We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”

Nordic Visitor Tours
Ranked #23 of 368 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Reykjavik, Iceland since 2002, Nordic Visitor offers wide range of excursions, from wilderness adventures to culture-focused city tours. Our selection of guided small group tours, privately-guided tours and self-guided tours are handpicked by our own local travel experts.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from a brilliant week in Iceland courtesy of Larus at Nordic Visitor who sorted 5 great hotels over 6 nights and the ideal vehicle in a Ford Kuga 4WD. in particular going above and beyond the call of duty to encourage us in taking his recommendation of Hotel Volcano in Vik and Blue Lagoon Clinic....both of which are the closest to boutique hotels and were by far the best 2 hotels in our amazing holiday.

Also the pickup from the airport was great as was the level of printed info handed to us by our driver.....not to mention the invaluable GPS and local mobile......everything was seamlessly covered! Will use these guys next time we visit the Nordic countries as great value

2  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 607 of 644 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything our holiday was fantastic, Nordic Visitor took all the hassle out of our trip and provided accommodation and services well above our expectations of a relatively cheap holiday. We had a great view of the aurora from the bedroom window of the cottage they provided at Minniborgir. They were also on call to help us find venues for the optional activities outside of our tour.

The itinerary they provided for our self-drive tour was perfectly balanced for sight-seeing while still providing enough time for us to take on any optional activities or do some of our own exploring. We found this to be much more enjoyable than being herded around on a tour bus, and the map provided by Nordic Visitor highlighted all the routes and stops we should make - and the rental car included a GPS device so getting lost was never an issue.

Iceland is a stunningly beautiful country, and as our tour only covered the south of the continent, we will definitely be returning to book a north-side tour through Nordic Visitor in the future.

Thank JJSa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We experienced the most wonderful service booking through Nordic Visitor. Not only did they do everything they could to make everything as perfect as possible, the genuine warmth and hospitality they shared made a wonderful impression as we planned our trip. When a friend wanted to add her name to our day tour, Nordic Visitor even checked with us first to make sure that was OK. And the refund we requested (due to a tour cancellation because of weather) was processed immediately. We worked primarily with Sola and Hafdis and they were absolutely wonderful. (They deserve a raise!) I felt, in email correspondence, like we were old friends talking over a cup of coffee. Wonderful service.

Thank JB2plus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a family trip in Finnish Lapland for Xmas, 2012. It was the first time we had used a company to book a holiday and as we had booked from Australia, I was a little nervous about it. Thankfully, my fears were unfounded. The trip was amazing, all the staff we dealt with were fantastic, and more than happy to help. My husband and I and our two kids had an incredible holiday that we will remember forever. We will definitely use Nordic Visitor again in the future.

1  Thank Onescratchycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I should have known this tour was a scam when the tour company never sent instructions or final tour number. There are two different airports with the Reyjkavik name and we were only given a departure time. I attempted to call the night before and the morning of the scheduled tour, without success. The hotel finally got a hold of someone who clearly stated that they don't get into office until 9:00am. Since our flight was supposed to leave at 7:00am, this clearly indicated that they never had an intention of honoring our prepaid tour. I'm working with credit card company to refund money.

5  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordicvisitor, Owner at Nordic Visitor Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi Deb,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am very sorry that you were unable to complete the trip to Akureyri that you had booked on our website. We take all feedback very seriously at Nordic Visitor, and I have personally looked into this matter.

Our standard procedure after confirming a booking is to send the vouchers and other travel documents by email. In rare events, our emails can be blocked by email service providers. Unfortunately, after some investigating we feel this may be the likely culprit here.

The information that our travel consultant had attempted to send you contained specific information about the tour, including where to go and how to get there, the name of the tour operator and other details. We also have a 24/7 emergency helpline for our clients.

Though this appears to be a unique situation, we are looking into our processes to ensure that important information continues to be delivered successfully to our customers.

Again, I am very sorry that this has given you a dissatisfactory experience with Nordic Visitor. We have refunded the tour for you, and you should receive an email about this from one of our staff members. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Ásberg Jónsson
CEO, Nordic Visitor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordic Visitor Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nordic Visitor Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing