We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant experience”

Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #24 of 348 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Reykjavik, Iceland since 2002, Nordic Visitor offers wide range of excursions, from wilderness adventures to culture-focused city tours. Our selection of guided small group tours, privately-guided tours and self-guided tours are handpicked by our own local travel experts.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“brilliant experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We sort of found Nordic Visitor "by accident" on the internet. Fancy using an Iceland Travel Agent to book a self-guided tour schedule from Australia! But WHAT a find. Everything about the tour worked brilliantly. Cecilia was our contact there, and we traveled effortlessly from Finland, through to Sweden, Denmark then Norway. parts were by boat, and some by train.
When we had a query, or needed to contact them during the trip, the response was almost instant.
We thought dealing with them was quite extraordinary, and I'm not one to say that lightly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    36
    10
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“17 Day Iceland Grand Tour”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I chose Nordic Visitor to arrange this self drive tour for us. We travelled in July and were very lucky with the weather. 15 days sunshine out of 17. Iceland is one of the most beautiful countries we have ever visited, and we were impressed by the friendliness and hospitality of the people ( and also by the fact that almost everybody spoke English). Outstanding also were the services we received from Nordic Visitor through María, their representative. From pick-up at the airport to the selection of the places to stay, every detail was exactly as advertised and flawless. The documentation we received prior to arrival and then again in Reykjavik was plentiful and very useful. So were the hints and other information we received from María personally at her office. We are full of praise and shall share our experience with friends and family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This past summer we spent a week in Iceland following the "South at Leisure" self-drive tour arranged by Thordis of Nordic Visitor. The entire experience was first-rate. Every accommodation that was arranged for us was beautiful, every meal was amazing, all of the people we met were friendly and accommodating, and every day was memorable. We not only enjoyed the sightseeing, we got to ride horses, hike and snowmobile on glaciers, and snorkle in Silfra. We also indulged in "underwater massages" at the Blue Lagoon. The weather was cool and rainy most days, but the sunlight lasted all night, so every day felt like two days of vacation. I highly recommend visiting Iceland, especially since it is only a 5-hour flight from NY, so you don't even have to worry about jet lag! I also recommend using Nordic Visitors--they were there for us every step of the way--even when we changed our minds or changed our schedules.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2012milestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nordic Visitor 10 day Drive-it Ourselves, Circle Trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I have travelled through many parts of the world and we agreed that our trip to Iceland was one of the best. We have highly recommended Nordic Visitor and Iceland to friends, family and work colleagues. We had excellent help in planning the trip. The accomodations throughout Iceland were located in beautiful locations, easy to find, very clean and new. Food was excellent, as good as any European cuisine. Given the quality of food, prices were not high. And now for the best part: the scenery was varied and beautiful (we are Canadians with high standards), there were dozens of activities for those who love sports and the outdoors, for people of any age and families. Roads were excellent, no traffic jams, directions made everything easy to find. We did not have to worry about crime or witness poverty. The people were really friendly, and most spoke excellent english. Our trip was the last 10 days of July and we had good weather for the trip with only one day of rain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In August, we completed the Iceland Complete tour, arranged by Thordis of Nordic Visitor in Reykjavik. What a wonderful experience! We were met at the airport in Keflavik by the most hospitable, informative cab driver in the world, which was a great start. Rental car, GPS and cell phone were also arranged for us. Accommodations were delightful. Part of the reason for that is the widely varying style of each place -- from elegant, to rustic, and always scenic.
We loved that an itinerary was provided, with suggestions of what to see and do each day, but we had complete freedom to decide which we wanted to do. Because of the great flexibility, we often had the opportunity to discover unexpected delights, like a wonderful horse show on a Sunday afternoon! When we returned our car in Reykjavik, there was a huge festival going on, and many streets (including the one our hotel was on) was blocked, but the creative young man from the rental agency was able to deliver us to within a block, and we were soon able to join the party. A great trip arranged by a great travel agent and company. Any Nordic trip we plan in the future will have us contacting Nordic Visitor!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nothometoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing