We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel but with a basic flaw in the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Reykjavik)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel but with a basic flaw in the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

For a reasonably priced hotel with great service, close enough to easily walk to the centre of Reykjavik and yet far enough away to avoid the noisy night-life, the Best Western can totally be recommended. Throw in free WiFi and buffet breakfast and it's a gem, all be it a slightly dated one.

The only problem I found was a design flaw with my bedroom (single, top floor) in that there was no switch near the bed to turn off the light above it, and the only desktop light wasn't on the bedside table but on the desk across the room (and no socket near the bed to be able to move it). As a result there didn't seem to be any way of getting into bed with the light on and then turning it off - or being able to read in bed without then getting up to turn the light off - not really a problem to me in June but as the nights grow longer it could present more of an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for you positive review of Best Wetrern Hotel reykjavik. I am glad you enjoyed the service and location of our property and hope to see you again with us before too long.

Warm regards,
Andri Kárason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavík
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    457
    185
    39
    20
See reviews for
161
399
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel shows signs of some wear and tear, but the receptionists were helpful and friendly. The room (double room) was quite spacious, with two beds put together. The bathroom not very impressive, but clean and could do for a couple of nights. The breakfast was plain, but met our need to have something to eat first thing in the morning. Quiet sorroundings, but still central, a quick walk both to the main street and to Kringlan shopping center (15 mni)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedvigMargrethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Hedvig Margarete,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a short and sweet review of your experience at Best Western Hotel reykjavik. I am glad you enjoyed the service and location of our property and hope to see you again with us before too long.
Warm regards,
Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here on a 3 night short break.excellent location for a base in Reykjavik .rooms small but very clean.staff very helpfull nothing too much trouble.Breakfast more than adequate & set you up well for the day.would use again but pay extra for upgraded room.

Room Tip: Pay for upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 156Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gill,

Thank you for the short and sweet review of your stay with us. We look forward to see you again walk through our doors at Best Western Hótel Reykjavík. Warm regards,

Andri Kárason
Manager best Western hotel reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is just out of the city centre area however Reykjavik is a small city compared to other capital cities across Europe so it was a nice 20 minute stroll into the heart of Reykjavik. The hotel itself was warm and friendly with the reception staff, in particular, keen to ensure that they could do everything to make your stay pleasant. Managed to get on a Whale watching tour that I thought had been cancelled due to diligence by hotel staff insisting that they phone to check. Buffet breakfast was simple but well stocked. Recommended for a good quality budget location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on the top floor gives a view of the sea from the balcony but surrounded by flats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Brian.

Thank you for your warm comment! It's good to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and have been pleased with our services. Comment from our gvisitors is important for us so we can inprove our service furthermore.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavík
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, I can't really fault it, it's three star, I have stayed in a lot worse three stars in my time. Overall a good little hotel with friendly and very helpful staff and close to the centre of town. I would recommend it to any one who wants a clean, organised hotel on a budget.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimCovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at Best Western Hotel reykjavik.

We value your feedback. and by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future
.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Best regards,
Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield nc
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent staff
Excellent value for $
Very good full style buffet breakfast
Quiet, clean, comfortable
Great location for wandering around the town

Tip: Ask at the desk for information and walking directions to the public swimming pool/hot spa. It's close inexpensive and one can mix with the locals while enjoying the 2 roof top hot pools.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for sweet review of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again walk through our doors at Best Western Hotel Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Andri Kárason
Manager Best Western Hótel reykjavík
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First the hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. The location was great, within an easy walk to many shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions. It was on a quiet street which was nice since we often had the windows open. The breakfast was not at all what I am used to and I'm a bit picky but I found plenty to eat though it was monotonous (my fault - I'm picky!). Not all rooms had a fridge as advertised - ours didn't. Our bathroom, however, did have a sign posted about the fact that sulfur in the water will tarnish silver jewelry but our traveling companions didn't have signs (they had fridges though) and they were quite upset that they didn't know to remove their jewelry. If it happens to you, don't fret, it will come off with silver polish when you get home. This place was not luxurious by any means but I would stay here again because of its convenient location, cleanliness, and nice and helpful employees.

Room Tip: We had the very last room on the end of the hall and it was twice as large as rooms the other couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andri K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Geust,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a short and sweet review of your experience at Best Western. I am glad you enjoyed the service and location of our property and hope to see you again with us before too long. Warm regards,
Andri Karason
Manager Best Western Hótel Reykjavík
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#50 of 59 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 79 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing