We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel planning made easy - less stress, more fun”

Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #24 of 348 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Reykjavik, Iceland since 2002, Nordic Visitor offers wide range of excursions, from wilderness adventures to culture-focused city tours. Our selection of guided small group tours, privately-guided tours and self-guided tours are handpicked by our own local travel experts.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Travel planning made easy - less stress, more fun”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband, a friend and I recently completed the "Express Iceland" self-drive tour and had an unbelievable time! Working with Nordic Visitor exceeded all of our expectations. I wish Nordic Visitor serviced the entire globe! Their excellence and professionalism were demonstrated in three ways:

1. Perfect Package Deal
The self-drive packages include a recommended itinerary, airport transfers, a rental car with GPS, accommodations with breakfast, a cell phone, a 24/7 emergency number, and endless helpful tips and information (inc. driving in Iceland, packing prior to trip, details on sites and excursions, weather, etc.). In other words, it's everything you need and more to ensure you have fun and peace of mind when traveling this beautiful and rugged country. It's great value for the money spent. They handled our special requests (adding an extra day and changing our party size) promptly and happily. We did our own independent research yet it overlapped with most of what Nordic Visitor gave us.

2. Flawless Execution
We were all impressed with the quality and quantity of information that we received once we booked the self-drive package. Yet we were blown away by the packets of info we received when we arrived. Nordic Visitor provided a printed copy of the day-by-day itinerary and the site highlights book they had emailed us. They had a voucher for all of our package features (rental car, accommodations, airport transfer) so all we did at each location was hand them a voucher - so easy! The cell phone had Nordic Visitor saved in the contacts. The GPS had the key sites and some of the hotels already loaded. The road map of Iceland was color coded and the location of each accommodation was circled with the name and date of check-in written in. There was a book with details of every city and site with driving info. Wow!! They thought of every detail so we didn't have to worry about anything.
In addition, they selected an exceptional series of accommodations for us! We had the "comfort" level of accommodation, staying at 5 different places in all. We stayed in a volcano-themed B&B and log cabin B&Bs, one of which was part of a diary farm with the freshest food and the other was owned by a farmer with fields of his horses surrounding the property. The hotel in Reykjavik was more modern and centrally located.

3. Personalized Service
Larus was our Travel Consultant and he was superb. From his initial reply to my online inquiry to the welcome letter he personally signed in our info packet, Larus' expertise and attentiveness made our vacation better. He always responded quickly and thoroughly. One week we emailed him almost every day and he always responded within 24 hrs. In the 2 weeks before our Iceland adventure, we made two significant changes to our itinerary and his flexibility and quick action ensured we had the exact vacation we wanted.

I highly recommend Nordic Visitor and wish I could use them to plan every vacation!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FelicityHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    36
    10
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Northern Comfort in Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I booked a Nordic Visitor Tour for my partner's 40th Birthday just after Christmas and it was fantastic, we had such a great time. Nordic Visitor's staff were really helpful, there are really well organised. We received all the documentation we needed when we arrived at the hotel including a map, a guide tour as well as a mobile for ermergencies. The hotel we stayed in was very nice and very well located in the city centre although it was quite noisy with some bar or night club next to the hotel which kept us awake. But that's the only complaint we would have as everything else was great. The holiday cottage was fantastic, lost in the wilderness, it was like staying in a ski chalet with its own hot tub outside. We rented a four wheel drive which was part of the package and here again no problem at all, the car was in prestine condition and I would definitely recommend a four wheel drive if you want to travel a little bit further as some of the roads can be challenging.
The highlight of our trip was spending New Year's Eve in Reykjavik. It was out of this world, an explosion of fireworks for at least two hours. It was probably one of the best , if not the best New Year's Eve we ever had! If by chance you are going at this time of year I would recommend watching the fireworks from outside the Cathedral, but beware if you have children as in Iceland there are no restrictions on fireworks and anyone can fire them from pretty much anywhere and we had a few passing by dangerously near! But do not let this putting you off as there were fantastic firework displays.
So overall, I would definitely recommend Nordic Visitor as a tour company as well as the Northern Comfort self-drive package. We are really hoping we can come back one day and see the Northern Lights as unfortunately we were not lucky that time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iceland Winter Trip”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked this trip through Nordic Visitor and were very happy we did. They arranged everything nicely and we had very good time in Iceland. We got to see a lot of Iceland by the Super Jeep excursions. Also we were flown to Akureyri in North of Iceland to see the Northern Lights.

We will definitely recommend Nordic Visitor for Iceland trips.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank suresh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Action packed holiday”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I decided we'd like to see the aurora borialis before we died. Initially it was going to be a cruise to Norway, but she suggested Iceland.

We are so glad she did. Nordic Visitor asked what sort of holiday we wanted and fixed everything up, including tours to many very interesting sites. Our driver on the initial tour, Pauli, told us a lot about present day Iceland, touching on economics, politics, geography and some interesting cultural references. For example there is a unique museum in Reykjavik specialising in one particular body part.
The holiday included a visit to the Northern town of Akureyri from where Nordic Visitor has arranged for us to spend an afternoon with a very creative performance artist, Anna Richardsdottir,. Fanatic, not the sort of opportunity one has on most trips.
we were to join an expedition specifically to see this phenomenon.

Our flight was met as promised at Keflavik Airport, and we looked forward to a meal and a restful evening. However, there was a Northern Lights tour available the same evening.
Although a bit knackered by traveling for 12 hours we decided that it would about double our chances of achieving our objective if we joined it.

Our guide on this trip told us that conditions were good, we would be driving for about an hour to a site with little of no light pollution and adjacent to a cafe run by a friend of hers. Soon afterwards, she said "It's beginning! If you look out of the right side of the bus you can see it"
We were on the left side and couldn't see anything. A few minutes later she told us we should be able to see it from both sides. We looked out, there were some streaks in the sky, they could have been moonlit clouds, not very convincing. But when the bus stopped, and we got out for an unobstructed view, WOW! Two great arcs of green light right across the sky!
Slowly this changed and eventually you could see different colours at the edges of the green bands. Magnificent!
Mission accomplished. We can go home now!

Although that was what we came for, the rest of the week was in no way an anticlimax. Wonderful place, wonderful people, super food (as long as you like fish).

Now, I wonder what Iceland is like in the summer?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Le_petit_herisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Greenland's Wild West”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked the 5 day, 4 night Greenland's wild west tour for mid-March 2013. Alexandra, our contact at Nordic Visitor, was incredibly helpful throughout the booking process and provided great information. Our trip to Ilulissat, Greenland and all activities and accommodations while there went off without a hitch and was an amazing experience we will never forget. Highly recommend!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing