We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nordic Visitor 10 day Drive-it Ourselves, Circle Trip”

Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #27 of 337 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Reykjavik, Iceland since 2002, Nordic Visitor offers wide range of excursions, from wilderness adventures to culture-focused city tours. Our selection of guided small group tours, privately-guided tours and self-guided tours are handpicked by our own local travel experts.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nordic Visitor 10 day Drive-it Ourselves, Circle Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I have travelled through many parts of the world and we agreed that our trip to Iceland was one of the best. We have highly recommended Nordic Visitor and Iceland to friends, family and work colleagues. We had excellent help in planning the trip. The accomodations throughout Iceland were located in beautiful locations, easy to find, very clean and new. Food was excellent, as good as any European cuisine. Given the quality of food, prices were not high. And now for the best part: the scenery was varied and beautiful (we are Canadians with high standards), there were dozens of activities for those who love sports and the outdoors, for people of any age and families. Roads were excellent, no traffic jams, directions made everything easy to find. We did not have to worry about crime or witness poverty. The people were really friendly, and most spoke excellent english. Our trip was the last 10 days of July and we had good weather for the trip with only one day of rain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    32
    10
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

In August, we completed the Iceland Complete tour, arranged by Thordis of Nordic Visitor in Reykjavik. What a wonderful experience! We were met at the airport in Keflavik by the most hospitable, informative cab driver in the world, which was a great start. Rental car, GPS and cell phone were also arranged for us. Accommodations were delightful. Part of the reason for that is the widely varying style of each place -- from elegant, to rustic, and always scenic.
We loved that an itinerary was provided, with suggestions of what to see and do each day, but we had complete freedom to decide which we wanted to do. Because of the great flexibility, we often had the opportunity to discover unexpected delights, like a wonderful horse show on a Sunday afternoon! When we returned our car in Reykjavik, there was a huge festival going on, and many streets (including the one our hotel was on) was blocked, but the creative young man from the rental agency was able to deliver us to within a block, and we were soon able to join the party. A great trip arranged by a great travel agent and company. Any Nordic trip we plan in the future will have us contacting Nordic Visitor!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nothometoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Drive It Yourself Tour Of Norway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just completed our Drive It Ourselves Tour of Norway. We added 5 extra nights to the standard 12 night tour and found that we needed all of them to see and do all that was available. The itinerary was well thought out and gave us a thorough look at central and southern Norway. The rental car was acceptable and Avis upgraded us at no extra cost. All the hotels were above our expectations. We rated all of them 4 or 5 and we have seen a lot of hotels in 26 years of travel. The hotels were all in the center of town and within walking distance of most attractions. The breakfasts were varied and set us up for the whole day. We highly recommend Nordic 'Visitor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nordic Visitor arranged a Grand Tour of Iceland for us (a couple about 60) over 17 days in late May and early June of 2012. From the very beginning we got individual attention from a dedicated consultant based in Reykjavik (thank you, María) and a tour itinerary that took in all the places that we wished to visit, including a night on the island of Flatey (recommended).

The arrangements were flawless; we were collected from the airport, given our pack of travel vouchers, and driven to our first hotel. Then the next day we were collected again and taken to pick up our hire car, all of which went very smoothly. Nordic Visitor lent us a mobile phone, which was comforting to have but which in the event we didn't need. The car came with an excellent satellite navigation device, which we certainly did need, and used all the time!

We opted for the more expensive end of the accommodation, and were very happy with the rooms Nordic Visitor secured for us.

Iceland was wonderful; we were lucky with the weather and so had every chance to enjoy our trip. Top highlights not to be missed were the Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, a glacier hike at Skaftafell, the wildlife (mostly birds, but an arctic fox too) at Mývatn, and a spectacularly good whale watch tour from Húsavík. We were unable to drive far into the highlands, though, because it was still early in the summer, and some of the roads were still closed.

Overall, we couldn't have wished for better from Nordic Visitor. They gave us a real sense of personal service, we knew that they would have done their best had there been any problems for us, but mostly because of their meticulous planning, there were none.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nordic Visitor very organized and professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I chose the Iceland Express tour in mid July. Our travel agent, Sigfus, was very thorough in the planning and everything went very smoothly. We chose the mid level or "comfort" option and all the accommodations were clean and comfortable. The rental car was great and very fuel efficient. Iceland is planet earths best kept secret. I hope others will consider cooling off a little in the middle of summer and visit Iceland!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blkcat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nordic Visitor Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing