We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,077)
Filter reviews
2,077 results
Traveler rating
619
1,011
372
54
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
619
1,011
372
54
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room bread porridge northern lights happy hour luggage room underfloor heating the main shopping street continental style cold meats city centre minute walk bar downstairs blue lagoon reception staff tour desk hard boiled eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 2,077 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

I stayed here at the beginning and end of a tour. The hotel itself I found was well located, just outside of the main attractions, however close to a supermarket. The rooms were clean and warm and well serviced. The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was pretty average, I didn't end up eating breakfast here as it didn't overly appeal to me, and was generally over run with people, so not a great morning experience.

My only negative point is the habit of solo travelers being placed in a room with a single bed, when you are 6'2" this can be a tad uncomfortable. However it only happened in my second stay here.

Overall, it was reasonably priced for Iceland and I would stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Mark_bne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida_s_berg, sales and marketing at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear Mark_bne38,

Thank you for your review and for your stay.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location, the clean rooms and the effort from our efficient staff. We truly appreciate your kind words :)

A continental breakfast is included in your room rate and is served from 07:00 am – 10:00 am every morning. It's a buffet with cereal, hot oatmeal, cheese, spreads and cold cuts, fruit, baked goods, skyr (an Icelandic yogurt-like delicacy you won’t want to miss) and much more. Also, we offer the option of an early breakfast if you’ve got to leave at the crack of dawn for an early departure.
We hope you will try it out the next time you are staying with us :)

Thank you again and we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

This year's family holiday is Iceland. Its a free and easy trip and we will drive around Iceland. Our first stop is Reykjavik where we arrived on 30 May just passed midnight. We stayed at Hotel Klettur for two nights. Comfortable and nice room. The hotel is located near down town which is within walking distance. The facilities in the room are conplete for travellers. Coffee and tea making, hair dryer, safe locker and TV and free wifi. The Continental breakfast is superb.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank dr_ganlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at Hotel Klettur and was just as good as our first two although we did have a room at the front of the hotel so could be noisy at drop off/pick up times.

We like Klettur as the location is perfect. Just outside the hustle and bustle of central Reykjavik but perfectly walkable to Harpa, etc.

We were in Iceland for my 50th birthday and were welcomed in the room with two bottles of asti, along with the glasses to drink it. This was an unexpected gift and was greatly appreciated.

The room was probably the smaller of the three we have stayed in but was still more than adequate for the two of us.

Breakfast is a buffet with plenty of choice of food and drink and a great time frame of 7am to 10am so worked round the trips we had planned.

As this hotel is located where it is, coach companies pick up from the door which makes life easier and removes the need to hunt for a bus stop.

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful so wouldn't hesitate to stay a 4th time.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MoosHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida_s_berg, sales and marketing at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear MoosHampshire,

Thank you so much for your glowing review regarding your 3rd visit to Hotel Klettur :)

... and happy belated 50th birthday!

We couldn't be happier! Thank you for all your kind words and we most certainly look forward to your 4th visit!

Have a wonderful day,

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

This hotel was reasonably priced by Icelandic standards and we were pleasantly surprised with what we got for our money. Rooms were a decent size with modern decor. Breakfast was included, there was plenty of variety and it was tasty though European style - no hot food. Location is good and everything in Reykjavik is pretty walkable from here.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and have no complaints.

Klettur is clean and tidy and the staff are super helpful. Rooms are small but we’d prefere a smaller room in good location. Beds are comfy, shower is good and heating terrific after it being so cold and wet outside during our stay.

The breakfast was delicious with a range of breads, fruit, cereal, and most importantly coffee. This is a continental breakfast so no hot food expect the porridge, but so tasty and we couldn’t have wanted anything more. Once again the staff were friendly and happy to answer any questions.

The tour buses didn’t mind picking up and dropping off at the hotel. We walked to nearby restaurants and shops and a supermarket is very close by. Our room had a fridge for storing drinks and food.

We would highly recommend Klettur.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank suzielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews