We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. Nice clean and spacious room. I was located on 6th floor and wifi signal was intermittent. Local area didn't look great and building work going on next door and rear, But would recommend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Sales-marketing department at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Fred B

Thank you for your stay in hotel Klettur.

Glad you liked the rooms and our great staff. :)
Unfortunately constructions sites are very common in the down town area since Reykjavík is a growing city luckily that is usually only for short period of time. :) Regarding the WiFi in the room we recently went wireless in every room in Klettur hotel and like we know when many people are using the internet at the same time it can become a little slow and therefore we also have wired (plugged in internet) in the rooms you can check that out for next time ;)

Glad you will recommend us! :)
We hope to see you again in Klettur hotel :)
Wishing you all the best! :)

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband booked this trip as a special birthday surprise for me and specifically chose this hotel because it was in town and we wouldn't have to get (expensive) taxis in and out. Apparently he booked it in the Autumn last year. We arrived and all seemed chaos in the lobby with a large tour group checking in. When it came to our turn we were told that the hotel had been overbooked. We weren't the only ones. We and the other poor souls were offered alternative accommodation elsewhere but it was some way out of town and not what we wanted.

How, we asked could this hotel be over booked when the room had been booked months in advance? We were only given the explanation that it was a booking error but I suspected that we (and as we found out later quite a few others) had been bumped for what looked like a higher paying large tour group.

In the end we had to accept the alternative accommodation as we were told there was nothing else close by. We were offered a free meal but we declined this in the end in favour of some cash towards taxi fares (it cost 6000 kr return from our new hotel into the centre we were to discover - something we had not factored into our spending plans in an already expensive city!)

Looking at other posts on trip advisor overbooking of hotels seems to be a common problem with the Reykjavik area - not just this hotel - although some earlier reviews for this hotel show that it has happened before - and speaking locals it seems that this happens all the time irrespective of when you book and its easier to fob off the smaller groups or independent travellers rather than the big tour groups from Japan or the US. Suggest anyone booking for Reykjavik double check before departure as booking confirmation isn't a guarantee!

Despite the disappointing start to my special treat we had a lovely time in Iceland and the other hotel, room, staff, breakfast were perfectly fine (if only it had been closer, sigh...). It's just a shame this had to happen on a special birthday.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank ceri-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Ceri- Anne

We are very sorry that we had to move you to another hotel. We try our best to make sure that this does not happen and in the few times it does we always try to do it with the cooperation of our guests. We always do our best to upgrade and to cover the expenses for the guest as well as offering a free meal like we offered you.

We are glad to hear that the hotel you went to was fine and that you enjoyed your trip to Iceland.
Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here in early March - our room was fine. To echo other reviewers points, I believe all the rooms have two single beds (which can be easily pushed together). There was a TV with all UK channels and an iron, ironing board, safe and fridge. The rooms were quite modern and very comfortable and clean. The shower was excellent.
Our room looked out on the building site - however we weren't bothered by noise at all while we were there. We were near reception and had wi-fi throughout. Reception very friendly and helpful. Well-located - a fairly short (15 minutes or so) amble into central Reykjavik. Breakfast is buffet style. Fairly limited choice, but functional. There is also a (very small) bar downstairs.
Would happily return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Jannah222

Thank you so much for your stay and your review in hotel Klettur.

We really appreciate your kind comments for our hotel so glad to hear you liked everything Klettur has to offer. :)

We are looking forward welcoming you again in hotel Klettur in Iceland hopefully soon! :)

Wish you all the best!
Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here on a short break deal. We found our room clean, warm and comfortable. Lovely bathroom with large, walk-in shower., TV, Wi-Fi, hairdryer, iron and ironing board (if you can't live without one!) and a roomy fridge in room. We had plenty of sockets in our room - 320 - only thing missing was a kettle which is a must after being out in the cold for much of the day. We took our own plus a supply of tea and coffee, although there is a decent supermarket close by. All the staff we dealt with were lovely, very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was varied and plentiful - buffet style as expected so no 'full English' - wide selection of bread, juice, hot drinks, fruit, cereals plus meat and fish, cheese and salad - in fact TOO much choice for some! All lovely and fresh and served in a clean and light dining room. We didn't use the bar so can't comment on this - but a nice area to sit and chat. Close to the centre of things too - all in walking distance. Would not hesitate to recommend and would use same hotel on any future visit.

Room Tip: Our room - 320 - did overlook the building site next door but no more noisy than our street at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Sales-Marketing department at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Jules2451

Thank you so much for your stay and your review on hotel Klettur.

We really appreciate your kind comments for our hotel and we are glad you will recommend us and stay with us again! :) A little tip for next time try to ask for a kettle in the lobby they have some extras for a little deposit. :)

We are looking forward welcoming you again in hotel Klettur in Iceland hopefully soon! :)

Wish you all the best!

Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We upgraded to a deluxe room which was clean and spacious. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Sadly we didnt get the chance to see the Northern Lights so will need to go back!
Breakfast was plentiful although not very flavoursome and hardly any pastries

Room Tip: The deluxe roos without a balcomy have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Bex 3165

Thank you so much for your stay in hotel Klettur.

We really appreciate your kind review so glad to hear you liked everything Klettur has to offer.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in Iceland hopefully soon to see the northern lights! :)
Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at this new hotel on our honeymoon. Very spacious rooms with floor heating and windows that could actually open, close to the center, nice breakfast, good beds, clean, friendly staff . Definately worth a recommodation!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Sandra B

Thank you for your review and your stay in hotel Klettur.
Congratulation on your wedding! Were so glad to hear you liked what Klettur has to offer and that you will recommend us!
Thank you very much for everything and we hope to see you again in hotel Klettur. :)

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed her for four nights, while attending a course in the city.

It's handy for walking into the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was an enhanced single and was clean and comfortable as well as minimalist.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The bar is small and I only visited once.

If I return to the city I would definitely consider this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Brian M

Thank you for your stay and your good review for hotel Klettur :)

Glad you liked what Klettur has to offer and that you will recommend us and stay again with us. :)
Were looking forward welcoming you again here in Iceland!

Best Regards Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
296 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,735 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $147 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing