We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great city hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

great City hotel. Booked a package through Icelandic air and this hotel was one of the choices. No need to check in when you arrive as they already have all your details form the airline and they will just give you your keys. Nice change from the usual drawn our check ins. Reception staff really helpful and friendly.

No tea and coffee facilities though unless you are in one of the premium rooms. It was freezing outside but inside was just right, mot too hot in the bedrooms. Beds were comfy English TV and the bathroom was well appointed with a good shower. Only draw back was a lack of WiFi.

Breakfast buffet was also very good, plenty of choice.

We had a hire car and there was plenty of free parking around the hotel. The only draw back was that it was a good 15 minutes walk into town. It is set in the suburbs. I would have preferred something a bit more central

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisHunnisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    756
    279
    37
    14
See reviews for
196
825
83
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel was ideal. Was spotlessly clean. Staff were very nice but as you will find most Icelandic people are.
We were collected at the door for all our excursions and the bus station is a mere 10 minute walk from here. Close to the main street and lots of pubs.
Celtic cross was a good pub we found.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Klettur and was not disappointed with my choice. We arrived mid-afternoon with a few other couples but check in was very quick, we had a room on the 2nd floor, unfortunately there are no stairs so you have to wait for the lift to go up just one floor which is a shame. Our room was lovely, very modern, very clean. We had 2 single beds pushed together as opposed to a double but it wasn't a problem. The rooms have floor heating which you can control yourself with a panel on the wall which is useful. Rooms have a tv, fridge, iron and hairdryer in them, I think you can hire a kettle but we didn't bother. There is a safe which is free to use and complimentary toiletries in the shower room. The staff on reception were very helpful with directions etc and they will book your excursions and flybus for return travel to the airport. All the trips we did had door to door pick ups/drop offs which is nice. The hotel is only a short walk from the main shopping street and around the corner from a bank if you need to withdraw or change any money during your stay. Breakfast is included in the hotel, it's a standard continental breakfast with cereals, yogurt, fruit, breads (with a toaster), cheese, meat and pastries etc. Tea and coffee is free of charge during breakfast but any other time of the day there is a small charge of I think 300 kr for a cup! The bar and lobby offer free wifi which is useful and the bar has a happy hour between 6pm and 8pm where 2 pints are 1000 kr which is a good deal. This is extended if your northern lights trip is cancelled. All in all, I have no complaints about the hotel and would happily stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the building site as they can make quite a lot of noise and if you'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireWeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The room was very lovely and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the view we had from our room was just amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good. We went to the Blue Lagoon which is a must if you go to Reykjavik it was just amazing to go for a swim while you had snow all around you. Reykjavik is an expensive city but well worth spending the money for. We had a fantastic holiday and will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxNaomixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here back in September and really enjoyed it.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and traditionally continental. The bar most enjoyable after our Northern Lights trip got cancelled due to cloud coverage - 2 pints of Polar Beer (great name) for 1000 Krona. Great little deal.

The room was modern and cosy with a great duvet. Brilliant for warming up after a long day out in the cold.

The hotel is brilliantly situated just up from one of the main shopping streets in Reykjavik called Laugavegur. This is the place you want to start walking from (down Mjölnisholt and take a left onto Laugavegur.)

All excursions can be booked through the reception and the coach picks up from right outside to take you on them.

Hopefully in the future it would start a restaurant service or bar menu as it would definitely benefit from this.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGoss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Klettur over New Year's Eve. Booked through icelandair.

Upon arrival (approx. 2am), just wanted to get into bed- standard room with two twin beds pushed together. Unfortunately, however, there were a pair of knickers on the bathroom floor and hair in the shower! I complained to reception the next day who apologised.

Beds were comfortable, and room modern with warm duvet. Heating is on constant- slightly too hot, so turned down for rest of stay. UK Freeview TV channels, and mini fridge in room.

Breakfast- continental style and good selection. Obviously were staying at a busy time, but often not enough tables.

Staff- friendly, accommodating and helpful

Building started approx. 8am- not great when we had arrived at 2am- noise was unbearable. Disappointed as no mention of this on either Hotel Klettur website or Icelandair. Luckily no building work for 31st Dec & 1st Jan.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The room was clean with a good bed and blankets. Good value breakfast, many types of bread, yoghurt, fruits. Automatic coffee machine = bad coffee, but you can't have everything, can you?! ;) Our room was cold because the cleaning service had left a window open! Reception offered us to change to another room (after asking for it) but a smaller one, so we didn't accept. Room warmed a bit after time, but was a bit chilly all the time. The front desk should have more staff because they're also booking all kinds of tours at it so if there's a group booking a tour you have to wait for a long time.. Good location, only about 10 mins walk to Laugavegur.

Room Tip: Do not take a room from the side of the construction site and prefer higher levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
449 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,613 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing