We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lighthouse Apartments...a wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lighthouse Apartments
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lighthouse Apartments...a wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family of five stayed in Lighthouse Apartments three bedroom apartment. It was very clean, bright and spacious. There is a full kitchen with new appliances and well appointed furniture. Very comfortable beds and a great multi-massage shower to get you going in the mornings. We were met by the landlord (Solveig) with a warm and informative tour of the apartment and answered questions about the surrounding area. Location is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other tourist attractions. Iceland is a beautiful little island with friendly people and lots to do. We are planning to visit again soon and will be staying at The Lighthouse Apartments. Solveig made our family feel very welcome and our first Icelandic experience very enjoyable.

Kevin Vibe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family of five stayed in a three bedroom apartment. It was very clean, bright and spacious. There is a full kitchen with new appliances and well appointed furniture. Very comfortable beds and a great multi-massage shower to get you going in the mornings. We were met by the landlord with a warm and informative tour of the apartment. Location is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other tourist attractions. Iceland is a beautiful little island with friendly people and lots to do. We are planning to visit again soon and will be staying at The Lighthouse Apartments. Solveig made us feel very welcome and our first Icelandic experience very enjoyable.

Kevin Vibe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Lighthouse Apartments for 6 nights. We had a three bedroom apartment, which was very convenient, spacious and clean. It's located very close to the old harbour and close to the city, so this made it very easy to explore the nice city of Reykjavik. The owner is a very nice and helpful person. We had a feeling of coming home and that is the best feeling you can have when you're on vacation!! We definitely recommend this accommodation to everyone who wants to visit the beautiful country of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my family in April 2013 and we all rate the Lighthouse Apartments very highly. The apartments are located close to the old harbour and is only a 5 minute walk from the city centre. They are close to some lovely restaurants and a good tourist information centre. The apartments are located in a residential area and there is no noise outside. It is nice and peaceful but still very close to the centre and within walking distance to everything you need.

The apartment is very clean, tidy and it was always warm and cozy during our stay (excellent when coming in from the bitter cold and wind outside!) The shower was powerful and hot and many good quality towels were provided. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had everything we needed and the seating area was big with a decent television (with British channels).

Unfortunately we had some very noisy people staying above us during our stay and, although we politely told them several times if they would mind being a bit quieter, they still managed to keep us up drinking until midnight most nights until they went out on the town, before waking us up again between 3am and 6am on their return for what I presume was an after party. It is not the apartments fault at all that some holidaymakers are extremely inconsiderate but please note that it could be the ceilings/walls are a little thin. This is obviously no problem at all if you have considerate non-booze fueled people staying above/below you, but if you do you might have to ask them to keep the party noise down a bit if you want to enjoy the full cosyness of your stay in the apartment! (I presume that as the apartments are not right in the middle of the city centre it is a rare occasion to have "party people" staying, I think we were just unlucky during our stay.)

Overall, apart from the above issue (not apartments fault) we would stay here again if we ever come back to Reykjavik (hopefully we will as we loved Iceland). We would all recommend these apartments if you want a cosy comfy stay in one of the nicest parts of the city. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The apartment is in a residential area perfectly located for walking into the centre ( 2 minutes!) and the harbour area but without the traffic and party noise of an in-centre location.

We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was great for a family of four. It was well equipped (although like most apartments in Iceland it seems a little light on cooking utensils) and it was fresh and clean. The shower was simply amazing - with jets all over the place and a built in radio! The host was very welcoming, despite our very late arrival thanks to Icelandair's schedules from London).

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here with two other women in the family apartment (three bedrooms). It was a delightful experience and each of us would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great location--you can walk everywhere---and quiet. So nice to have the kitchen since dining in Iceland can be quite expensive. Sweet little garden out back. Free wireless. Super clean and fresh. I hope to stay here again in the not too distant future.

(TIP: If coming from the airport on the bus, make sure you have the exact address of the apartments because none of our bus drivers--you take a big bus then transfer to a mini-bus to get through the city's narrow streets-- didn't know where it was.)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed Here for 4 nights, really a 2 room apartment so great for families. Even has a small garden, good to soak up lots of summer sunshine. Literally 3 mins walk from the centre of Reykjavik, very close to restaurants and the harbour. Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Hilda
#45 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Miõborg
Brattagata Guesthouse
Brattagata Guesthouse
#24 of 94 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Embassy Luxury Apartments
#5 of 115 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#2 of 115 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
#12 of 115 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Reykjavik Harbour Apartments
#30 of 94 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Apartments

Property: Lighthouse Apartments
Address: Ranargata 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Apartments feature 3 Fully equipped, Self-Catering apartments. The One-Bedroom apartment sleeps 4, while the other (2) Three Bedroom apartments sleep 6 per apartment. Cribs available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lighthouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing