We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent recommendations and service”

Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #22 of 351 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Reykjavik, Iceland since 2002, Nordic Visitor offers wide range of excursions, from wilderness adventures to culture-focused city tours. Our selection of guided small group tours, privately-guided tours and self-guided tours are handpicked by our own local travel experts.
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent recommendations and service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had an excellent Iceland experience with a lot of help from Nordic Visitor Tours. Having never been to Iceland, we wanted to see as much as possible in the three full days that we were there. I sent a request to Nordic Visitor asking for recommendations and received a list of must see options and tour recommendations. We booked all three days and received our step by step instructions very quickly. We were picked up at our hotel each day and had the most amazing experiences. Two of the days were booked with Iceland Adventures and the super jeep. These were two of the best days of my life. We felt like celebrities! Everywhere we stopped, other tourists were taking photos of our vehicle. We were taken up on a glacier, through rivers and off road to places that are not usually seen by tourists. We would especially like to thank our super jeep guide, Isak. Use Nordic Visitor to help with your trip to Iceland and you will have the trip of a lifetime!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    36
    10
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Problem free 'Full Circle Tour'”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Planning for Iceland was always going to be an issue for my partner and I due to our rather hectic work schedules, fortunately Nordic Visitor took care of everything for us.

It started with a quote that ended up being cheaper than three other competitors we had contacted, for pretty much exactly the same hotels and services. They were very good at tweaking parts of the trip to cater for our needs and went the extra mile in making sure all was the way we wanted it to be.

The planning which we received prior to departure, and again on arrival, was thorough and easy to comprehend. Times, schedules and information provided was all well documented and meant we had little to do in the run up to our trip.

We had opted for the self-drive full circle tour of the island and thanks to all the information could easily plan our days. The only downside is you do not realise until in Iceland how slow going from A to B can be. The 1 road is certainly not your average motorway, so you need to give yourself plenty of time to get places. It may be a bit confusing to novices who hope to see everything listed in the information booklets.

We were particularly happy about the customer care. Although we are a very self sufficient couple, use to tackling more treacherous terrains, it was really nice that Nordic Visitor took time to check-in with us to see that all was going to plan. The mobile phone given to us came in very handy too.

Overall, the only slight problem we faced was with the car rental company for a tiny chip in the windshield which cost us the full franchise... not something Nordic Visitor could do much about (freak accidents happen... on road 1, three miles out of Reykjavik of all places!) - maybe a heads up to visitors that they really ought to take extra insurance (thankfully we did, otherwise a new windshield would have cost us near a 1000$...)

In conclusion I would not hesitate to recommend Nordic Visitor to other first time goers to Iceland. Generally speaking everything was spot on.

Special thanks to Iris Angela, our travel agent at Nordic Visitor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Iceland - Who Knew!? 7 Day Express Iceland.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was the most amazing trip we've ever had. Jelena at Nordic Visitor made it flawless and catered it to our likings.
It all started at the Airport where we were greeted by a very nice gentleman who had a sign with our names on it. He drove us to our hotel at Reykjavik, told us stories about Iceland and of course gave us our travelling package. A very nice blue bag, that we used through our trip to keep our maps and memories together, had a big map with our route and things to see highlighted, a beautiful book with all the places to see, tons of good information, itinerary with addresses and phone numbers for hotels and a telephone, that was very useful, when our car broke down away from the main road.
When we had a car trouble, Nordic Visitor 24/7 service was there to help on Sunday afternoon. We were back on the road in less than two hours. Local mechanic was nice and we got to try some hot dogs at the local gas station, which you need to try, hot dogs are the best ever!!
You also need to try Icelandic Burgers, they are great!! Buy them fresh almost at any gas station. Local meat soup, meat products and charr are great. Keep in mind that smoked means really smoked, almost like chewing on a burning stick. Everything worth a try though. Local milk products are flavorful and awesome!!
There are many things to see in Iceland and we wish we would spend more time there. We needed at least couple more days to really enjoy places that we loved. The scenery changes every 100 ft and all of it is beautiful. Iceland is very photogenic!!
Renting 4x4 is a good idea, it gets you places easier. The roads are not really what you are used for in the USA.
Dress in layers. It's very important. Next to waterfalls it feels like heavy rain. Can get really windy and it blows right through you.
If you need some private time with your very close friend or partner this is a perfect place to go. Adventure and quite time together. Perfect if you want to be alone too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 9 day full circle self drive. Having someone book everything for you was a big help. We were met at the airport by a very helpful driver with a welcome pack and mobile phone.The car rental company picked us up the next morning and then off we went.Route 1 was easy to drive around and we saw some amazing scenery on our route. Accomodation was basic with shared bathrooms on the package we chose but they can be pgraded to private.
Definately want to go back and see some more. Were lucky enough to see the northern lights.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neryswlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Iceland Full Circle tour - excellent service start to finish”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the prompt and efficient email advice from Larus when first asking about self drive tours around Iceland and personal preferences, etc - to the amazingly detailed personalised schedule and marked out map we received before setting off, we have been so impressed with Nordic Visitor. On arrival you are met by a driver who hands over your bag with your mobile phone (with NV's contact details preprogrammed in), another huge road map book and your various trip vouchers. We used the phone a couple of times to call Larus and to call the hire car company for advice when we had a tyre blowout miles from anywhere on a gravelled road (typical!). Nordic Visitor offer a first class service and should be rightly proud of all the excellent feedback they get. We were concerned about the potential costs in Iceland, but now we are home and reviewing our spend, we think the holiday cost is excellent value and we were not as horrified by the overall further costs as we had expected to be. Our 4x4 Ford Kuga was actually surprisingly economical with fuel.
We chose the 'quality' room package for the Iceland Full Circle self drive and were more than happy with all the accommodations we had except one 'blip' which we were pleased that NV's response as soon as we got home and confirmed in more detail what we had reported by phone at the time. Now we are home, our advice is that this is a well planned tour to see the main highlights all the way round - with just enough time for your detours for photo's, hiking or various other pursuits - depending upon sunset times for your trip. If doing again we would break the trip over in Eggilsstadr for one night, and use the time available to go over to Seydisffjordur and the perhaps down the Lagarfljot area - we had to push through here onto Myvatn and wondered if we were missing much, plus that is a long days drive. I think we would also have an extra night at Hotel Budir at the end of the trip, it is in such a wonderful area.
Thank you Larus for all your hard work, prompt emails and the excellent holiday you arranged for us. Hope you enjoyed the Scottish shortbread!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing