We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, comfortable rooms”
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Terrigal, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My stay here was wonderful. The hotel is minutes from Laugavegur and other attractions and the staff are simply outstanding- I've never encountered people so helpful and accommodating. The beds are comfortable, room and shower are warm and clean. I would definitely choose this hotel again and I highly recommend it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aumanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting this excellent feedback on your stay at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik.

Always glad when our guests are happy with the staff and I will make sure they read your very complimentary words.

Hope you come again in the future

Best Regards
Kristbjorn
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    551
    253
    53
    27
See reviews for
201
511
93
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Summary: Walking distance to downtown and staff that goes above and beyond when making recommendations and reservations. Reynir and Thora were especially helpful.

Pros:
1. Daily Breakfast (meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, tea, apple/orange juice) and the staff comes by regularly to refill and clean up.
2. Overall clean place and helpful staff.
3, Fast, free wireless internet (~15Mbps down and up)
4. Front doors lock late at night to prevent random people/drunks from wandering in.
5. 15-20 minute walk to the end of the main street (Laugavegur)
6. 2 for 1 happy hour at the breakfast room/bar from 5-7 (i believe)
7. Walking distance to the bus stop and a late pizza shop, Devitos, that closes at 1pm.

Cons:
1. The room (1 Queen) was a tad on the small side, but nothing terrible (just an observation)
2. Need to get ice at the bar and no ice buckets
3. The main lobby gets quite crowded around check-in/out time (probably because of its popularity)
4. No gym, but you get a lot of walking done when you walk around the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here as part of a package and couldn't have been happier. All staff, front desk & maids are super friendly and highly accomodating. Thora can give you a run down on all places to visit and goes the extra mile by making your reservations and placing your pizza order if needed. Hotel was super clean, cleanest I have stayed in a long time. Breakfast was ample and even had the herring I was craving along with fruits, meats, hard boiled eggs and heavenly breads. Coffee was sooo good and they kept it coming. It is conveniently located and within walking distance of many of the sights. Loved Iceland and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked this hotel with a travel package, and was overall very pleased. It's within walking distance of major attractions in town. The hotel was clean and neat, had internet/computer in the lobby, rooms were small but adequate with coffee in room, breakfast was more than usual continental (hot croissants were great and I liked the coffee - ask for decaf packets as they hide them), and the staff was superb (with one exception). If you need anything, Reynir and Thora at the front desk are both so pleasant and helpful - with any request. Jon, the night desk clerk, was neither of these things - he could take some lessons in being customer-oriented. Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it for location and a hotel where you will be out most of the day, and just need a good night's sleep and breakfast and a friendly greeting.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the side/back for maximum quietness. street facing rooms have traffic noise and es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenangel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Booked this hotel through a package and was very happy with all aspects. Staff was pleasant and very accommodating. Thora was particularly helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The bed was soft, the room was very clean, location was excellent, and breakfast was good and plentiful. Our highest recommendation and thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumby531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for providing us with your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Hope you had a great time in Iceland and hope you can visit again in the future.

Best Regars
Kristbjorn
Manager at BW Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in early February. I can't say enough about the help I got from Thora at the front desk both prior to and during my visit. She was a wonderful source of information. The beds were super comfortable and breakfast was much better than I remember at Best Westerns I have stayed at before. The location was a very easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, General Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to to post your review. Very glad our staff was helpfull, you enjoyed our breakfast and that our location was convenient.

Hope you had a great stay in Reykjavik and hopefully you will have a chance to visit again.

Best Regards
Kristbjörn
Manager at BW Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for one night at beginning and end of trip - very comfortable room with good facilities - hair dryer, kettle, TV and good wifi. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was the usual cereal, cold meats, cheese, tomatoes and bread. We even got breakfast when our pick up for the airport was at 4:30.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs check when checking in as some rooms are down or up a set of 10 stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing providing us with your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and hopefully you will visit again in the future.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn
General Manager at BW Hotel Reykjavik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
925 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,654 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
577 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Property: Fosshotel Raudara
Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Family friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 85 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing