We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in the Cold”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort in the Cold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a Northern Lights Trip.
Room comfortable, clean and modern, buffet breakfast great and varied. Though not in the heart of downtown Reykjavik, everything was in easy walking distance. Staff all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandSjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    741
    274
    36
    14
See reviews for
191
813
82
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just come back from staying 3 nights at the Hotel Klettur. Upon arrival the reception staff were very helpful and efficient, the reception area is small but clean and very modern. Upon opening our door to our room we were pleasantly surprised. It was a large room with 2 single beds (duvets all clean and lovely), there were 2 loungung chairs in the room that are far more comfortable than they look, the bathroom was clean and modern and the shower was brilliant (pressure good and hot water constantly). The room had a decked balcony with a couple of chairs and table on there (excellent for checking out the weather before leaving the hotel).

Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and was always busy, but it was fresh and did set you up for a few hours until lunchtime. There is a bar downstairs of an afternoon and evening for residents.

The location of the hotel was perfect, maximum 10 minute walk into town (and I walk slow), the town centre has lots of eating places. I cant recommend this hotel any more than say, if I went back to Iceland (which we are in the future) I would stay here again.

The only down side to this hotel, that doesnt really impact as the hotel has very good double glazing, is the building site next door - it didnt bother us at all as we were up and out by 8am every morning and not back until late evening.

Room Tip: We were in room 509 and found it large and comfortable with a decked balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My girlfriend and I have just spent three nights at the Hotel Klettur on a Northern Lights holiday and I can honestly recommend this hotel as a place to stay when visiting Reykjavik. It's close enough to the centre to be an easy walk and close to the shopping and eating establishments.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel and rooms were clean. Our room was a good size and had tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was a typical Scandinavian style consisting of various breads, preserves, meats, cheeses and cereals etc and was of a good standard.

My only gripe, and it's a minor one, is that the pillows were very soft and there was only one per person. Other than that I would happily stay at the Hotel Klettur again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Iceland and the Northerrn lights, have been on our agenda for quite awhile and finally last year we decided to take the trip, when I came across a 4 night break at the Hotel Klettur. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we booked for the 12th to the 16th January.

We had early morning flights with Easyjet and with it only being around a 2 and a half hour flight and no time difference, arrived mid morning. I always pre book our airport transfers and like most people shop around on the internet and grey line appeared to be the best option (we encountered their buses on several tours), though on arrival there was an extremely long queue for their kiosk, which is situated to the right of arrivals. From there we were directed to one of their buses outside, which I have to say are extremely uncomfortable with virtualy no leg room and then had to wait for ages until the bus was full. The transfer to Reykjavik is then around 50 minutes, with drop offs at the various hotels along the way. I cannot comment on Flybus, which is another well known bus company there, but their queues were also very long.

On arrrival at the Hotel Klettur, we were checked in smoothly and our room was on the forth floor at the front of the hotel. There had been no rooms available with views towards the harbour, but after looking through one of the fire doors, we were glad we were at the front. There is a lot of building work taking place at present and the work starts around 07.15 a.m. which is fine if you need an early morning call. The staff on reception are excellent and deal with all enquires, bookings and any other information you require. Although the hotel is within walking distance of the city centre (for youthful able bodied people), it is up a side street at the top of the hill and although we managed to walk down, I do have some mobility issues, so we got a taxi back
( around £12).

The rooms themselves are spotlessly clean, with really comfy beds. I loved the soft pillows, but my husband required another one, which was delivered to the room almost immediately. There are English channels on the large flat screened TV, which unforturnately we ended up watching on a few ocassions when our trip to the Northern Lights was cancelled for the second evening. We did have one drink in the bar one evening, but the prices really do dictate how time is spent in Reykjavik. I found the prices throughout very expensive and very few people seemed to be buying in the shops and yet surely if the prices were reduced more people would buy. There are plenty of restaurants, though eating out is also very expensive, with pizza being our cheapest meal at £35 and our most extravagant meal being down by the harbour at around £84!

One of my main concerns, was not taking any currency with us. I have never been away before without any money and had panicked when I was unable to obtain Icelandic Krona (ISK), but be assured, you really do only need a credit card (the Post Office credit card does not charge for transactions abroad). Aparently, I was told, you can even buy a hot dog with your card, but there are also cash machines and banks if you prefer.

We did not see the Northern Lights, but we did have the most amazing massage and experience at the Blue Lagoon, which I highly recommend and although the trip has cost a fourtune (havn't had the statement yet) we feel that it has definately been worthwhile and according to Grey Line tour operators, our tickets are valid for two years, so if that is the case, we will definatley have to return for another attempt, so watch this space.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen_dewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The accommodation was what expected, clean and simple. The customer service surpassed what I was expecting for a hotel this price and quality. Gunner and Giovanni on reception were always on hand to answer any questions we had or offer advice for our time in the city.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have two single beds. If you are travelling as a couple and want a double bed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Other reviews are pretty accurate. Sparse rooms, but very clean. We had a kettle and tea/coffee in our room unlike others. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Not the fault of the hotel but I'd be a negligent reviewer if I failed to mention the building work behind the hotel. Huge building site, starts at 7am in the pitch dark, so expect floodlights, banging, shouting, drilling. Finished usually around 5-6pm. Hotel never mentioned this either when booking or checking in.
Breakfast was the usual continental fare, hard boiled eggs, cold meat, cheese, fruit, sliced peppers(!), bread, jam, herrings, and tea, coffee and the usual watered down orange juice. There is no opportunity to get food in this hotel at any other time - not even a vending machine. There is a bar in the basement, it has about as much atmosphere as a funeral parlour, but it does sell two beers for 1000kr/£5 between 6-8pm. And the staff were very friendly, like 99% of Icelanders I encountered.
I wouldn't discourage anyone from booking this hotel, just consider the building work, and see it as literally somewhere to lay your head and have breakfast. I probably wouldn't stay here again though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ladytubedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

A great little hotel within walking distance of the city centre, friendly staff all welcoming and helpful, good continental breakfast and a nice bar although beer cheaper in town. The rooms were clean and good sized, the beds were very comfortable and a good night sleep had.
Would I stay here again. Definitely

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cherrydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing