We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and a wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skolabru

Skolabru
Ranked #85 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy distinctly Icelandic food based on our Icelandic cultural heritage and local culinary traditions. We offer also a wide variety of dishes from the international scene of fine dining. - Our Icelandic lamb together with our seafood dishes are among the things people like the most.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and a wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went there for a late dinner the other night, I had a great evening! I went with my girlfriend and we got a table right away and as soon as we had decided what we wanted the waiter came right away. We ordered the duck adventure menu. First we got the lobster soup as a starter and it was amazing!! Very light yet creamy and it had a rich lobster flavor to it. The main course was the star the duck was excellent cooked perfectly. For desert we got a wonderful Icelandic Skyr dish that was very sweet and light, good after the other dishes. All in all we had a wonderful experience and i'm going there again as soon as possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gislimar94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    85
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant in a house near the water. Very helpful, pleasant staff. Food was very well prepared though we all had wolffish though prepared in different ways the menu was varied. Was not expensive for Reykjavik.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Icelandic Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I fortunately walked by this restaurant and were drawn in by the menu offering Icelandic cuisine. We were not disappointed. We both ordered and enjoyed the sea wolf (a fish I was not aware of). The waitress described it and we were sold. Light with a tasty sauce and very well-prepared. The ambience was like eating in a home and thus very comfortable. The waitresses were terrific. A very pleasurable experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARK1215926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The restaurant is in a old building like eating in your grandmothers living room. We liked the room. I had the salted cod which was very good and my wife had the chicken. We both enjoyed the meal, A solid **** restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just across the road from our hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We were tired and cold and didn't want to walk too far so we tried this restaurant opposite our hotel. We tried the set menus which were good value (Iceland is expensive compared to UK) three of us had the 'Adventure Duck' which came with the
Lobster soup which was lovely, and one opted for the more daring 'Adventure Lamb' which came with goose carpaccio and claimed it was delicious!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelagourakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skolabru also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Skolabru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing