We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Nearby Hotels
$429
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel(Reykjavik)
$228
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$261
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$212
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$225
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$321
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$326
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$568
$496
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,845)
Filter reviews
1,845 results
Traveler rating
614
823
301
73
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
823
301
73
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centremiso souplovely hotelfree shuttleshuttle servicebusiness hotelminute walklobby bartaxi ridehappy hourbreakfast buffetlarge hotelexecutive roomnorthern lightsthe hotel offersreception staffblue lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,388 - 1,393 of 1,845 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a very pleasant hotel but it is in the burps and rides into town by hotel are only for one way, odd. In the tower our room was nicely decorated and had all the ameneties, execpt you had to manually turn on your TV, no biggie. Shower is an interesting design, more adequately described by another guest below. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower where the rooms have been renovated and not noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

To me there wasn't anything special about this hotel. Was there during a warm spell, so the lack of air conditioning combined with the extremely long daylight hours made the room very warm and stuffy. If the room faces the front of the hotel, it's quite loud due to the busy main road and hotel parking lot. The room is somewhat sparcely appointed, but functional. Had internet and breakfast included, and both served their purpose adequately without anything notable worth mentioning. To get to the part of town with the majority of restaurants will require a taxi.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the hotel front.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at the Grand on a leisure trip to Reykjavik 20-26 Jun.
We got there at 2AM and as we walked in the appearance wasn't the greatest. The glass around the revolving door was cracked (never repaired) and the red furniture wasn't appealing. The television acts as the alarm clock. It is really hard to get a feel for the actual time as TV wasn't real functional and they didn't have a station that appeared to be local displaying the time. Thankfully we set a watch to the clock in the flybus that seems to be pretty accurate. The Drapes in the room were falling down. The shower head leaked badly around the edges. It would of been nice to have a exhaust fan in the bathroom. We were on the first floor and the only way to get the room cool was with open the balcony floor. It opened to a sitting area for smokers that had a gate to the street that was never locked. Fortunately Reykjavik has a low crime rate (graffiti is another issue). To setting area was kind of nice feature, but to get to it from our room you had to go out a door that locked behind you and to get back to the room you had to walk around to the front of the Hotel and walk back through the lobby.
The breakfast (buffet style) had an egg casserole, lots of bread variety, scrambled eggs, hot tomato with cheese melted, cereals, a lunch meat, cheese, cucumber and salmon selection and juices and milk. It was busy from 7-8 the bused start picking up tours around 8 and most people are trying to be ready to leave by then. It slowed down to a more desirable pace around 8:30.
The Hotel is within walking distance to the center tourist area and Krinlan mall. We were able to get either place in 20-30 minutes. We went to a performance at the Harpa and walk both ways to that with no problem. The midnight sun is useful.
There is city bus service right off the Hotel property.
The staff was very cordial.
If I were going to go back to Iceland I would probably look for one closer to downtown though.

Room Tip: Get in the tower
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8sgnmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two week trip to Iceland and spent two nights at the Grand hotel. We had a very enjoyable time there ;Good food , very freindly service, and super clean. The only downside, avoid the rooms near the front entrance; airport buses start arriving at 5a.m., rather noisy at times.

Room Tip: Spa was very expensive so avoid , use the public swimming pools, every town in Iceland has one and they are wonderful
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woozietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My parents stayed at this hotel for one night last winter (2012). They enjoyed their stay but after getting home my mother discovered that she had left her alarm clock in the hotel room and a scarf that she borrowed from me. She called the hotel right away and the lady at the reception said that they had not found those things and IF they would find it she was going to call her. The following day my father and I went down to the hotel and talked to them. We waited for almost an hour while the staff searched the room and looked for it in the lost and found department.
Her alarm clock and my precious scarf were never found!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank 914Lamaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews