We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave N”
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from 4 day trip. The hotel was clean and comfortable but basic and a bit dull. Could have done with a separate bar instead of doubling up as a restaurant and a very small foyer.
We had a luxury room which had a mezzanine floor as a bedroom and lounge below. Nice.
Buffet breakfast good and quite varied. Service was excellent and the staff were all very helpful and good humoured.
Conveniently located about 10 mins walk from the centre. There's not much in the centre so you need to book some of the many trips or hire a car which is fairly easy via the hotel. Bus pick ups are reliable but can be a bit tedious going from hotel to hotel.The hotel doesn't do evening meals but there is an Italian restaurant next door (not great) or Harry's which is also next door and very good. Failing that try the restaurants in the town,some are excellent but expensive.
Would stay in this hotel again if we go back.


I

Room Tip: Double rooms are bit small. Try a luxury room which has a separate bedroom. All views from windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel was very clean and comfortable. We had a 4th floor room, view out over rooftops - not very inspiring but only light from 10ish to 4 this time of year and we were not in room during this time so not an issue. Large bath room, only shower not up to standard I expected. Thought there would be a power shower or similar, but what there was worked adequately and loads of hot water. Plenty of towels and supplies. Sofa,TV, desk, chairs, fridge and coffee making facilities - easy to get more sachets from reception if you are thirsty ! Then spiral staircase up to mezzanine level with comfortable bed, table and chairs, TV.Room was a little too hot for us if anything ! had window open and radiators turned down. Breakfast fresh and adequate but same every day. No hot dish which would have been welcome. Reception staff spoke very good english and were very helpful. Hotel was near bus station and about 10 mins walk from the main shopping streets and seafront .Apart from breakfast room, which was busy when lots of people were eating early to go on trips, the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. We chose to spend more money on trips etc and go for a mid range hotel on this holiday and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosieb0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, reception staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. The location is good being a short (10 minute) walk to the main shopping and eating centre. The room was had plenty of room for the 2 of us with a good balcony. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept clean. The only slight improvement that could be made would be clearing tables faster for breakfast over the weekend (but it was busy). Overall a pleasant comfortable base from which to enjoy Iceland!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davejmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have just come back from a five day stay at the above hotel. It really is a very good hotel. The rooms are clean, well furnished with the usual comforts such as tea/coffee/kettle,small fridge, tv etc. Very conveniently located just five minutes walk to the main ishopping area. Staff were brilliant and very helpful. We booked our trips here in the UK but they can be booked at the hotel with no problem at all. Breakfast was plentiful (fresh bread/cheeses/cooked meats/fruit/bread for toast/fresh juices etc). The only one very slight moan is that the pizza restaurant that is attached to the hotel isn't the best. Nice atmosphere but the pizzas were not brilliant. However, having said that there are loads of places to eat in the town. First class place, just take plenty of money! Would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went back to Iceland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good hotel, helpful staff, and great location just 10mins walk from town centre, all for a reasonable price. Buffet breakfast with very good selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheese, pastries and breads. Free wifi throughout hotel too. The rooms are average, but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a very good shower, with toiletries provided. There's an Italian restaurant attached which has excellent food with very generous sizes. All in all, excellent choice for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
1  Thank alimay568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Reykjavik on a family trip to Iceland. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful, bar the breakfast staff who didn't want to respond to anything without grunting or not acknowledging you.

The hotel was clean and warm - good really seeing as some nights it was -7 outside.

I stayed in a single room, again it was fine for just sleeping in. TV has few channels and for 2 days the BBC News 24 channel had no sound. The mattress could do with replacing - the bed was not comfy at all.

Good location - walking distance from the town and perfect for exploring.

Breakfast was continental style - nothing for Coeliacs though - I emailed the hotel twice to see if they would be able to provide anything... no reply. I took my own.

Positive - free wifi for the duration of your stay. Perfect.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook a courtyard - even numbered overlook the road. That said even rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaCThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights here beginning of November. When we arrived at the hotel we were told the hotel was fully booked so we were upgrated to the junior suite, of course we didnt mind this. Our room was located at the back of the hotel facing the courtyard so it was quite. The beds (located upstairs) were comfortable and we had a safety depoist box in our room along with a mini bar, although this was never stocked. On our second day after a long day doing horseriding, we returned to our room to discover that it hadnt been cleaned. None of our towels had been changed and the bed was not made. Reception couldnt give me a reason as to why our room hadnt been cleaned but he said he would sort it. We had a lady knock on our door 15 mins later with clean towels but that was all. This happened again on the 3rd day. Breakfast was good. a buffet style with plenty of tea and coffee. Great location about a ten minute walk from everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,757 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $135 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Family friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 85 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing