We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food - Quiet Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skolabru

Skolabru
Ranked #82 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy distinctly Icelandic food based on our Icelandic cultural heritage and local culinary traditions. We offer also a wide variety of dishes from the international scene of fine dining. - Our Icelandic lamb together with our seafood dishes are among the things people like the most.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food - Quiet Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We walked in on spec and found it was quiet - virtually deserted - which was a bit worrying and not to everyone's taste if you like a place packed with noise.
The food was very good, though like all Iceland, expensive. Service was slowish and the girl left us alone but that was fine with us. Another reviewer complained about the background music being quiet - it was, but why is that a problem? We were able to hear each other speak and listen to The Beatles as well!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    85
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food imaginatively presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I came here as part of a group on New Year's Eve and had a set menu.

The dishes were original, a little quirky and delicious. The meal was lobster soup, goose carpaccio, sorbets with dry ice so they bubbled like a geysir, gorgeous lamb for main course and a nice chocolate pudding. The Chilean red wine was very nice and there was an extensive wine list.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant felt like a pleasant attic and had a good atmosphere.

The meal was included in my package deal so I cannot comment on the value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajb1984Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The food was lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We managed to get in without a booking on our first night in Reyjavik. We weren't too hungry so shared mixed Icelandic tapas which were OK. For main course we had duck which was excellent. The desserts didn't appeal as they were all too similar, being either with ice cream or cream.
The atmosphere was alright but the background music could have been a tad louder as it was very quiet despite most if the tables downstairs being taken.
The service was acceptable and the price reasonable for here.

Helpful?
Thank Brayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Christmas Day - delicious dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was in Reykjavik over Christmas with my partner and father.

Knowing there are very few restaurants open over the Christmas period I looked Skolabru up on the internet and made a reservation for Christmas evening. In my e-mail I mentioned that we would be staying at the Foss Baron hotel.

On Christmas Day we were on the Golden Circle tour (separate review) and had an "adventurous" day to say the least!.

Our restaurant booking was for 7pm. Our tour bus got us back to the hotel at 7pm (2 hours late).
We all needed to shower and change before going out and I was worried we would lose our booking if we were late (on a busy Christmas evening with few restaurants open).

I dashed into our hotel reception and asked if they could call the restaurant to say we would be half an hour late. At that moment a very nice man in a santa hat said he was from the restaurant and had come to pick us up. I explained our situation and he said he would come back in half an hour no problem!

We got ready and were picked up in a small minibus with other restaurant guests. It was a service I wasn't expecting, but was absolutely delighted with (it would have been a 15 min walk in icy winds otherwise).

The restaurant is in a beautiful, old building right in town. We were upstairs in the rafters and there was a lovely Christmassy atmosphere, busy but not rushed. Staff were lovely and the food absolutely delicious - a 3 course set menu of 2 choices per course (3 main courses).

We had a bottle of wine and the bill was a reasonable (for Christmas day in Reykjavik) £180.

I believe there was the option for a lift back to our hotel, but we opted to walk off our dinner.

My favourite meal in Reykjavik.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve and Christmas Day Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Fabulous service, fabulous food, nice surroundings. We were sat at a lovely bay window in Christmas Eve and the manager changed his seating plan so we could hav ethe same table on Christmas Day. Not only was the food lovely, served in a high end restuarant manner, it was substantial, tasty and fresh. Lovely place. Great for valentine's Day if you are venturing to reykjavik to celebrate, but book ahead, as it's quite a small restuarant. booking@skolabru.is this place will impress.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockAria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skolabru also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Skolabru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing