We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 star hotel.”
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is a 15 - 20 pleasant walk down Laugavgur, a shopping street; to the city center.
The reception area and public spaces were kept to a high standard, but the room was not as well kept. We were ther for 5 days and only once was the bed made while there. The general attention to detail in cleaning the bedroom was not that of a 3 star hotel.
Breakfasts were basic with limited choice. The fresh fruit salad was crude, lagre pieces with the fruit skin still attached to the mellon and others.
It is a good location and there are some shortcommings which with a little effort could greatly improve the quality of service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aido03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers about the helpfulness of Jon. We came here without many plans worked out for the week, and Jon spent an hour with me between other customers, helping me plan a trip for the family. His attitude and service really improved my whole mood on the island, after a crummy first day. Thanks for saving my vacation attitude.

For the hotel itself, rooms are nothing fancy but are clean.

The La Luna pizzaria is located next to the hotel and was great for grabbing a pizza to go, and bringing it to the room (we were in a suite at the end of the wing).

The breakfasts are too spartan for my liking, and seems below-grade for the type and cost of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goncaptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My stay at this hotel was enhanced with a very friendly , knowledgeable chap called Jon,
we managed to find our away around town, eat in some excellent restaurants, hire a cheap reliable car with no fuss!
I highly recommend you make contact with him even if you aren't staying at this hotel.!

The hotel was fair, the breakfast was very average. Good enough for what we needed for a boys trip away. This hotel isn't luxury but it suited my requirements just fine. Just be aware the walk is around 20 mins from the centre of town!! Long walk if the weather is cold or wet!!

Cheers Jon, next time I come over Im sure we will catch up for a beer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trigg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Clean, warm and organized. The staff is polite and well spoken. They speak fluent English. A very good quality breakfast. Indoor parking is free and very convenient. Do not even think of early check in or late check out.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiraJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location is excellent and close to most things. On first checking in the young man at the desk was friendly, if not really very helpful. Was taken aback at the size of the room for two people. If you have the standard 22" luggage it is very hard to find room for two and still be able to walk around. The bathroom was tiny and lacked anyplace to put toothbrush and paste, let alone any make-up that one might need in there. Fortunately, neither of us used much.
With a little imagination some shelves could be added in the bathroom. Same for the other area.
I know that duvets are standard in most if not all of Europe. But, perhaps a single sheet placed in the cupboards for warm days would be possible.
One young woman was extremely pleasant and helpful at the front desk; was able to give directions to places and suggestions. An "older" man that was at the desk some of the time seemed to have absolutely no interest in customers.
The breakfast was adequate and nothing more. The girls in the kitchen were pretty surly.
The same surliness was evident in the housekeeping group; never a smile when addressed with a "good morning" from the guests.
The room was clean and was made up each day. A couple of times one towel was taken and not replaced until a call was made to the desk.
For $200 American I would expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'd give this a worse review because seriously this was one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever tried to sleep in (and I have stayed in a LOT of total dives), but the hotel staff were so helpful and friendly that it made up for a lot of the unpleasantness.
Also, I should note that we stayed in one of the family rooms, and so there was one "real" bed, which was not terrible, one double-sized pull-out sofa bed which was terrible terrible terrible, and one extra cot-type bed, which was like sleeping on a pile of old pipes.
So I could imagine that if you stayed in a room with an actual bed for every person in your party, it would be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parus r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our two-night stay but it certainly wasn't a three-diamond hotel. The bathroom was lovely because there was a nice bathtub, but the room was pretty basic. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included but don't expect North American favourites. There were hard-boiled eggs, unfamiliar-looking cold cuts (yes, for breakfast), granola, orange juice, tea, coffee, etc. It was okay but the breakfast staff were surly (I don't think the girls spoke English.) Not bad, but we won't stay there again.

The beds were two singles pushed together with individual comforters for each - not very romantic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewBrunswickDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,017 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,809 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,927 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,103 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $158 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Family friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 85 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing