine Grand Hotel Reykjavik)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $191 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a first-class, four star hotel for business travelers, conference guests and tourists who demand excellent service and facilities. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is now the largest hotel in Iceland with a total of 311 rooms and 15 meeting and conference halls, seating anywhere from 6 to 470 people. Grand Hotel Reykjavik is a member of Top International.The hotel is situated in a quiet area within a short distance from all services, recreation and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Grand Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing