We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skolabru

Skolabru
Ranked #80 of 461 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy distinctly Icelandic food based on our Icelandic cultural heritage and local culinary traditions. We offer also a wide variety of dishes from the international scene of fine dining. - Our Icelandic lamb together with our seafood dishes are among the things people like the most.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My Mum and I stumbled across this restaurant after wandering the streets looking for a restaurant that served local food at more reasonable prices than most other options. This building was a quaint traditional corregated iron house and the decor inside was pleasant and welcoming. We were the only diners, which did concern us at first, but we were greeted by a lovely waitress, who although her English wasn't fantastic, it was a great deal better than our Icelandic and she was very pleasant. The service we received was wonderful and the food was even better. We both tried an Icelandic tappas starter which enabled us to try some national foods such as lamb, salted cod, goose, languistine and even whale. Our mains were equally delicious and the presentation couldn't be faulted. We would definitely go back if we were to visit Reykjavik again. It was the best cuisine of our trip..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    86
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food, shame about the waitress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

my husband and i visited this restaurant on Sunday 28th October after our tour guide pointed it out and recommended it for a meal. We were greeted,if that, by a waitress who didn't even welcome us or greet us, showing us to our table with no enthusiasm at all. She was unable to tell us what the fish of the day was as i felt she could not be bothered which is a real shame as the food we ordered was excellent and a credit to the chef. we were not offered pudding so we left paying the bill but wanted to leave a tip but only for the chef not the useless waitress. a real shame for this restaurant which must have excellent chefs but bad 'front of house.'

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clare_e_day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant ........ with another one downstairs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had an excellent meal at this restaurant ........ At such a reasonable price given the quality of the offer. We discovered restaurant one evening whilst walking around Reykjavik and were intrigued by the fact that within the same building ( In the basement, accessed through a separate door ) is an Indian Restaurant called Gandhi which is also very good.

I would certainly return to either of these restaurants when we return to Reykjavik ........... Or you could do as we did and visit them on consecutive evenings.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good balance of price and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Ate here twice,first a set 4 course menu for 6900IKR,second a la carte.Both meals excellent and the fish-mixed fish au gratin and catfish-were delicious.The room is stylish with plenty of space between tables and the service good and unobtrusive.
All makes for a special meal out at a reasonable price

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaken152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very good food, good prices! Had the Salmon and it was very tasty. Try the Skyr desert.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank thesutex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skolabru also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Skolabru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing