We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great staff.”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great staff.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I liked this hotel. We stayed over Christmas so most things including the hotel bar were closed but that was well advertised. The room was very clean and comfy though I missed a kettle. The staff were just lovely and really helpful, there was a lot of rearranging of outings to be done as some things were cancelled due to bad weather and they dealt with everyone in a really calm and efficient manner - which I get the feeling is the general Icelandic way of doing things. It's not anything flash but the hotel has a nice feeling about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sholt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    769
    286
    39
    15
See reviews for
201
835
84
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel chose us - being part of the 4 night IcelandAir package. Reviews seemed 'OK to good' and I can report that 'OK to good' is about right. Very clean rooms, comfortable bed, very friendly and very efficient staff, adequate breakfast, and within a short walk of the town. Although you don't go to a hotel because of the TV reception, the number of UK TV channels was a bit of a bonus for the 2 hours after an evening meal. Reykjavik in December is not good for lazy late evening strolls! Although if we had been strolling the streets at 11 pm, we might have seen the Northern Lights from right outside as our friends did a few days after we'd been there! A few minor quibbles - the lighting in the room is not quite enough for reading easily, the bathroom basin is designed so that there is no plug - (real waste of water). Would I go there again? - yes I would.

Room Tip: At either end - away from the lifts and away from the building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived here early on a dark and unusually cold morning in early December during Iceland's coldest weather in 50 years (or so we were told). We arrived following an all night flight from L.A. via Seattle. Having read the reviews here, we knew it was possible to pay a small fee and get an early check-in if a room was available. We paid the equivalent of $17 US for our room on the lobby level. It was perfect. We had wifi (due to the location), the parking lot across the street was available and everything was just fine with the room. The staff at the Klettur was friendly and very helpful. Despite the -18 degrees C, the clerk directed us to a local restaurant which was exactly what we wanted and wasn't too far a walk. The morning buffet was quite good - however, the coffee was extraordinary. A reviewer mentioned bringing your own cup (which I did). Don't bother. The coffee comes from the machine premeasured for their own cups. Just have a second cup, and perhaps and third or fourth. It's that good. We had heard for so many years that Iceland would "break the bank" - we were so pleased that this hotel was an excellent value and we would definitely stay there again. There is one thing which would have improved our stay, and that was there is no restaurant whatsoever operating following the buffet breakfast. The bar could have used a few edibles for evening on a freezing cold night.,

Room Tip: If wifi is important to you, make certain you are in a room where it reaches. In the dead of winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bargainhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel was clean, bright, modern. Not far from centre of town, easy walk to all the major sites. We had problems with the first room we were given (no heating), so went to another one. The breakfast was adequate, basic with cold cuts. A request for a different pillow was ignored, so be prepared for that. The lobby does get crowded but we waited downstairs for our bus and it wasn't too bad. The night we arrived the town was still thawing from a snow they'd had and it was very treacherous to get to a restaurant. Construction at the site next door was still ongoing when we left.

Room Tip: You might inquire about the construction next door and see if there is a room farther away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd trip to Iceland in 18 months and we chose to retirn to this hotel. Compared to some the rooms are quite spacious, heating is excellent and we really like the location. Situated about 200 metres from the bottom end of the main shopping street is has a Thai eating house (Yummi Yummi?) 100 metres away and is just 20 minute stroll to the bottom of town, 10 minutes from waterside etc. A good small supermarket is also nearby.
For places to eat cheap see seperate reviews on Noodle Station etc.
Breakfast is standard but fresh cold buffet which although 7-10 when we were leaving early staff put it out early (6.15) for us.
Staff were knowledgable and helpful with trips, transfers etc and Yule lads shoes outside rooms for Christmas a nice touch. Our 2nd Christmas here. Would no doubt return here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

In a place like Reykjavik where pretty much everything is expensive most people need to economise somewhere and we happily did this with our choice of hotel.

The Hotel Klettur is a good mid range hotel, just a little way off the main shopping/tourist in Reykjavik. Everything is clean and the hotel receptionists were reasonably efficient, although two separate requests for more pillows in our room were seemingly ignored.

Breakfast is of the standard cold buffet type and is served between 7-10am which is rather handy, although with building work taking place from around 8am during the week it's unlikely that you would be able to sleep in at the moment anyway.

We paid extra for a superior room on the fifth floor and we were rewarded with a great view of the sea. This gave us more than adequate space and also a kettle for those that are interested.

The hotel also played along with the Icelandic Folk Story of the 'Yule Lads' who at this time of year either leave a gift or a potato in the shoes of children who leave their shoes outside the door. We duly received chocolates and Satsuma's - a nice touch!

Overall, a fair choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend for the Northern Lights and Whale Watching package (both of which we didn't see anything) in mid December.

It has stylish, minimal and modern decor throughout the hotel - nothing is dated or tired. The reception area is quite small and does get rather claustrophobic when a large group of people are checking in.
Our room was spacious and clean. Free shampoo, conditioner and soap was available but unfortunately no kettle which we really missed after the cold days trekking outside.

Comfy and thick bedding, never cold inside (in fact, sometimes it was just like being on holiday in a more southern country because it became stiflingly warm!)

You get a good selection of the main British TV channels, but no free Wifi to connect to.

A fantastic, hot, powerful shower which didn't smell of sulphur like we anticipated. After a long day of hiking about in the wind, this was greatly looked forward to.

The included breakfast was basic. Toast, cold tomatoes and boiled eggs, cheese and ham slices, a selection of cereals and jams. A help yourself style buffet served 7-10am.

At the reception, all of the staff speak brilliant English. On the first and last night, our key card didn't open the door and a polite and friendly technician was sent out. She couldn't fix it so we were offered either a room change (which we declined as we were already unpacked) or to have the housekeeping key, which was very kind.

Views of snow-capped mountains and brisk blue sea are spoilt somewhat by the surrounding construction work. The echoing sounds of drilling and hammering began at 8am one morning - not a very pleasant alarm clock.

Also, with regards to noise, the hotel room walls appeared to be very thin. We could hear the conversations of our neighbours, hallway doors slamming and even, quite imposingly, the man urinating in his toilet!

It is a very short distance to the main centre road, bustling with shops selling gifts, clothes, music, sweets and a Christmas market at the end. Cafes, bars and restaurants saturate the area and so there is no shortage of places to eat. We definitely Vegamot restaurant. However, EVERYTHING is expensive over here so keep that in mind. A beer or cocktail can easily work out at £10!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,648 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
993 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
659 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Property: Hotel Klettur
Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing