We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great value”
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here this past week during our visit to Iceland, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We arrived at 8am local time (we had been up since 6am EST and worked the day prior, so to say we were tired upon arrival is an understatement) and were hoping to just stash our luggage there while we mainlined coffee at a cafe until we could sleep. The gentleman working there (unfortunately we never caught his name- he was blond, and had a good sense of humor if that helps management identify him) let us know that our room was already all set for us, and that if we wanted to just crash for a bit that it would totally be fine. Most US hotels will make you wait until 2pm; this was a very welcome surprise for two very weary travelers.

In general the experience was great. They do seem to lock the doors (your key will not open the front sliding door) prior to 1am, when the bars clear out on weekdays. This struck me as a bit strange, but it was a minor annoyance and not an actual problem.

Next time we go to Reykjavik (which we're already planning) we'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this excellent feedback and looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel again.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here recently for a few nights and tbh it's difficult to be critical of it. It's in a great location, just a short (5/10 minutes) stroll to the main street (good selection of shops, restaurants and pubs), about a 10 minute stroll to the seafront, and about a 25 minute stroll to Laugardalur Park where you can have an open air swim in a 50 metre pool, and partake of the spa and other hot tub facilities. This is something that you really have to do, pretty weird having an open air swim in pretty cold outdoor conditions - far better value than the Blue Lagoon, although this is a 'must do' item as well.

Back to the hotel itself, great location, very friendly (found the Icelandic people very friendly in general) and helpful staff, both in reception and in the restaurant. The room was compact but nicely finished and furnished and certainly met all our needs. The empty mini fridge was very useful for keeping drinks cool in what was quite a warm room. Breakfast was absolutely fine, and again the staff were very friendly and efficient with replenishing stocks and removing debris from the tables promptly.

There were a couple of issues with accommodating our group which was unfortunate, 2 people had to be accommodated elsewhere on the first night, and a number of people had booked twin rooms but were put in double rooms. In both cases the staff were very efficient in resolving theses problems. As far as I can see Iceland is still in the learning stage with mass tourism, apparently tourism numbers have risen 10 fold in the last 5 years which is a fair challenge so I would be happy to cut them some slack.

I had expected prices (for food and drink) to be very expensive in Iceland, but was pleasantly surprised, not as cheap as southern Europe obviously but reasonably keen.

I would be more than happy to stay here again and to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joke1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel has a good location just a couple of minutes walk away from the main shopping street in the city and most attractions are easy enough to walk to. The location is quiet and you will not be disturbed by the weekend revelry that the city is renowned for.

I had a single room, which was perfectly adequate. No minibar, but a fridge which is better IMHO.
Breakfasts were good, with a fine selection of cold cuts, cheeses, pickled herring, cereals, croissants, fruit and so on. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived in Reykjavik on an overnight flight Friday October 11, 2013. Got in at 5:15 a.m. After a hassle with the rental car, in the pouring rain, we made it to this hotel. We were first told that th room was not ready but they would try for between 8:00 and 9:00. In the meantime, we could have ONE cup of coffee each, only, we waited. At 8:30 we were advised that they had 'overbooked' and that they would not be able to accommodate us. What?! We booked this hotel through our travel agent in July/August. Had a voucher. We think this was the issue - why accept a pre-paid voucher at a lower rate when you can get other guests to pay more? They contacted Hotel Leifur Eiriksen - right across from the big church in downtown central - to put us up. We went there - again, room not ready. They allowed us to have breakfast - but we insisted on checking the room first. Not acceptable. Back to the Best Western. This time we were directed to the Grand Hotel, where we stayed. Only worked out because we had a rental car. Never saw the rooms ar the Best Western, so can't comment, and the front desk clerk did get us sorted - finally - to a decent hotel - but I would exercise caution in booking this hotel ever, and if you do so, book directly with them, get an email confirmation from them, don't book through a travel agent and get a voucher. We had no problem with the voucher system in Australia last year but Iceland is - obviously - different.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Leanne_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with this feedback.

Your frustration is understandable but unfortunately these things happen but thankfully overbookings are few and far between at our property as we try our very best not to overbook. But of course that is no comfort to you as you had to relocate to another hotel.

I however want to point out that in no way it affected this relocation that you had a prepaid voucher. We simply were overbooked in all room types that can accommodate 2 persons or more.

On behalf of the hotel I sincerely apologize for this relocation and any inconvenience it may have caused, but unfortuanely we did not have another choice.

Again thank you for your review and I hope you nevertheless did manage to enoy your stay in Reykjavik.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmunsson
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ok, Iceland is not cheap, not cheap at all, so I cant say the hotel had a good price. Maybe in comparison with the others... But other than that, I really liked the service and how helpful and friendly the staff were. And the breakfast was great, they have this wonderful dark bread and freshly baked croissant and pan chocolate. The location is also very handy, although it is not in downtown, it doesnt take more than min on foot to get to the main attractions and to the main streets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at our Hotel. I am glad to read that our staff was helpfull and that you did enjoy our breakfast. In my opinion our location is ideal for guests who want to stay in a quiet area but still close to the main street and the city center so I´m glad the location was also convenient for you.

As you mention the prices are a bit high in Iceland and always have been but I do hope you still managed to enjoy yourself. Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Best Regards
Kristbjörn Gudmundsson
Manager at Best Western Hotel Reykjavik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed here and would describe the hotel as average, a few issues were that our room did not have a mini-bar, despite the fact it states in the book hat all rooms have a mini-bar. Their website also states this. If this is not the case then remove this from the amenities listed on the website otherwise I am afraid you are misleading people. The staff were friendly enough but there were a few communication problems when trying to book a tour. overall this is a no thrills hotel, the rooms are adequate at best, it is not very central but hardly a 30 minutre walk to the centre either. Would I stay here again, probably not but it was quiet and we thought fair for what we paid. one night when we had got back from a 5 hour Northern Lights tour which for the entire time there were no toilets or rest stop to get a hot drink. we got into the hotel obby at around 12.30am and asked the person on reception if we could get a chocolate drink and were told no, the bar is closed, call me cynical but surely this is precisely the sort of service that you expect from a decent hotel?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkCarr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Raudara, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at BW Hotel Reykjavik.

You are of course right about the minibars and I was under the impression this had already been removed from our website. I will have this information removed ASAP and for this misleading information I apologize. For others reading most of our rooms have a minibar, but they are empty and are basically just for our guests to use as a small fridge.

I do hope you did enjoy your time in Reykjavik and thanks again for posting your review.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmunsson
Manager at BW Hotel Reykjavik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is hard to believe that this hotel received the "Best Western" logo. The room was tiny with sloping ceilings, pads on box springs instead of mattresses (they slid towards the floor with every turn in bed), white, water stained rings on a tiny bedside table with a Goodwill style lamp on it, beds right up against the walls, a small step up bathroom with a half enclosed shower, artifical wood looking floors (the halls were nicely carpeted however so perhaps the Best Western inspector only looked there) a desk clerk with such terrible B.O. that one had to step back several paces to converse with him and not centrally located as advertised but a 25-30 minute fast walk to town center. Did I mention the griffitti neighborhood? My advise is to stay elsewhere and pay a few more bucks (Kroners). And if you are unlucky enough to have all ready paid for your reservation, do not take the desk clerk's advise and eat at Harry's next door. Opt for the pizza place which had to have been better. Oh, and the airport is 27 kilometers away and about a 45 kroner cost by cab - not close.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 92120tiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
954 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,704 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
894 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $143 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Family friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 85 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing